We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 4 Axbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington Tyne wear
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at The Oak house for the carnivals in November, I just could not fault anything at all, we had a great welcome after travelling from the North East, Rooms were so comfortable, And Breakfasts were superb,
Shame i suffered with back problem but everybody was so helpful,
looking forward to staying again,,
I have stayed in a couple of hotels close by previosly but this wins hands down..
Atmosphere Brilliant..
well worth a visit if you are in Somerset.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Robert H!

It's always great to hear that our guests had a brilliant stay at the Oak House. I will be passing your kind comments onto all the team members who ensured you left with good memories.

We all hope you'll be back soon.

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    109
    36
    18
    7
See reviews for
70
234
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our experience of booking, finding, eating and sleeping at The Oakhouse was exceptionally memorable and one we hope to be repeating during the spring/summer. The room, no.1, was just adorable and very well appointed too. Every need had been considered and equipped, especially in the bathroom which we found to have the best bath towels we've used away from home!! The food in the restaurant was first class, as was the ale and the wine list was good in terms of selection and price. The staff were not only very pleasant but also had a visible rapport with everyone. About the bells...
Although we heard them, as the Oakhouse is situated right next to the church they did not in any way disturb our sleep and did in fact, add to the charm of this location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria1joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear maria1joe,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Oak House.

It's a pleasure to read such enthusiastic comments about the room, food and service. My team were thrilled with your praise as they all take great pride in looking after our guests.

I do hope we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were travelling up to spend some time in Bath and after finding nowhere available to stay, we ended up booking at the Oak House. We had no idea about the town, the hotel or anything but the reviews seemed great and we had a hire car so getting to Bath was fine.

We were wrapped with the Oak House. The room was really comfortable and warm. The bed was great, bathroom was brand new with a great shower and the staff were really friendly. The restaurant food was good but quite expensive so we only ate there one night. The only other place you could have dinner (or so we found) was the local pub which was pretty good but they don't serve food on Sunday night.

The town itself is great, old and cosy with a cool medieval church looking down over it. We were there when they had a farmers market in the square on the saturday morning too.

We really enjoyed our time in Axbridge and I highly recommend checking out the Oak House. We've been travelling now for 10 months around the world and the rooms are the best value we've found on our travels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrnerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear byrnerobbie,

I was so happy to read your comments following your stay and many thanks for taking the time to do this.

I'm thrilled that you got to stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms and that you found them warm, comfortable and such good value.

Please do come back and visit us once again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

we were attending a wedding nearby so booked in for bed and breakfast. The staff were very accommodating giving us a family room and even an early check in as the wedding was early afternoon. The room was bright, clean and comfortable with teas and coffees, toiletries and plenty of towels, however, I would have liked there to have been some bottles of water. The breakfast was amazing! we all had the full english and it was cooked to order. The girl on the reception when we checked out was very friendly! Parking was ok for us. You can park on the square 6pm until 9am and when it is time to move your car there is a car park literally one minute away! The square was pretty flooded when we stayed but no problems with the oakhouse or the car parks. Would recommend for a quiet evening away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you myalily for taking the time to write such a delightful review the Oak House!

I was very happy to read your feedback about your experiences in the Oak House and how comfortable and happy you were with the service and surroundings we provide.

We were so very lucky with the floods, although I was a little nervous about the well in the lounge filling up too much, however we did elude that this time!

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very comfortable hotel with rooms overlooking Axbridge village square. Parking has been a bit of a problem although I drive a large van. Breakfast good with a variety of cereals,fruit juices,continental and full english (they even do a veggi full english). The restaurant does some great food for evening meals having a traditional as well as a la carte menus, bit expensive though, There is the Lamb Inn opposite which does more pub style food and seems to be the local meeting place.

Room Tip: Room 3 or 2have good views over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Chris T,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to your liking.

Hopefully next time you're here it will be for pleasure rather than work!

I look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This Is the place to eat within the area.
Imaginative menu using seasonal ingredients.
Service is always excellent!
Living locally I haven't stayed but rooms are highly rated by visitors commenting when speaking to staff & other diners.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taff06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Taff06,

Many thanks for your valued feedback. Reading such a great report on our food and services is always a pleasure.

Next time you're at the Oak House please let me know and I can personally show you some of the rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Oak House for one night, Weds 31 Oct 2012, and we were delighted with the establishment. Our room was comfortable and well appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, leather sofa and a bathroom that was clean, sparkling and modern. We dined in the restaurant, I had the venison and my wife had the lamb shank, we shared a cheese board. The food was wonderful! In the morning we had the full English breakfast, which again was of the highest quality. We will definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Our room, room 9 had an enclosed section running from floor to ceiling which housed the trunking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Manager at The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you CornwallKernow, for your lovely review of the Oak House.

Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant - the kitchen have just been awarded 2 AA Rosettes for their food!!

It is always very rewarding to read reviews like this and I have passed your kind words to the team who will enjoy them with great pride.

I look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Hannah Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axbridge
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Manor House B&B
Old Manor House B&B
#1 of 1 in Cross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms

Property: The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Address: The Square, Axbridge BS26 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Axbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Axbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful medieval town of Axbridge in Somerset less than two miles from Cheddar Gorge and just 20 minutes from Bristol airport, the Oak House is a delightful hotel and restaurant which is stylish, attractive and welcoming. Whether you want lunch or a delicious dinner, the menu offers excellent choice, aiming for locally sourced produce and regular new dishes to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak House Restaurant With Rooms Axbridge, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing