We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i couldn't ask for anything better”
Review of Little Bay Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Bay Cabins
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i couldn't ask for anything better”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

let me say off hand.. oh my goodness. this place was ahh-mazing. even though it rained a few days the atmosphere was tranquil. stress free. i'm not sure where the other people who gave their reviews came up with having an awful time. i would say from the owners to the kittens and the dogs.. very friendly. i will be sure to return to jamaica very very soon. :)

Room Tip: make sure you get a room near the ocean. i wasn't able to, but it wasn't too far off to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisec73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
13
109
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Like the majority, i too purchased the living social deal.  The rooms were well kept and 10 ft away from the beach! It was beautiful and relaxing to sleep hearing the ocean's waves.  

The staff was amazing. Our favorites being asmar- the bartender, roselyn- day shift lounge attendant, and piggy. 

For me personally, the lady owner wasn't too friendly.  As soon as we got there her welcoming remarks were "we need $100 for incidentals and $300 for meal plan". The owner mike was cool, inviting us to relax by the bar after a long flight. 

We did not get the meal plan because we went to negril for a day tour and we went to dunns river falls and we ate there. However, during the days we stayed in little bay and after paying $15 for lunch - which was tuna sandwhich, we decided to eat at Wayne's.  Wayne is a local in little bay and he has a bar not too far from the cabin. He will cook u authentic jamaican food for half of how much the cabin will charge! And its real good food too!!! We ate all our meals there. 

Bug spray is a must! Hanging out by the hammocks was so relaxing! It gets hot during the afternoon and theres no a/c... Thats when the hammocks come in handy!!  Bring a book!

Little bay is in the middle of no where... Meaning, no hustlers and super relaxing - private beach.  For airport transfers and all our tours we used joe cool taxi and tour (separate review- very happy with their service) .  

Overall, i will definitely go back again. 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank joys_cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We bought the living social deal as did many others who have written reviews. This was an amazing trip and we will always remember it because it was so different from a typical hotel or resort stay. We were in cabin 5 and it was literally steps from the water. It was so nice to go to sleep and wake up hearing the waves just steps away from the cabin. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a good time, see everything we wanted to see, and keep us smiling. The dining staff as well as several of the drivers and on site staff members knew us by name which was so comforting. You will quickly get to know Fishy (great fisherman), Clayton (he was our driver for two day trips and he made the trips so much fun), Top Shelf (works the beach and will take you kayaking, also caught sand crabs with me), Asmar (bartender), Mike and Keisha (owners), and so many more people. The food was very good, we did the meal plan and also brought snacks to keep in the room. I still can't believe I ate curried goat! On the days when we went to Negril and YS Falls (highy recommend this), the cook made us lunch to take with us which was so nice, you just have to ask. The water situation wasn't a problem at all for us. We ran out twice during our stay and upon letting the staff know it was replaced within 10 minutes. Great water pressure and it was nice to take a cool shower before going to bed. On the grounds we kayaked, snorkeled, chilled in the hammocks, went on the deep sea fishing trip (you don't actually fish, just ride along), went to Bob Marley house, did the crab crawl (wear gym shoes if you do this - pretty deep in the woods at night), went to the Blue Hole and jumped in the hole (25 foot jump) and just hung out at the bar. We brought bug spray but never really used it. I brought mosquito repellent coil things to dinner at nigh and with those lit we were never bothered by bugs. As others have mentioned being social will guarantee a good time. We got to know everyone that was staying at LBC when we were there and we all had a great time. We went on trips together, ate meals together, kayaked together, etc. We exchanged about $80 to J's (Jamaican currency) on the way to the cabins (do NOT exchange $ at the airport, you'll get an awful exchange rate). We stopped at a store wih a cambio to grab Jamaican beef patties and Red Stripes for the 90 min drive in as well. We used US currency otherwise and had no problems, bring a lot of ones and fives if possible and don't be afraid to negotiate prices and/or double check the math to make sure you're not getting ripped off. Bring your camera and take lots of pictures to remember this beautiful vacaton spot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank skipper11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Like one of the reviews said, if you are expecting a 5 star resort, then you are setting yourself up for disappointment, However, outisde of that the place was incredible and the staff very friendly. We stayed in the Legend and had the pleasure of Ms. Patsy taking care of us. If you go on the tour of the Bat caves or Bob Marley's house, DO NOT wear flip flops! Also, in general, when traveling to Jamaica, there's no need to convert your money. It's also a good idea to have small bills like $5s and $10s because most places can not give you change back in American and that is where you will get screwed. If you are staying all 5 days in Little Bay, buy the food plan. We left to go to Negril for our last 3 days, so we just payed for our food individually and ended up spending a lot more than we planned. Bring lots of snacks. Outisde of that, I loved it. It was so peaceful and relaxing..I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the Legend - it's awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoubbleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Little Bay Cabins was an absolutely amazing vacation. LIke most others, my boyfriend and I took advantage of the Living Social deal for Little Bay Cabins, and it was the best decision. The staff consisted of some of the nicest people I've met, and they were willing to help with anything. If you are looking for a five star resort with air conditioning and full amenities, Little Bay is not for you. With that said, my boyfriend and I quickly fell in love with our little cabin that was 10 yards from the beach. The cabins consist of a bed, an open closet and a bathroom, pretty much the basics that you need. The food was absolutely delicious. We tried everything Jamaican that we could, and did not have one meal we didn't enjoy. If you are a picky eater, little bay probably isn't the best place to go. They give you all authentic Jamaican food, a lot of fish, vegetables and fruits. The fruit was some of the best I have ever had. We spent most of our days on the beach, but we also did the Bob Marley house/bat cave tour included in the Living Social Deal as well as the Blue Hole trip which was $30. Take advantage of the tours they are definitely worth it! Mike, the owner was such a nice guy. We talked to him every day and he was always checking to see how we were doing and if there was anything we needed. If there is something wrong in your room, make sure you tell someone because they won't know unless you say something. Our water tank ran out the first night we were there, and within seconds of telling Mike the tank was refilled with no problem. Take advantage of everything they have to offer, and you will really get the best out of your experience at Little Bay Cabins.

Some helpful tips:
Get to know your neighbors! We had the pleasure of meeting some amazing people on this trip. The other tourists that were there when we were made the trip that much better to enjoy. Don't be afraid to sit with them during meals, go on tours with them and get to know them.

Bring A LOT of bug spray. We went through a ton and even with it we got bug bites. Just be prepared for that, the staff does the best they can to help.

Sun Screen! If the sun is out, it is HOT. Definitely bring a lot of sun screen and reapply often

Snacks- We brought some snacks and ate most of them. They do not really offer snacks in between meals so if you want to eat at all in between lunch & dinner, make sure you bring something to eat. Also, don't leave your snacks out in your room because of any bugs that might be around

Bring your own beach towels. They have towels in the room but they are bath towels, so if you have room in your suitcase try and pack your own.

They do not let you use aloe vera in the rooms because it stains the sheets and towels, and if you do that, you'll have to pay for it. We brought a big bottle of it and did not use it at all. A couple of other guests told us they brought regular lotion with aloe in it and that was fine, so you could bring that.

Double check for your transportation to and from the airport before you go.

My boyfriend and I got home yesterday and already want to go back. We miss the people, the beach and our little cabin already. Thank you to Little Bay for making us part of your family and we hope we will be back again someday!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachelheisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We truly enjoyed every moment of our stay at Little Bay. The staff is friendly, enjoyable, and take obvious pride in doing well at their job. What we wanted from our vacation was pure relaxation and that is exactly what we got. I was concerned by some of the reviews I read prior to going, none of which ended up being an issue for us. The evening breeze and the sound of the ocean waves made for great sleeping, not having a/c proved not to be a problem and I'm one who does not sleep well in heat. The temps are so warm that a lukewarm shower is all we needed so not having hot water wasn't an issue either. We brought plenty of snacks and ended up leaving them for the school. Bug spray and sun lotion is a necessity. We rented a car which proved to be quite an adventure. I wouldn't advise car rental, driving is pure craziness and finding Little Bay was hard. We spent one afternoon in Negril which made us appreciate Little Bay that much more. Little Bay was so relaxing, Negril was one person after another aggressively pushing their merchandise which was anything from crafts, to drugs, to prostitution. There is none of that atmosphere at Little Bay Cabins, it's all about relaxing and the staff catering to their guests. We truly loved our experience at Little Bay and thought very highly of their staff. This is a great place for adults (not little kids) to go for peace and relaxation.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a cabin on the beach! The sound of the ocean and the breeze at night was amazing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

A truly phenomenal stay at Little Bay Cabins.

Like many of the other reviewers, I came down on the Living Social voucher with my boyfriend spending only $400 for 2 people for 5 days, 6 nights. The hotel is isolated (a good 2 hours from the airport, and another 30-45 from the nearest town) but makes up for it with extremely friendly staff, delicious food, snorkeling and kayaking, and overall good vibes. This is not a resort nor is this a resort vacation. The lodging is cabins, like the name implies, meaning small, queen-bed rooms without air conditioning, only a curtain separating the bathroom from the bedroom, all completed with a front porch and two chairs. And the grounds themselves are small, but well put-together with a variety of tropical plants notated by pretty painted signs. The rooms too are well done: the showers are giant, the beds comfortable, and the fan keeps the room a decent temperature throughout the night.

What really made this place great was the staff. Everyone from the cleaning ladies to the bartender to the security guards to the owner were so open and friendly you couldn't help talking with them for hours at a time. Unlike other hotels I've stayed at in the past, there is little disconnect between the staff and the guests, meaning you can have genuine and open conversations with born and raised Jamaicans. The owner Mike is also a great guy and a character. He will likely introduce himself to you upon arrival and chat away with you for as long as you will let him. He's a good guy, and he's put together a great get-away.

TIPS:

- Bring plenty of sunscreen and bug spray. When I say this place is isolated I mean it. There is no where anywhere nearby to buy anything like sunscreen or bug spray. The closest shops are 45 min. away in Negril plus a $60 car ride to get there. Just bring lots with you.

- Get the meal plan. It's $150 a person for 5 days. Coming from NYC, that's a bargin. Plus, the quality of the food is great. Local cooks, local food - delicious! Also, there really aren't any other places to eat. There's a small bar/hut about a 10 min. walk down the road but the food and prices are comparable.

- Socialize! The staff and the other guests make this place so friendly and family-like - get to know people together and you and your sweetheart will feel even more connected after.

- Do all the tours. Bat cave and Bob Marley come with the Living Social so you might as well do them. Thumbs up to the bat cave, thumbs medium to Bob Marley. The Blue Hole is an extra $30 each, but is well worth it, and includes a motorcycle ride and jumping into a 30 foot hole - scary but exhilarating. The crab round-up is $10 each and includes catching your own crabs and then cooking them immediately after. What's the going rate for crab in the U.S. - 10 times that? Yeah, do it. Deep sea fishing is $40 each and only worth it if you catch something. Otherwise, it's basically a 3 hour boat ride. I chose not to do this, but my boyfriend did and had a good experience. If you have a good book, maybe hold off on that one.

- Find your favorite hammock, and lay in it like its your job. My favorite: 3 hammocks outside "The Legend" (aka Mike's house) around the back of the property. Perfect shade laying for the sunburnt whities, such as myself, as the sun's rays are perpetually blocked by the tree's foliage above.

- DO NOT exchange your money for Jamaican $$. Everyone accepts U.S. and in fact prefers it since its a more stable currency. The only cash you really need is to tip the awesome waitstaff. Otherwise, all other costs go on your bill which you can pay for at the end with 1 credit card. Total, our trip came out to $400 for lodging (pre-paid online) + $300 meal plan for 2 + $60 for the Blue Hole + $40 for the deep sea fishing + $200 round-trip to the airport = $400 pre-paid + $600 in country costs = $1000 total

Bottom line: if you want an "escape" vacation on the beach, with lots of down-time for you and your loved one/family member/best friend, this is the place for you. Come, bring an open mind, and you will meet tons of friendly people (Jamaican too) and you will have a completely enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank krametime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Bay
6.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
7.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#28 of 80 in Negril
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Richie's on the Beach
Richie's on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Little Bay
54 reviews
7.3 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
995 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coral Cove Resort
Coral Cove Resort
#1 of 3 in Little Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Bay Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Bay Cabins

Property: Little Bay Cabins
Address: Beach Road, Little Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Little Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Little Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Little Bay Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon arriving at Little Bay Cabins you will be warmly greeted to share in a true Jamaican cultural experience. Little Bay feels undisturbed by time in the countryside of Jamaica and yet we are only 10 miles from Negril. Little Bay Cabins is a cottage and villa style seaside resort located on three private beautifully landscaped acres nestled in the heart of Little Bay, Jamaica. Our property is rustic by design and has often been described as "Eden by the sea". Little Bay is a place so special that Bob Marley himself built his beach house here. We invite you to come and discover the pristine beauty and authentic Jamaican vibe found at Little Bay Cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Little Bay Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing