We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Rural Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Cottage Jamaica
Ranked #3 of 4 Little Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our family of 8 stayed at Coral Cottage Bed and Breakfast for a long weekend and found it to be an economical relaxing retreat. There was something for everyone! The hosts, Richie and Terry made us feel at home and pampered and each of our immaculate and spacious rooms was decorated with fresh flowers upon our arrival.

Breakfasts were cooked to order. Meals featured authentic and tasty Jamaican food, which was served in the gazebo. If you are looking for a break retreat from the hustle and bustle of home or more 'resorty' areas of Jamaica this is the place for you! Richie took our group on a tour of a nearby cave and and mineral bath. Although there is no pool on location, Richie has plans to put a freshwater pool on the property in the near future.

The Cottage is located in a rural pristine area about 20 miles from Negril and a 2 hour drive from Montego Bay. If you plan to do activities such as fishing etc. Richie is fully prepared to arrange activities for you. If you feel the need to visit a city, you may want to reserve a driver as the roads can be challenging for those not used to driving Jamaican roads. If you plan to venture beyond Negril, keep in mind the cost in terms of time and money of doing so when you are budgeting your trip. Our driver, Mr. Denton Prendergast from Dengas Tours (dengast@gmail.com) was wonderful so transportation was not an issue for us.

Although one member of our party shared that music from a nearby party made the first night of sleep a bit challenging, the other nights were blissfully peaceful.

Coral Cottage is a special place. If you are looking for a relaxing, laid back slice of paradise - Coral Cottage is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank masonh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

Coral Cottage was everything that I dreamed of for an ocean paradise. The Cottage itself lies tucked away in the fishing village of Little Bay, Jamaica, and provides the perfect atmosphere for a nice, relaxing island vacation. It's almost like the best of both worlds - the cottage itself is secluded away from the resorts and tourists, but is located close enough (about 20-30 minutes) to the big resort town of Negril that you don't feel deprived of the normal vacation experiences (shopping, restaurants, bars, etc). There are several other attractions closer to the cottage that are great for an afternoon trip (Bob Marley's Mineral Spring, Blue Hole, YS Falls, etc.).

The rooms at the Cottage are beautiful and kept immaculate by the staff. The second story rooms are wonderful, as you can leave the veranda doors open at night and let in the sea breeze coming straight off the ocean. The beds are comfortable and were made up every day by the staff on hand. I felt like I was right at home during my stay. We spent late nights on the veranda talking and playing cards or sitting out by the ocean, and then early mornings are perfect for a coffee on the upper deck or by the ocean watching the sun rise over the bay.

I can't say enough good things about the staff. Each person working at Coral Cottage is an absolute joy to have around. The girls are just wonderful and make the most amazing food! The authentic Jamaican food that these ladies make is a real treat - all homemade with fresh ingredients, the cuisine that is served at Coral Cottage is not something that you're going to forget anytime soon. It was hard to go back home and eat regular food again! And Richie is a real joy to have as a tour guide. He can act as a guide to literally anywhere and is a real fun guy to just hang out with. Everyone is very friendly - by the time you leave, you'll feel like you're leaving a whole new set of friends behind.

The ocean front at the Cottage is just gorgeous, and no matter what time of year you visit, the water is just the right temperature for swimming. Colorful fish inhabit the reef right off of the shore and you can spend hours snorkeling right off the shore of the cottage. There are places all over the Cottage grounds to relax. The ocean front has big lounge chairs to sun on, the gardens have hammocks strung between the larger trees, and the upper deck and veranda at the cottage are great for just lounging around on the patio furniture. The place was just built for relaxation.

I highly recommend a stay at Coral Cottage if you're considering a vacation to Jamaica. It's the perfect vacation spot away from the resorts and before you leave you'll already be planning your next trip back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Coral Cottage is truly a boutique lodging experience. Our visit to Coral Cottage was like staying with good friends who has the gift of hospitably. The rooms were spotless yet charming. Morning and evening we were treated to authentic Jamaican cuisine lovingly prepared and served in the gazebo outside. Coral Cottage is a perfect place for a romantic get away or a family vacation. We had a spectacular time strolling along the beach at Little Bay, collecting coral, chatting with locals, learning to carve a watermelon, snorkeling, learning how local Jamaican cuisine is prepared, shopping for handmade baskets, swimming in natural springs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suecannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Coral Cottage Oceanfront Villa in Little Bay Jamaica

Location: Coral Cottage is located about 25 minutes south of Negril Jamaica and a little under 2 hours from the Montego Bay international airport. Set back about 100 yards from the ocean in a tropical garden, it’s truly defines the word paradise.


Booking a room at Coral Cottage: Booking a room was very easy, I sent an e-mail and within hours my stay at Coral Cottages was booked. They also have a reservations page on their website but since I had talked to them back and forth by e-mail it was an easy solution for me.


Checking in at Coral Cottage: The check in process was quick and easy. I got a 10 or so minute tour of the grounds, the common areas (giant full kitchen and dining area) and my room. Once I paid for my room and deposit for the room key I was checked in. Generally I’m in favor of a really quick check in but in this case a brief tour was needed or I would of been lost not knowing everything the resort offers.


Room quality: Without a doubt, Coral Cottages is the nicest place I have stayed at in Jamaica and I’ve stayed at many places! Everything from the fancy furniture to the lovely decorations is right in line with what a luxury resort should offer. This is the type of place that I would suggest to picky travelers that want to get away from the big resorts.

Staff: Richie and Teresa were both very nice. Since I wanted to eat the local food, explore Little Bay and do my own thing they didn’t see much of me.

Food: N/A, I didn’t eat there.

Security: Everyone in the village knows each other and nobody is out to mess with tourists or Richie’s guest so I was not concerned about my own safety or securing my belongings. The same goes for the village, I walked all over the place exchanging greetings and small talk with people and EVERYONE was extremely friendly.

Overall Rating of the Coral Cottage: Too nice! This is the type of place I would go for a honeymoon or to impress a special person. This is also the only place that I have ever stayed at in Jamaica that is “finished”, as in all of the construction is done, the check lists are complete and everything is fine tuned. It’s really shocking that the Coral Cottage can deliver so much for very inexpensive room rates. Their commitment to being “green” was impressive as well, from the dual flush toilets and other plumbing to the use of natural products, they really get a thumbs up in my book of being green!

Another cool thing about the resort is that it’s located off the beaten path and their are all sorts of cool things to see around it. A few minutes down the road you can swim in Bob Marley’s mineral water bath or view what remains of his summer home. A 5 minute walk will bring you to a bat cave that is so large you could park a good sized plane in it. A 10 minute route taxi drive away is the Blue Hole which offers diving and swimming in a 25′ deep hole in the earth or in their heated mineral water above ground pool. A 10 minute taxi drive in the other direction will bring you Farmer Debbie’s farm where you can take a tour. I can go on and on….. better yet, go and enjoy the Coral Cottage and all that the town of Little Bay has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CharlesJAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank SunshineCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralCottageJamaica, Owner at Coral Cottage Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Bay
125.9 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
807 reviews
16.2 mi away
Luna Sea Inn
Luna Sea Inn
#1 of 4 in Bluefields
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Cove Resort
Coral Cove Resort
#1 of 4 in Little Bay
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richie's on the Beach
Richie's on the Beach
#2 of 4 in Little Bay
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little Bay Cabins
Little Bay Cabins
#1 of 4 in Little Bay
185 reviews
0 mi away
Sandy's By The Sea
Sandy's By The Sea
#1 of 1 in Little Bay
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Cottage Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cottage Jamaica

Address: Main Street, Little Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Little Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Little Bay
Price Range: $118 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Cottage is equipped to provide you with a homey, comfortable experience while on your relaxing dream vacation in Little Bay, Jamaica. The cottage boasts four bedroom suites - The Orchid Room and The Ackee Room upstairs and The Garden View Room and The Hibiscus Room downstairs. Each of these rooms has their own large, adjoined en-suite bathrooms. Each room also has a luxurious queen-sized bed, perfect for resting before another exciting day on the island. The Hibiscus Room however, has both a queen-sized bed and a twin-sized bed. Located on one of the most desired vacation properties on the island, Coral Cottage is just steps from the ocean where you can swim, snorkel, and sunbathe. The Cottage also provides a private observation deck where visitors can sunbathe in private while enjoying a stunning view of the ocean in one direction and the spectacular peaks of the mountains in the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral Cottage Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing