We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and handy place....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good and handy place....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I nwas diving the poor knights islands with dive tutukaka and this place is great and close by.... warm showers and pleasant surrounding nice staff members and good kitchens and well kept grounds .... no wifi tho!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location in Ngunguru, close to shops, cafes and sports club with golf, tennis, bowls, bar, restaurant and sports field. Great for collecting pipi's too just out front, also a boat ramp and a great walk around the rocks to Wellingtons Bay at low tide. Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in April with my 89yo mother. Great room. One bedroom. Extra bed in sitting area. Really good kitchen. Clean and adequate bathroom. All facilities we needed. Lovely position. Easy walk around the bay. And absolutely NO problem with the hostess.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novatotiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just a word of warning. My husband and I booked and paid for a unit 5 weeks ahead and the email from the Motor Lodge stated that it was a "Studio Unit top with Seaview". However when we arrived at 3.30 pm on the appointed day we were told that that unit was no longer available and we were offered a downstairs unit without a view. We were very disappointed. They did deduct $10 from the bill and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine, however we were still disappointed and we had specifically requested a sea view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaG160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I've never stayed in a motor lodge before, and had reservations. We rented a cabin, with two bedrooms and a kitchen. It even had a couch. After a couple of weeks of traveling, it seemed like a mansion. Aside from having a bit of an odd smell, it was great. It was nice to have the extra room. One downside is the number of kids. They are loud in the morning, and no one watches them. The host was very accomodating. We arrived late, and it was no problem, even though the office was closed. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paternoville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Coromandel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having booked blind our first impression when we arrived was, Oh! as the external look is very 60's. However, our unit, was immaculate, modern, with a very good king size bed and a tasteful decor. We had unit 16 which another correspondent has also stayed in and it's as good as she says, open and spacious with outside decks. Sure, Sonja can be a little short but don't let the comments put you off the property.
The Motel is situated in a small, beach front community where a relaxed lifestyle is the priority for the locals and with the Diving centre of Tutukaka a few klms down the road.
There's only a few amenities, but enough to keep you nicely fed and watered.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are a couple unit 16 and it's neighbour have the views although there's some stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

we just stayed there last night, will definately not be back. Sonja should get a job she enjoys doing. we were the only people staying in the whole place & she was so very rude to the 3 of us.

Great spot but will find somewhere better to stay next time as she is not a nice woman, I would not recommend staying here!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsnJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutukaka
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
1.9 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
11.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#9 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Light House Lookout
The Light House Lookout
#2 of 3 in Tutukaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge

Property: Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
Address: 2015 Ngunguru Road, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Tutukaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel situated on the waterfront, only a 3-minute drive from Tutukaka. Our 14 units include studio, 1 and 2-bedroom. All fully self-contained. We also have 2 fully self-contained studio units with king-size beds, spectacular sea views from own terraces. BBQ, guest laundry and phone. Wireless internet available. Cooked or continental breakfast available.2-minute walk from the café, superette and takeaways. Across the road we have safe swimming and a boat ramp. Beautiful beach walks from the motel or, for the more active, golf, tennis, bowls and petanque, or kayaking and surfing (surf board/kayak hire and lessons available locally). Dive the Poor Knights or the Tui and Waikato wrecks - we will be happy to arrange your charters for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing