We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling Rudeness!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Appalling Rudeness!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

While the room facilities are modern and clean, the lack of air-conditioning made for a stifling sleepless night, even during rainy April autumn weather.

However the thing that really spoilt our stay was the appalling rudeness and arrogance of one of the staff. After our early evening arrival we sat down with two other couples for a very pleasant dinner and drinks in the hotel restaurant. To finish off, around 9.45pm we ordered cups of tea and a couple of beers, only to be told that no alcohol would be served as the bar was now closed. Not only was this 75 minutes before the licensed closing time, but we had been given no warning or any chance for last orders.

The so-called Bar Manager said it was a slow night and her decision and hers alone to close early. The fact that we were guests of the hotel was "your problem, not mine." Even when the General Manager appeared and agreed that we should have been given prior notice, there was no attempt to make amends, nor even a hint of an apology.

All six of us were appalled at the lack of customer service and contemptuous attitude displayed and we definitely won't be recommending the Oceans Resort to anybody else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogjoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    72
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
27
122
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We Really enjoied or stay. We had a room with a sea view, just Devine! Friendly staff, Good size room. My only comment would be. Air con in the summer would be a great plus. We did have a lovely large windows that opened, and fan so fine for this time of the year. I would recommend Oceans, and would come back again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The stay was a dream. Lovely breakfasts, nice dinners and great hosts. A very warm atmosphere to be in. The bed was fantastic, and very clean. Will come back sometime soon. Bring your own nibbles and wine, as its very expensive in the dairy around the corner: their is a fridge to store them in.

Room Tip: We got a room with a view, so didn't have to go out if we didn't want too. But of course we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have stayed here before and little has changed. The room is large with views over the marina. The staff are friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was excellent value for money. The accommodation is excellent with a balcony and well appopinted room and bathroom.This is an ideal place to stay to explore the wonderful coastline in this part of New Zealand.

We will return to Oceans on our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Marina for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were just driving through and needed to eat ... this served well (the pizza place down on the marina was closed that day). Relaxed outdoor seating. Reasonably priced and good chowder and fish sandwich.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel has an outstanding location right at the marina. We enjoyed a huge room overlooking the water with big opening windows. The room and main areas were clean and well-maintained and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The price was reasonable for luxurious resort style accommodation. We woud definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

A nice modern hotel in a beautiful location central to the Tutukaka Coast. One of the most stunning location in the world definitely in NZ. The staff are friendly food is nice just such a nice location and favility that with a descent cultural tgeme and meticulous hospitality could easily be world class. Lovely though for a relaxing break on a beautiful coastline.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaahu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutukaka
0.9 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
13.7 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
13.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
1.7 mi away
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
The Light House Lookout
The Light House Lookout
#2 of 3 in Tutukaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka

Property: Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
Address: Marina Road, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand (Formerly Oceans Resort & Hotel Tutukaka)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Tutukaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Northland's Tutukaka Coast, our friendly, relaxed hotel has well-appointed rooms and apartments with sunny terraces, salt water pool, a light, airy bar overlooking the marina and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel has free Wi-Fi, Sky TV Guest Select, free parking, BBQ, tour desk and luggage storage. Rooms include coffee and tea making facilities, modem connection, satellite TV, bathtub and shower. Just 90 minutes from the Bay of Islands, Tutukaka is the gateway to the Poor Knights Islands Marine Reserve, rated as one of the world's top 10 dive sites. Other activities include kayaking, sailing, fishing, day cruises, snorkeling, horse riding and golf. A unique, private setting for a special wedding ceremony, event or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort And Hotel Tutukaka
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing