We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place for tennis on St Martin!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Tennis Academy

American Tennis Academy
Book In Advance
$34.05*
and up
St Martin Daytime Tennis Court Rental
Ranked #20 of 63 things to do in Saint-Martin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: American Tennis Academy is a complete tennis facility located on the French side of St. Martin. We offer tennis training programs for Juniors and Adults of all skill levels as well as tennis vacation packages, tennis lessons, tennis clinics and court rentals. For tennis lessons with Oliver it's best to reserve in advance. We can also set up games for tennis players who are on vacation on St. Martin. 2 lighted tennis courts, open 7/7, Snack Lounge with Wifi access as well as an Outlet store where you can find the top brands at great prices.
Westborough, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great place for tennis on St Martin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

By chance we stayed right up the street from ATA. Oliver and Jennifer, the owners, are fantastic, and so is their facility. Oliver puts his heart and soul into lessons, and is able to quickly identify and communicate your weak points. Jennifer is also an excellent player, and both of them will work to arrange hitting sessions or matches with local players, within to your schedule. If you're looking to keep your game toned up, or just stay in shape during your time in SM, this is the place! The location is convenient to Pinel island, Orient beach, and Grand Case, but can be reached quickly by car from any point on the island.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
laurel, MS
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Improved my game a LOT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Thanks to Oliver for his instruction at this well-kept and well-appointed facility in St. Martin. Oliver's instruction, in his memorable French accent, will remain in my brain when I sadly leave this beautiful oasis of a place. Oliver is demanding and insistent and he does not just try to get through the lesson and earn his pay. Instead, he takes pride in the technical skills he is able to pass along in even a couple of hour-long lessons. Constantly correcting and encouraging, he is a master coach. Perhaps his best feature is his lovely wife Jennifer, who is careful and thorough about managing the facility and charming the guests. I want to bring all my tennis friends back for a week or two! (but then again, do I really want them to know the Oliver technique so they can beat me at tennis -- nah!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank olemissgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect Tennis Facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great facility, great staff !! The co-owner, Jennifer, was very accommodating and catered to our every need. Her and husband collectively are fluent in French, English, Spanish, Italian, Dutch. The academy offers everything you would expect from a professional tennis club...In addition to the excellent courts, they offer refreshments, snacks, coffee. There is also an excellent sports boutique offering an array of tennis clothes, beach clothes and tennis equipment. They offer great hourly rates and weekly discounted rates, and there are also racquets to rent. The location is also very accessible being 3-4min drive away from Grand Case. This is the only real tennis facility on the island. Will definitely go back when we return to St-Martin.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val d'Or, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tennis great people !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had such an amazing time at the academy.
Oliver and Jen are great host.
We will see them again next year for sure.
Thank you !!!

From Club Carrefour Tennis de Val-d'Or, Canada
Jean-Guy et Christine

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ksept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable tennis experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Recently spent a very pleasant week on the French side of this beautiful island. As an avid tennis player traveling with a group which included no other tennis players and staying in a hotel with no tennis facilities, I engaged our hotel"s Concierge to arrange an hour "hitting lesson". My experience at ATA was most enjoyable. Played there on four occasions. Very nice facility that is easily accessible. Great courts with lights. Good proshop for basic tennis gear and comfortable area for relaxing. The best part is the couple that owns the club. Most pleasant folks who do a first class job for you.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Tennis Academy also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Maho, Sint Maarten
 

Been to American Tennis Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing