We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST British-Style Country Pub in Australia!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wongawallan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wongawallan B&B and Inns
Eagle Heights, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The BEST British-Style Country Pub in Australia!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were very pleased to find that the Fox and Hounds' high standards are being maintained and, in some aspects, surpassed under the new and dynamic ownership. The menu is extensive, the food is delicious, the prices are reasonable, the ambience is sublime and the service is excellent.

We return time and time again and will continue to do so!!!!

Paul & Freda

P.S. The scones are "to die for"!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We went to this pub today for an early celebration of my birthday and we all came away very disappointed in the quality of the food. The Beef and Guinness Pie was terrible. The beef was thinly sliced roast meat added to a thin gravy with a bought pastry 'hat' served on top. Terribly overpriced at $27.50. Three people had Chicken and Leek pie and said that their meals were marginally better than the guinness pie but were quite small. The cider served under the label of Monteiths was not Monteiths at all, as advised by the barman. It was returned to the bar and swapped for a beer. The Cornish Pastie was listed on the menu to be served with Branston Pickles. When questioned, the waitress said she would go and get the pickles but she never returned. It took an hour for our food order to be taken in the first place. Apparently this pub is under new management. We will never go there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a nice surprise to visit somewhere a little bit quirky that serves great food and has excellent service. The menu was very extensive and it took us ages to decide what to have. The meals were huge and the food very fresh and tasty. There was so much memorabilia to see, we could have spent much longer there soaking it all in. If you're looking for a nice drive in pretty countryside with a destination for lunch or dinner, then you can't do better. The new Management are doing a great job - I wish them every success in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caza12322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Finding a pub that isn't all high tables and backless stools or cold concrete & fake retro deco,multiple wide screen TVs, thumping music and pokies is nearly impossible, but the opposite to that is the Fox & Hounds Inn on the Mount Tamborine & Oxenford Road.

The old pub ambiance is there in spades, and the Inn is welcoming and comfortable (Air conditioned ) relaxed and interesting. A place to sit and have a few on tap English or Irish beers or Aussie bottled beers if you prefer, a good wine list, with tasty traditional meals on offer, (I am addicted to the Damper ) and the most delicious traditional desserts ( the Eton Mess, yum) friendly, attentive staff. I couldn't ask for more!

I spent 3 hours there mid week (Thursday) with my daughter who was equally enchanted, and who also enjoyed and delighted in the wonderful display of Irish and English memorabilia in the Irish and English bars, which are superbly decorated. The only thing that eventually,reluctantly, drove us out was that it doesn't provide accommodation..to wake up to a Cooked English breakfast and enjoy the delightful bush surrounds early morning, before returning home would have been perfect. I wish I could transport this pub to my home at Tweed heads and make it my 'local'!

My second visit but certainly not my last.If you want to go back in time, to experience the traditional pub with just a touch of modern and non intrusive comfort, and enjoy the warmth of the personal interaction of the people who own the pub, running the pub..go and enjoy the hospitality of Vicky & Stewart at the Fox and Hounds Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhondda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
293 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Second visit to this British country pub and second fabulous meal. British style food and beers and no matter where you sit as soon as you walk into the pub it certainly reminds me of being back in a good ole British country pub. The furniture and chattels and football scarves give a warm welcome. There is also a British shop at the premises which is open normal retail hours. The food is very British style hearty meals and there is also a curry chef that makes the best curries that Britain is renowned for. The one downside is the service which could do with improving and at least one other person. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC000111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked for Sunday roast at the Fox and Hounds. The food was outstanding. The roast was so tender it melted in your mouth. Atmosphere and service were outstanding. Friends have visited mid-week and raved about the meals. They especially loved the traditional 'toad in the hole 'and the 'eton mess'. Will be visiting again on Saturday for the live band. Can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had been here a long time ago and it was a wonderful way to spend a Sunday.
So we were really looking forward to this visit,
The new extension is great and well done.
There were four of us in the group, and we were very disappointed, 12 noon The First booking,everything should be fresh, the meat had been sliced early and kept in a Bain Marie,the roast potatoes were hard ,and tasted reheated? However the cauliflower and broccoli were spot on.
The staff we're a pretty mixed bunch, one young lady stood out as she asked on a couple of occasions if we needed anything.
One waitress was just plain miserable, and if you don't like people don't work in the hospitality industry!
We had entree which was a generous serve, unfortunately we didn't have room for desert and the Eton Mess looked wonderful ,
The Chef? Needs to lift his game !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieandvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox & Hounds Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Country Inn

Property: Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Address: Corner of Oxenford Tamborine Rd & Elevation Drive, Wongawallan, Gold Coast, Queensland 4210, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Wongawallan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wongawallan
Also Known As:
Fox & Hounds Country Inn Wongawallan, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing