We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Host and Excellent Place....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Peaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Peaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Mosgiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Host and Excellent Place....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Silver Peaks Lodge during our visit to New Zea land in April 2012.Both Chrissie and Michael are excellent host and they made our stay at their farm house a memorable one. Lovely view from the bed room, lovely breakfast in the morning and with sheep and horses around we had a lovely time.

Michael also showed us how good his dogs were in controlling his sheep and later he showed how they take off the wool from his sheep. I will surely recommend anyone to go and stay with them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
41
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for four nights and highly enjoyed the stay. Choose the big suite, it's worth it, the other rooms are much smaller and this one has a great view. The location is ideal to explore all of the Dunedin area and it's just 10 minutes to the airport. We also could observe some sheep shearing and enjoyed to watch sheepdog do their work, this was great fun and very interesting. My favorite: The home-made muesli, yummy! The hosts are very friendly.
For our 3 year old daughter we got a baby cod for free.

Room Tip: Take the big suite, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajfal;skjf;a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed for 1 night in December in preparation for using the B&B to host a training course the next day. Excellent facilities, beautiful location - the views are gorgeous. Hosts were really welcoming and nothing was a problem. Course attendees really enjoyed the location too. I would highly recommend for both leisure and business travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Wife and I stayed a couple of nights. Great hosts-unobtrusive and welcoming- wonderful views of Taieri Plains and, as promised the Silver Peaks. Comfortable bed and comfortable bedroom with underfloor heating The attached conservatory was a treat with the views already mentioned.
However the shower in the ensuite was small and we would have appreciated the fridge having a freezer compartment. Breakfast was enjoyable as was the accompanying conversation with Ghandi. All in all an enjoyable stay in the Silver Peaks Room of this small farm.

Room Tip: Choose the Silver Peaks room it has an ensuite and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fr246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

My family and I stayed here, and it was gorgeous. The house was beautiful, clean and had an awesome view. Our rooms rocked, and Ghandi showed us all the cool stuff his sheep dogs could do which was really awesome for my little sister to see. The food was really nice, and our hosts were amazingly nice :)

Room Tip: Get the big room at the end of the hall, it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottokwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We were looking for a farmstay and were delighted to find one on a slope with fantastic views of rolling hills. We enjoyed taking walks around the farm and the beautiful garden and watching Gandhi demonstrate how sheep dogs work, feed the baby lambs and explain his work on the farm. We regret we didn't ask for sheep shearing demonstration (perhaps it's not the season for it). The bathroom was warm and very clean and the rooms comfortable and cozy. It was also great to have a spacious lounge to relax in and breakfast was excellent. Chrissy and Gandhi were wonderful hosts. It was our first farmstay and overall it was a great experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the hills if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to write it. We thouroughly enjoyed meeting you and are very glad your first farm stay experience was such a happy one.
Many thanks and we hope to meet you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Chosen from very imaginative advertising materials produced by the owners which made it look promising. Initially owners seemed helpful but I became disappointed on seeing the rooms which I had chosen for our two night stay. The suite was large with small lounge attached which had fantastic view. However, the furniture was worn with faded and frayed upholstery. The bed clothes were clean but not matched or well ironed. Above all the room was cold because 'windows had accidentally been left open'. The bathroom was a bit old fashioned with a basic shower up a step which was carpetted. The in room tea making facilities were basic. The TV was a tiny 12' model which took signal from the lounge. The house lounge was large and full of mismatched furniture which I suppose was meant to be charming whereas it was really just cheap. We had also booked a second night and had agreed to go to another room - it was much smaller than I had anticipated even for two though the owner had kindly agreed to add a third bed for our daughter. The wallpaper was old fashioned and the room dull and depressing as it was on the rear of the house.Lighting was inadequate.There was no en suite which had not been made clear so it was to be a shared bathroom across a corridor. Owner admitted this. We decided to stay only one night under the circumstances. Breakfast was quite satisfactory. We paid for the cancelled night because the owner said she had turned hundred away because of the Rugby World Cup matches in Dunedin. Wasted $135 here - owner said she didn't want to charge us but felt she had to. Did however drive into Dunedin and despite everything secured a very good motel a short walk from the Otargo Stadium straight away. Main road down driveway is SH1 and makes for an extremely dangerous entrance to this B and B. Overall not a happy experience and felt I had been taken in by glossy pictures.

Room Tip: Dont have a room at the rear of the property and avoid if you dislike flowery wallpaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
With the Rugby World Cup on, this was one of the busiest weekends we will ever have. Some extra guests stayed with our neighbours because of the huge demand for accommodatation in and around Dunedin. We had turned away over 100 people for these dates which is the reason we charged for the room that was cancelled at the last minute. At the time the booking was made we explained that the room, the guests were to move to for the second night, (as the first room was not available for the second night) was a smaller room, especially to have an extra bed in, for their daughter.

The windows had been left open in the intial room in the morning to air the room, as it was a nice warm sunny day. The weather became cooler at lunch time and the room had cooled down but soon warmed up again with the windows closed and underfloor heating.
There is a fridge in the room with a kettle, a variety of teas including herbal teas, coffees, hot chocolate, milk and biscuits provided .
The night referred to in the review we also provided a gorgeous chocolate tart for all the guests to enjoy, fresh from the Dunedin Farmers Market at no cost to the guests.
The TV in the room is a small one but there is a large TV in the guest lounge just along the hall.

In the 3 years we have been at Silver Peaks Lodge we have done a huge amount of renovating and painting over of floral wall papers. The room referred to in this review is the last one still to be done. The bathroom is normally a private one for this room but it was shared with one other couple for that weekend as we had rented out our daughter's room to accommodate extra guests.

This is not 5 star plus accommodation and our rates, which include breakfast and a farm demonstration, reflect that. More a homely friendly farmstay with stunning views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosgiel
15.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
8.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
16.6 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
9.5 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Peaks Lodge

Property: Silver Peaks Lodge
Address: 255 Main South Road | East Taieri, Mosgiel 9092, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mosgiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mosgiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Peaks Lodge offers quality spacious farm-stay accommodation just 15 minutes south of Dunedin city centre. With private 4 guest rooms and 3 guest bathroom, 2 being ensuite, guest sitting room, guest dining room,guest laundry and spa pool. Relax in a quiet warm rural atmosphere and enjoy stunning views over the Taieri Plains and the hills beyond. Set in 16 acres of farmland the lodge is nestled amongst beautiful gardens and a pond area, which attracts a variety of native birds including Tui and Bellbirds. Activities include Farm demonstrations for example sheep shearing, working sheep dogs and milking "Polly" the cow! Only 10 minutes from Dunedin International Airport and within very easy driving distance to the Catlins area and the Otago Penisula. Close to the Otago Rail Trail and for golf enthusiasts, two golf courses within 1 km of Silver Peaks Lodge. A perfect place to stay! We look forward to welcoming you at Silver Peaks Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing