We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Peaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Peaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Mosgiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A short stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Chosen from very imaginative advertising materials produced by the owners which made it look promising. Initially owners seemed helpful but I became disappointed on seeing the rooms which I had chosen for our two night stay. The suite was large with small lounge attached which had fantastic view. However, the furniture was worn with faded and frayed upholstery. The bed clothes were clean but not matched or well ironed. Above all the room was cold because 'windows had accidentally been left open'. The bathroom was a bit old fashioned with a basic shower up a step which was carpetted. The in room tea making facilities were basic. The TV was a tiny 12' model which took signal from the lounge. The house lounge was large and full of mismatched furniture which I suppose was meant to be charming whereas it was really just cheap. We had also booked a second night and had agreed to go to another room - it was much smaller than I had anticipated even for two though the owner had kindly agreed to add a third bed for our daughter. The wallpaper was old fashioned and the room dull and depressing as it was on the rear of the house.Lighting was inadequate.There was no en suite which had not been made clear so it was to be a shared bathroom across a corridor. Owner admitted this. We decided to stay only one night under the circumstances. Breakfast was quite satisfactory. We paid for the cancelled night because the owner said she had turned hundred away because of the Rugby World Cup matches in Dunedin. Wasted $135 here - owner said she didn't want to charge us but felt she had to. Did however drive into Dunedin and despite everything secured a very good motel a short walk from the Otargo Stadium straight away. Main road down driveway is SH1 and makes for an extremely dangerous entrance to this B and B. Overall not a happy experience and felt I had been taken in by glossy pictures.

Room Tip: Dont have a room at the rear of the property and avoid if you dislike flowery wallpaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
With the Rugby World Cup on, this was one of the busiest weekends we will ever have. Some extra guests stayed with our neighbours because of the huge demand for accommodatation in and around Dunedin. We had turned away over 100 people for these dates which is the reason we charged for the room that was cancelled at the last minute. At the time the booking was made we explained that the room, the guests were to move to for the second night, (as the first room was not available for the second night) was a smaller room, especially to have an extra bed in, for their daughter.

The windows had been left open in the intial room in the morning to air the room, as it was a nice warm sunny day. The weather became cooler at lunch time and the room had cooled down but soon warmed up again with the windows closed and underfloor heating.
There is a fridge in the room with a kettle, a variety of teas including herbal teas, coffees, hot chocolate, milk and biscuits provided .
The night referred to in the review we also provided a gorgeous chocolate tart for all the guests to enjoy, fresh from the Dunedin Farmers Market at no cost to the guests.
The TV in the room is a small one but there is a large TV in the guest lounge just along the hall.

In the 3 years we have been at Silver Peaks Lodge we have done a huge amount of renovating and painting over of floral wall papers. The room referred to in this review is the last one still to be done. The bathroom is normally a private one for this room but it was shared with one other couple for that weekend as we had rented out our daughter's room to accommodate extra guests.

This is not 5 star plus accommodation and our rates, which include breakfast and a farm demonstration, reflect that. More a homely friendly farmstay with stunning views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
41
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Our party rented the entire facility for four nights, and had an excellent stay. The B&B is set on a hill with marvelous views; the interior is tastefully and comfortably appointed; and Chrissy and Ghandi are gracious and helpful hosts. Excellent continental breakfast. It takes about 15 minutes to drive into Dunedin, which we found very convenient, and we enjoyed being out on the farm, surrounded by rolling hills and sheep. The kids enjoyed having space to run, and lambs and puppies to pet. The more ambitious in our party enjoyed walks (and runs!) on the paths. Could not have asked for a better place! So happy we found it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyD98034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

The setting was quiet, we were the only guests that night, and got a huge spacious room with a uniquely furnished big bathroom to boot. We had our best night there throughout our stay in New Zealand, and the continental breakfast served, of very well done toast, and freshly plucked grapes from the vine, was awesome. Gandhi showed us how the sheep dogs worked, and also demonstrated sheep shearing despite it being not the season to do so; it was very fun watching everything being done. Great location, too, with a beautifully kept garden.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Gandy & Chrissy are wonderful hosts! Eventhough we arrived quite late due to a late plane connection, Gandy was standing in the doorway to welcome us with tea! The setting is very quiet so we slept like babies! The en suite bathrooms are a real plus you don't usually get in a B&B so we loved that! Thanks so much, Chrissy, for driving us to the lovely dinner in "town"! Thanks to both of you for being such great hosts! Pippa, thanks for the choc-chip biscuits! Yummy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzisailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed with Chrissie and Gandhi for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The guest rooms are in almost a separate wing of their home and afforded us great privacy so we could enjoy a large private living room and verandah with spectacular views of the countryside. The continental breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice was very satisfactory. Our children loved playing with their puppy dogs and watching the sheep dogs in action on the farm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livinginsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, a really lovely peaceful place with lovely views. Chrissie and Michael (Ghandhi) made us feel really welcome. They even taped the rugby for us.
If we are ever back this way again We will stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mounty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Really enjoyed my stay at this excellent, relaxed and spacious B&B. Easy to find and situated back off the motorway with gorgeous views of the surrounding farmland and hills - only wish I had had more time to enjoy the area. Very easy traveling in to explore Dunedin on good roads. The Silver Peaks Lodge is only a few minutes away from Dunedin Airport which was important to me as I had to catch an early morning flight. Chrissie and her husband were very friendly and helpful and I have already recommended the Lodge to my family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sealyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosgiel
15.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
8.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
16.6 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
9.5 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Peaks Lodge

Property: Silver Peaks Lodge
Address: 255 Main South Road | East Taieri, Mosgiel 9092, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mosgiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mosgiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Peaks Lodge offers quality spacious farm-stay accommodation just 15 minutes south of Dunedin city centre. With private 4 guest rooms and 3 guest bathroom, 2 being ensuite, guest sitting room, guest dining room,guest laundry and spa pool. Relax in a quiet warm rural atmosphere and enjoy stunning views over the Taieri Plains and the hills beyond. Set in 16 acres of farmland the lodge is nestled amongst beautiful gardens and a pond area, which attracts a variety of native birds including Tui and Bellbirds. Activities include Farm demonstrations for example sheep shearing, working sheep dogs and milking "Polly" the cow! Only 10 minutes from Dunedin International Airport and within very easy driving distance to the Catlins area and the Otago Penisula. Close to the Otago Rail Trail and for golf enthusiasts, two golf courses within 1 km of Silver Peaks Lodge. A perfect place to stay! We look forward to welcoming you at Silver Peaks Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing