We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilltop Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilltop on Tamborine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilltop on Tamborine
Ranked #1 of 2 Wongawallan B&B and Inns
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hilltop Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this place in August. We found the couple who runs the place were very friendly and helpful. The place was very clean, the food good and there are nice views towards the Gold Coast from the dining room. We were a bit surprised that, being a B&B, the breakfast was not included. Our room was advertised as having a private balcony with garden views.
In reality it was a shared balcony with mixed views amongst others onto 2 big water tanks. The room did not have A.C. which you would expect when you pay close to $200, as, though technically it was winter, it got quite stuffy at night and we could not find the fan switch.
Overall, a positive experience.

Room Tip: be aware there are no restaurants and facilities in walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We booked a cabin at Hilltop on Tamborine as we didn't want to pay the extortionate rates that some places on the mountain seem to charge. On arrival we were upgraded to a room in the main house.
Hilltop on Tamborine is essentially a bed and breakfast with the owners' home and an art gallery attached. The room was pleasant, very clean, comfy bed and basic but perfectly adequate bathroom. There are amazing views from the gallery/cafe where we enjoyed a lovely breakfast. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and Evaa cooks a mean breakfast!
If you are looking for somewhere friendly and reasonable to stay, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jc3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The guest book for Hilltop on Tamborine in packed with glowing comments and I can only say how well deservd they are. In desperate need of a break my wife and I needed somewhere near the Gold Coast that was quiet. I mistakenly thought this was a hotel when I made the reservations online but it didn't matter that we found it was a B&B. The hosts are charming and attentive without beinging intrusive. The breakfast of Eggs Benedict was 5 Star. One day we found ourselves there at about lunchtime and had the best meal of our 10 days away from our home in NSW. We have definitely put Hilltop on Tamborine on our must return list. The guestbook is full of glowing comments about this outstanding B&B, oh and the sweeping views from the coffee shop deck are amazing Just a fabulous place to say for a restful night and to explore Tamborine Mountain while being close to the glitz of the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdcdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

My partner and I stayed here in February for my birthday which also coincides with Valentine's Day. The website described it as luxury accommodation which I didn't see. Our room was neat and clean but it was like a relocatable container/office fitted out with small bathroom, carpet etc. It was comfortable and I slept really well. The location was really good too. From the balcony of the house itself (where there were other rooms for let) there was beautiful views of the trees, hills etc looking towards the Gold Coast. We sat out there for a glass of wine in the evening. Make sure you take your rid as the midgies are quite bad.

The main thing we were disappointed about was the breakfast. I have done quite a lot of travelling in Europe, Canada and N.Z. and a continental breakfast usually includes fruit juice, good coffee, pastries, a selection of fresh fruit and cereal and toast. At Hilltop the coffee was foul. My latte had thick froth on top which was different. The pastries consisted of croissants still in the foil tray in which they were bought from the supermarket. There was a selection of tiny jams which is usual and some waffles. That was it. I had orange juice which was brought to the table in a bottle which we served ourselves. I had one croissant, tried my second coffee to give them a second chance but decided I couldn't drink it and left, still hungry. There were other breakfast items which could be ordered off the menu but the accommodation included a continental breakfast so we thought that would suffice. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongawallan
2.2 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
9.4 mi away
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
23.9 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eagle Heights Mountain Resort
24.3 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
7.9 mi away
Aaronlee Retreat
Aaronlee Retreat
#2 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop on Tamborine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop on Tamborine

Property: Hilltop on Tamborine
Address: 1525 Tamborine-Oxenford Rd, Wongawallan, Gold Coast, Queensland 4210, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Wongawallan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wongawallan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilltop on Tamborine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hilltop on Tamborine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop On Tamborine Wongawallan, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing