We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 4 Axbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at the hotel, with a twin and a double. We asked for adjacent rooms and were pleased to get them. The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable. The bath was hot, very, hot (not often the case in some hotels). Location was ideal for our long weekend, and the breakfast filling and cooked to order. Parking is a few yards away and pay and display, but not expensive. I will certainly stay again. One thing to note, it is a very old building, which adds to its charm, but lots of stairs might rule out the infirm. Not the hotels fault, but worth noting!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you colin f for your lovely review following your recent stay with us and I'm delighted to read we met your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay.

We really appreciate positive feedback and as always I have passed it on to the rest of the team here.

We look forward to your return visit!

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    118
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
72
255
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A good hotel. Staff were friendly and welcoming and showed us to our room on arrival. Room 9 was large and clean, with a modern feel. Bed was very good. The bar area was modern and cosy with open fire and complimentary marshmallows to toast. The lounge area was large. The restaurant food was very excellent quality, service good, area was bujou and ideal for romantic meal or familly occassion. The menu choice was limited but quality made up for it. Wasn't your average pub grub place

Location was good. There was a free carpark a few mins walk away. Cheddar village was 2
Miles away and Wells about 6. Axbridge very quiet and peaceful.

On the downsides (and these were minor really in comparison to overall). The wifi throughout the
Bar areas and bed room did not work for either of us. In comparison the wifi in the lamb pub next door worked with ease.

Our room was at the back over the kitchen so had the hum of the extractor fan from early in the morning till about 11pm ish

The continental breakfast (£5.50) was disappointing for the price. The croissants although we're freshly cooked were uncooked and soggy, The full English was £7.50. We didn't have this. However a Tea room nearby did the same for about £4.

The tv in the room did not have many of the freeview channels working (no bbc for example) and those that did work often froze relying on us changing channel and back for it to work

In fairness we did not complain about either of these but if we had I am sure the staff would have done all possible to remedy these things where possible

Overall a worthwhile visit ( I would go back) and great place to relax and unwind

Room Tip: Ask for room near front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickmacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you Nickmacey for taking the time to review the Oak House following your recent stay.

Thank you for the lovely compliment about our service. We do pride ourselves on it so it is nice to hear you were well looked after!

Our cosy lounge is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a day exploring the area and I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant.

I'm sorry to hear breakfast was not to your liking and I have passed your valued feedback onto our Head Chef. It is also a great shame you did not let us know about your issues with the television and wifi. We relish the opportunity to discuss experiences directly with our guests during their time with us, especially if things are ever not as expected so we have the opportunity to rectify things immediately.

Once again thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food was great, not a massive menu but a reasonable choice and our party of 8 all rated their meals very highly. Chicken Wellington was especially good.
It was very busy on a Saturday night, but the atmosphere is more like a Hotel Dining Room than the Restaurant it would like to be. Staff were very good until 11:30 when they desperately wanted to clear the restaurant and lounge to appease the hotel guests upstairs, this wasn't handled especially well. I could understand why this is necessary, the lounge is noisy but there is no attempt to control the noise, and we came away feeling a little short-changed.
Food was the highlight, but this is more a venue for couples than a party.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Markies57,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Oak House on TripAdvisor!

I have passed on your kind feedback onto the kitchen team who were thrilled to receive it. I apologise that you felt let down by the atmosphere, it does vary from night to night depending on the guests who are dining with us. I am personally looking into the issues you have mentioned as we all pride ourselves on the service we offer at the Oak House and I appreciate you bringing them to my attention.

I do very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed with my daughter overnight in a comfortable and spotlessly clean room with a newly refurbished spacious bathroom. The hotel is situated in a medieval square amongst beautiful architecture in a quiet village at the foot of the Mendip Hills. Our room was at the rear of the building, not overlooking the square but with a reasonable view of the village houses. As it was one of the bleakest days of the year and freezing cold outside, there was little evidence of local tourism, though we did meet the school run on exiting the village the next morning!

The staff, all young and female couldn't have been more helpful offering exemplary service both at the reception and in the restaurant. The food offered more promise on the menu than in actuality and was relatively expensive. It was definitely better than average though in a typical country pub and influenced my choice of overnight stay, as we didn't have to drive miles from our accommodation to find something reasonable to eat. However, given that this was a Tuesday evening on a truly dismal wintery day, with few signs of life anywhere else, the restaurant's atmosphere was warm and welcoming and we were not the only diners.

Well done Oak House for exceptional service and value for money. We will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tordatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you Tordatraveller for your lovely review of the Oak House.

I was so happy to read that we met your expectations and I have passed on your kind words to the great team I have here. The front of house staff, along with the rest of the team always try their hardest to deliver good honest customer service at all times.

I have also passed your feedback onto Newstead and the rest of his kitchen team. It's great to read that you found our restaurant's atmosphere warm and welcoming!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a late Valentines meal and overnight stay and how impressed were we..?!?

We stayed in room 3 which has a double aspect view of both the Town Hall and the Square looking up towards the High Street. Check out the sunset over the High Street - fabulous!

The food was excellent as was the service and all the staff - nothing was too much trouble for them. Thanks go to Hannah for a walk back down memory lane with her folder of old photographs and menus from the times when a chilled fruit juice was the starter of the day! How times and menu's have changed....!

We'll definitely be back again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you Stephen C for you lovely review!

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also your dining experience in the restaurant. I have passed your kind feedback onto the team who were thrilled with the praise!

The scrapbook is a fantastic, priceless piece of work put together by the owner from the 60's/70's and it is highly treasured! It was a pleasure to meet you and I have noted that you have already booked again for December!

We all look forward to seeing you then, if not before!

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pencoed, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Travelled as a group of 10, driving up from Bridgend, South Wales. Stayed in hotel before taking an early morning flight from Bristol Aiport. Hotel is in a nice location, quite close to Cheddar Gorge. Rooms were quaint with nice modern bathrooms, no complaints there. Checking in was nice and simple and the lady was very friendly and helpful. No comment about the breakfast as we were leaving too early in the morning to have any. We had a walk around the small town of Axbridge before returning to the market square to have a few drinks in the local pub (the Lamb). We had a very good afternoon, chatting with some locals and great bar staff/owner. We were told in the pub that the Oak House only just missed out on a Michelin star and so we were all looking forward to a treat that evening. We had been asked a week in advance what we wanted to choose off the menu to avoid disappointment however disappointment was the order of the day. None of the group said that the meal was worth the money (average £75 per couple), some actually complained and one asked not to be charged. The icing on the cake came with several people ordering the cheese platter to finish , which to be fair was very good. Anyway, we asked if we could purchase a bottle of port to go with the cheese and was told no, because they only had a half bottle left. I did not leave a tip.Having read other reviews, I am prepared to think that we were just unlucky and maybe it was chef's night off or a party of 10 is too many. Would we go there again, certainly not for the food alone...we would stay in the rooms and have some pub grub across the road in the Lamb. The overall rating for the hotel is very good, its just a pity that the food wasn't upto it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Clive T,

Thank you for talking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

It’s great to read that enjoyed rooms and their amenities as well as the service from the staff.
I am naturally disappointed to read of your restaurant experience. Having personally been there on the evening I am a little confused about your comments. One member of your party did mention that her steak was a little under cooked; however this was rectified extremely quickly. I am sorry this meal had such a heavy impact on the rest of your evening. I also apologise that we could not sell you a whole bottle of port when we only had half a bottle left, although glasses were offered for the whole of your party from all of our varieties of Port. I am sorry you did not leave with the positive impression others have related on Trip TripAdvisor.
I hope you all enjoyed your holiday in Benidorm!

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We ate here recently on the early bird menu
What superb value that was
The meal was fantastic we only had two courses but could not have eaten any more
On arrival we had drinks by the open fire whilst selecting from the menu
The service throughout was great - fun but always professional
Look forward to seeing you all again soon...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerset01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you Somerset01 for your lovely review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience in the restaurant. Being awarded 2 AA rosettes is something we are very proud of, so it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I have passed on your kind comments to our kitchen and front of house teams who were thrilled to read it!

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axbridge
3.1 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
7.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,002 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
0.3 mi away
Compton House
Compton House
#2 of 4 in Axbridge
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reservoir View Motel
Reservoir View Motel
#1 of 1 in Axbridge
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms

Property: The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Address: The Square, Axbridge BS26 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Axbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Axbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful medieval town of Axbridge in Somerset less than two miles from Cheddar Gorge and just 20 minutes from Bristol airport, the Oak House is a delightful hotel and restaurant which is stylish, attractive and welcoming. Whether you want lunch or a delicious dinner, the menu offers excellent choice, aiming for locally sourced produce and regular new dishes to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak House Restaurant With Rooms Axbridge, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing