We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service, average food”

The Dining Room at The Oak House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dining Room at The Oak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Axbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slow service, average food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We came here with some friends for Sunday lunch. Starters were nice but main courses were a little disappointing. Massive portions but meat quite tough and veg overcooked. There appeared to only be 2 staff in the place and therefore we were sat waiting for a good while. Could be lovely but didn't quite hit the spot.

Helpful?
Thank lovelyladyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    34
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering Menu, Delicious Too!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My partner & I have eaten here several times over the last year and have not been disappointed! The menu is mouthwatering, so it is pleasant to be able to sit in comfort with a pre-meal drink and spend time to decide what to eat! When it has arrived we have not been disappointed! Excellent friendly service too. It is good to know that there is a restaurant of this standard local to us and I look forward to my next visit - hopefully this month!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueClarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot et Garonne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Super food and friendly service”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked this restaurant for Christmas Day. I was expecting the usual mass produced Christmas menu and was pleasantly surprised. Everything is cooked and prepared on the premises and it shows. The setting is a very pretty Somerset village, and the venue is a traditional British pub. However there were a few surprises in the that the barman, Scott, really knew his wines and was pleased to share his knowledge. Hannah and Lewis were serving at table and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The fish starter was inventive and creative, the traditional turkey dinner had perfectly cooked veg and potatoes that were crispy on the outside, fluffy inside - perfect. The desert (which I don't normally eat) was the malt tart with a sorbet, very well matched because the sweetness of the tart was offset with sharp, fruitiness of the sorbet. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“could do better”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

very good food but I am not a 5 year old child. two mouthfuls and it was gone. The portions were tiny and the main dish came with one whole carrot as the vegetable side. No potatoes in any form. I left very hungry any given the cost of the bill expected a lot more

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local brilliance”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

we visited The Oakhouse on a Thursday evening to try out our local restaurant. We had Scallops and soup for our starters, then venison and steak for main course. The food was cooked to perfection, venison was outstanding, and the presentation certainly matched the michelin star restaurants we have visited over the past few years. The service was very relaxed and professional, a welcoming environment and the head chef, Newstead was a very humble chef who welcomed our feedback. We will certainly make this a regular place to visit and would like to support their nomination into the South West Chef competition in 2014. Certainly a one to watch!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank JillBassett9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room at The Oak House also viewed

 
Axbridge, Somerset
Cheddar, Somerset
 

Been to The Dining Room at The Oak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing