We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”
Review of Coral Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Little Bay B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Family stayed at this beautiful resort, tucked away in the heart of Jamaica! For 5 days we were treated as VIP guests by a warm and accommodating staff. It's a crazy backroads ride in, but once you arrive, the place is an oasis! My nephew and fiance chose the perfect place to host their beautiful wedding! Their jaw-dropping backdrop included the Caribbean Sea (complete with a rainbow in the sky)! I can't think of anything but good things to say about Coral Cove! The rooms are unique, the food is delicious, the bar offers "spicy" drinks by request, and the private beach is small but quite enjoyable! However, there are two things that you should know before you go. (1) Every room is not air conditioned. Some travelers won't mind this since there is often a nice breeze blowing. but you need to know (if it matters) - to ask for accommodations with A/C. and (2) The resort is not close to tourist attractions. They do provide transportation (for a fee) to many tourist destinations off the premises. I would absolutely recommend this resort for getting away from it all! Even if we do have to return to reality at the end of it all! ;-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    26
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
89
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This was my second time to Jamaica. The first time, was just my husband and I. We stayed in Negril on 7 mile beach and it was beautiful but certainly did not compare to Coral Cove. If you are looking for a "touristy" place, this is not it. If you are looking for the chance to completely unwind and relax while experiencing the real Jamaica, this is your spot! I travelled with my husband and two boys, ages 12 & 15. I was a little concerned that they would be bored but not once in the five days we were there did anyone even mention the word.
Ritchie met us at the airport with the Coral Cove sign and a big smile. We made the crazy ride to Coral Cove (they drive quite differently there!) and stopped at a road side Jerk hut for a break on the way. I was so excited to have my boys taste jerk chicken and they loved it! It took about 90 minutes to get to the resort travelling through the mountains. It was a great scenic route and it allowed my boys to see some of the good and bad of Jamaica.
We arrived at Coral Cove and Ritchie took our bags up to our room. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Ackee Tree House. It was simple but clean and accomodating. The A/C worked perfectly and thank goodness because it was HOT!! One time during our stay, the electic went out but within 15 minutes, they had the generator up and running the whole place again. The property is beautiful, everything is so green and the boys were amazed by the lizards, crabs and sealife.
We snorkeled everyday. They do provide snorkeling gear and watershoes, which are needed as it is a bit tough walking on the beach. We got some great shells, saw some eels and all kinds of fish right at the cove on their beach. The water was a bit wavy most days but it was as warm as a bathtub.

The greatest thing was the food. Authentic Jamaican. We got to try Ackee and saltfish, mango, jerk chicken, and coconut cookies. We ate breakfast every morning by the water and dinner and lunch wherever we wanted. One night I wanted to eat on the beach with a bonfire and like magic, they made it happen. They ran out of Jack Daniels (the only thing my husband drinks) and Ritchie went and got more one day when we went over to Rick's and Margaritaville. Anything you wanted, they would do or get for you. They do move on "jamaican time", not so rushed like us here in the USA, so some patience is required but they were as accomodating as possible.

Luckily, we ended up having the entire place to ourselves for 4 out of 5 days of our trip. A huge thanks to everyone at Coral Cove for making my boys first trip to Jamaica one to remember. They want to come back.... right away!! Thanks to Ritchie for your patience in answering all our questions and getting us safely to where we wanted to be. Thanks to Maxine for making sure all was well and becoming a new friend. Thanks to Donald, Caden, Yeng, Michael, Chavon, Kiesha and everyone else (sorry, I'm so bad with names) for making our stay as great as it was. Marla the dog was such a sweetie and made me feel better to be able to pet a dog when I was missing mine. We loved talking to you all and learning about your beautiful country and culture.
We did go horseback riding in Sav La Mar one day and that too was quite the experience. Maxine took me through all the other rooms at Coral Cove, and each one was more beautiful and unique as the next.
Coral Cove and the people of Little Bay truly are a hidden gem and my only fear is that too many people will find out about the place. I would hate for it to change in any way. I wish we would have gotten to meet the owner, Steve (he left a day before we came) because I would like to thank him for sharing his little piece of paradise with us. Ah, Jamaica... it's true, once you go... you know!
♥One Love ♥

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottpinkauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We went to Coral Cove for my 30th birthday and I can't even begin to tell you how amazing my 30th was thanks to the people at Coral Cove. Tonya was an angel and went out of her way to make my birthday special.
The entire staff was friendly and willing to go out of their ways to get us anything we needed.
We did adventure into Negril on a boat ride provided by Richie but though the boat ride was amazing, Negril lacked the charm of Coral Cove. So after less than 1 hour we quickly headed back to our secluded paradise.
On the boat ride we saw all of the other resorts along the Negril coast but Coral Cove has the best of both worlds. Not only can you lay on the beach and enjoy wonderful snokeling right off the beach, you can explore the rocky cliffs that also border Coral Cove.
The Food ohhhh The Food... That's all I can say. Every meal was a piece of Heaven.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thufferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We spent a week at Coral Cove this past May and we really enjoyed our stay. We have stayed in Negril several times and this spot is definitely for those looking to get away. You can plan as much or as little as you want and the staff at Coral Cove will make it happen for you. The food was wonderful and fresh. When we made requests( any mango available?) the requested item appeared on our plates the next day! The staff also allows you to decide where on the property you would like to eat (balcony, beach, etc) which makes for very romantic dinners. If you are looking for a small hotel experience, then this is the place for you! Thanks to all the staff at Coral Cove, we really appreciate all you did to make our stay comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksso1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We had the most amazing vacation of our lives. Well off the beaten track we found a resort that provided us with an experience that was truly unique and tailored to our desires as guests of the resort. The scenery and beauty of the resort (especially the rooms) was second only to the people working there. Friendliest most helpful and funniest people we have had the opportunity to spend time with. Truly made the trip. Value was found in seeing Jamaica through the eyes of the locals who acted as impromptu tour guides when ever the whim hit showing us some of their favorite places and places you will never find in your lonely planet book. Much respect to Ritchie Tanya Kang etc. Thanks for the stay, and Steve we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smellytowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figueres
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Coral Cove is the place to get married !!!
My husband and I will never forget the experience of getting married at such a beautiful place.
Everyone who worked at Coral Cove made our time there so fantastic. We will never forget our wedding day and stay there.
Thankyou so much.
We will be back for our 1st wedding anniversary XXX
Fiona & Paul
Figueres
Spain

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feerowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Coral Cove is truly a piece of paradise in Jamaica. From the moment Richie picked us up at the airport to the minute he took us back it was awesome! If you get car sick, take some medicine because you will want to take the scenic mountain view and stop off for some delicious jerk pork and a red stripe. It takes about 1 1/2 hours to get to the resort from Montego Bay airport. When we got to Coral Cove we were treated like royalty. Tanya had cold towels for us and homemade cookies! Donald took our bags up to the room (all 6 of them!) while they had cold rum drinks made for us. We traveled with our family for our wedding and they truly made my wedding day so special. I was the ONLY wedding that day, actually for several days, and they made sure everything was perfect! I had flower petals down the freshly raked aisle in the sand, a beautiful palm arch, chair covers with the ribbon color of my choosing. Everything was perfect! The beach is very rocky, you will need water shoes! If you forget, Richie can take you into a shop in Negril where you can buy them for $10. The food was great! I loved that we all ate together for authentic Jamaican cuisine. We had soup at every meal which was always delicious. My mom doesn't eat meat and there was always a meat and fish entree along with vegetables, and usually rice or some sort of potato. Dessert was included in every meal. Yeng is the best bar tender at the resort. If you are fortunate enough to meet the owner Steve you are in for a treat. He is a wonderful owner and makes sure you have everything you need. He made us feel right at home and was always around to just chat with. We had two small children (2 and 4) traveling with us and the staff took to them like their own children. We checked out bikes and biked to the Blue Hole. It was an awesome experience and everyone should go! Another hidden spot in Little Bay, Jamaica. Coral Cove has it all! Stay here for your wedding, honeymoon, or just to experience Jamaica the way it's meant to be! Ya mon, no worries at Coral Cove!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kleichm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Bay
5.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
6.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
6.8 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Richie's on the Beach
Richie's on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Little Bay
55 reviews
6.2 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 81 in Negril
1,005 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cove Resort

Property: Coral Cove Resort
Address: 2 Old Hope Rd, Little Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Little Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Little Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 17 room boutique All-Inclusive resort with European Plan/Bed & Breakfast option. Custom designed rooms & cottages, located on a private cove with a protected swimming and snorkeling area. The best of both coastal property worlds, 5 acres with 1/4 mile of ocean frontage with private beaches and natural volcanic cliffs. Ideal for vacations, weddings, and honeymoons. We serve fresh, Caribbean and international cuisine daily and provide tours and activities for guests looking for an authentic rich cultural Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Cove Hotel Little Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing