We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll look around for another place next time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We selected this hotel based on their convenient location to the harbor and dive boats but at this point would look around for another locale when we come back. The room is nice enough and the view is stunning, but with no air you must leave the windows open which meant that the bar noises below kept us from sleeping the first night. There is no explanation sheet or booklet in the room as is expected in such a place as to what services are available or even how internet works. Given the price of the accomodation you would expect internet to be included in the price, but it is another charge and one that works oddly. We left a couple of items on the first boat and later these folks asked whether the hotel had given them to us when we returned. We checked twice to no avail- it's clear that our property took a walk in the care of this hotel.

Overall we were not impressed with anything but the view in the hotel. It's okay but quite pricey for what they actually deliver.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azcanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 236 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

We decided on this hotel due to its proximity to the marina knowing we would need to be there early for our dive trip. It was clean and the included breakfast was fine. Restaurant/bar on the main floor fun/nice enough, but ++ noisy if you want to have your room windows open. The room was large with a fan at one end and the beds at the other, so hot with no air circulation at night. We asked to change rooms and were told no, but they would bring a fan. It was one of those fans used if you have a flood....like having a helicopter in the room. We ended up moving the furniture ourselves and the rest was fine, but the staff we spoke to just wasn't very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogi4Kelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We got married on the beach at Sandy bay and then had our reception at Oceans. Many family and friends stayed at Oceans and loved it too. Silke was so helpful with all the ammendments with numbers and nothing seemed to be a hassle. Planning from Australia was OK as the staff were so helpful. We were greated with Champagne the night before the wedding by one of the owners and they along with all of there staff were very professional over the wedding period and never short of a friendly smile. The food was delicious and the duty manager ensured everything flowed nicely. Thanks for a memorable stay and magical wedding reception Sarah and the team at Oceans!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boddlebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Definitely be back soon. Great food at the restaurant downstairs too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandNess79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Thank you very much, it was a splendid evening with about 50 for dinner, the food was outstanding, the service excellent and obliging and everyone enjoyed it immensely, especially the birthday girl!
The grandchildren were pleased to be included with their special meal and the suite upstairs worked very well for babysitting the under 5 year olds.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jablyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here. Our room had a balcony with stunning views over the marina and the hills. We were in the end room which gave us lovely morning and evening sunshine and a nice cool breeze. The staff were delightful. Very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A brief compendium explaining internet/phone access, breakfast times etc would have been helpful.The restaurant meal we enjoyed was excellent and good value. Wine and beer were reasonable prices too. Highly recommend The Perfect Day trip to Poor Knights Islands ( book 300m from Oceans) Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank festy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed here for the week over Christmas 2009, having moved out of The Pacific Rendezvous because we were not happy with that hotel. Luckily for us The Oceans had just re-opened after a refurbishment and they immediately offered us a choice of rooms at an excellent rate. We chose the very end twin-aspect room with views over harbour and the distant hills. It was a very comfortable room with lovely large bed and seating /tv area. The rooms do not have cooking facilities, like a lot of NZ hotels/motels, which was fine with us. There was a large fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. We had breakfast each morning in the hotel, which was great and we ate most evenings in the hotel restaurant. The food and the choice of wines were excellent and we met the chef who was young and enthusiastic in his work. The waiting staff both at the big bar and in the resto were very friendly and efficient. Overall we found all the staff from receptionist to the manager to be warm & friendly, we loved the food and the swimming pool & bbq area and really enjoyed our stay. Tutukaka is a small place, very pretty with astounding views all around the coastline. There was another restaurant open during our stay which is next to the Dive Tutukaka offices. We had an enjoyable evening there on Christmas Eve with a German couple we met on our diving trip that day! There is also a fishing club in the harbour with a restaurant. Tutukaka is a good place to stay for the diving and also for easy access to surrounding areas and beaches, which are lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masleverger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutukaka
1 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
695 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#8 of 34 in Whangarei
56 reviews
13.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
1.6 mi away
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
8.7 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka

Address: Marina Road, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand (Formerly Oceans Resort & Hotel Tutukaka)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Tutukaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Northland's Tutukaka Coast, our friendly, relaxed hotel has well-appointed rooms and apartments with sunny terraces, salt water pool, a light, airy bar overlooking the marina and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel has free Wi-Fi, Sky TV Guest Select, free parking, BBQ, tour desk and luggage storage. Rooms include coffee and tea making facilities, modem connection, satellite TV, bathtub and shower. Just 90 minutes from the Bay of Islands, Tutukaka is the gateway to the Poor Knights Islands Marine Reserve, rated as one of the world's top 10 dive sites. Other activities include kayaking, sailing, fishing, day cruises, snorkeling, horse riding and golf. A unique, private setting for a special wedding ceremony, event or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort And Hotel Tutukaka
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing