We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Peaks Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Silver Peaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Mosgiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed just one night before we flew home, but should have stayed longer....what a lovely house. Chrissie welcomed us warmly and served us a delicious breakfast at the communal table, where we enjoyed talking to the other guests. The guest lounge room was warm, spacious and comfortable, with tea and coffee facilities, DVD's and a pool table. and a lovely view over the plains. We had a double room with private bathroom which also had laundry facilities. Chrissie suggested dining options, which was appreciated. The house is located on Hwy 1, easily found, and located ten minutes away from Dunedin Airport, and five minutes from Mosgiel, so it is very well located.

Room Tip: Our double room was spacious with laundry facilities in the large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and may be if you're ever in this area again you will be able to stay longer. Regards Chrissie and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
41
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Though we had not booked and arrived at 8pm at night after driving all day, Chrissy was happy to show us the rooms, and we enjoyed our stay. A couple of cups of tea later we settled in for a much needed sleep that was peaceful.
Breakfast was great, continental choices but Chrissy spoilt us with toasted muffins & fresh from the farm eggs which we savoured. We enjoyed the fresh orange juice too. It was great to see the dogs working the sheep.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willwork4holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you - was lovely to meet you. Best wishes. Chrissie and Gandhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This lovely farm house is very comfortable, quiet, and clean and has great views of the Taieri Plains. We stayed four nights and were with another couple who had a family wedding. Chrissie was a great host and very helpful in providing advice and allowing the use of her facilities for the preparations for this wedding. The beds were very comfortable and breakfast was nicely presented. We used the spa on the deck as the sun went down one evening and really enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you Karen, We thoroughly enjoyed being involved with all the preparations and build up to the wedding. Loved it all. Chrissie and Gandhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at silver peaks and thoroughly enjoyed it. As 2 couples we booked 2 rooms and both were excellent, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Ghandi was busy with the stock while we were there and we were invited to observe if we wanted. Chrissie welcomed us and was very informative with things to see and do in the area. The spa was a fantastic way to end the evening after a day of sightseeing. On the cold day we returned to find the rooms warmed and the spa pool waiting for us. We all recommend staying here. The breakfasts were excellent to start the day. Silver Peaks sits on the slopes and enjoys an interesting view of the local area while being handy to access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Wonderful hosts, great farm show, good breakfast and such a comfy bed - what more can you ask for? :) Location is great to check out Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula. Chrissie&Gandhi, thanks for a great time at your Lodge and see you next time!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudsurfer_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

It is a beautiful farm house but unfortunately, both our rooms did not get the best view as we booked at the last minute. The house has a picturesque view, surrounded by beautiful flowers and trees. The surrounding is very tranquil. The corner room was like a dream room that we would only see on books! We appreciated the farm demo by Ghandi and learnt something new! It's our first B&B farmstay experience, the house is cosy and comfortable but ..... something is lacking. Maybe we are used to self-contained apartments, having our own space, kitchen, cook, able to talk loudly ...maybe...
Not a fault of the owners.

Room Tip: Get the corner room with a patio, it has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smNg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The house was wonderful. We were a group of 8 people. We had all the four rooms plus the huge drawing room which has a pool table. Our kids enjoyed the pool table a lot. Both Chrissie and Michael were wonderful hosts. Also their pet dog, Archie, was wonderful :)We had an excellent sheep shearing and sheep dog demonstration followed by cow milking. For city people like us, this farm stay was wonderful. The house is gorgeous and the environment is excellent. Thanks Chrissie and Michael for making our stay so pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReenaGoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosgiel
15.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
8.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
16.6 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
9.5 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Peaks Lodge

Property: Silver Peaks Lodge
Address: 255 Main South Road | East Taieri, Mosgiel 9092, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mosgiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mosgiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Peaks Lodge offers quality spacious farm-stay accommodation just 15 minutes south of Dunedin city centre. With private 4 guest rooms and 3 guest bathroom, 2 being ensuite, guest sitting room, guest dining room,guest laundry and spa pool. Relax in a quiet warm rural atmosphere and enjoy stunning views over the Taieri Plains and the hills beyond. Set in 16 acres of farmland the lodge is nestled amongst beautiful gardens and a pond area, which attracts a variety of native birds including Tui and Bellbirds. Activities include Farm demonstrations for example sheep shearing, working sheep dogs and milking "Polly" the cow! Only 10 minutes from Dunedin International Airport and within very easy driving distance to the Catlins area and the Otago Penisula. Close to the Otago Rail Trail and for golf enthusiasts, two golf courses within 1 km of Silver Peaks Lodge. A perfect place to stay! We look forward to welcoming you at Silver Peaks Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing