We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No matter what still #1 place for Lunch in St. Martin/St. Maarten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Ranked #96 of 250 Restaurants in Saint-Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
201 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“No matter what still #1 place for Lunch in St. Martin/St. Maarten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had not been for lunch in a few months and we decided to treat our selves this past Saturday.
Indeed this place is always a treat. Besides the beautiful casual setting of the tables around the cellar there is not competition when it comes to a gourmet french lunch.

If food and wine is your thing you cannot leave the island without coming hear for lunch. The are opening also at the Blue Mall in Cupecoy one of theses days!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    15
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Been to all the top restaurants in SXM: this is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife, kids, and I ate at Tatevin, Bistro Caraib, and Oyster Pond, which were good, but Bacchus was great. So good that we went back a second time, which violated my #1 rule when on vacation. Only locals dine there, which gives Bahccus a unique feel. The first day I had the fish with truffles... my wife had the same dish the second day. I would skip dessert, which left much to be desired.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bristons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Food was good, a unique experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

While staying at the L’Esplanade in St. Martin (French side) we ate lunch at Bacchus. It is located behind the US Market on the road that goes to Orient Beach. Bacchus is also a very exquisite wine cellar, and has many freshly baked pastries. The lunch was very, very good… and also very, very expensive. When my wife and I saw the prices on the menu, we decided to split a salad ($24 USD) and one entrée ($31 USD).
The setting within Bacchus is very unique and contemporary/modern, and it was also a very unique experience. I have no complaints, and glad we did it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MB_and_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Located behind US Market one of the best for Lunch in St.Martin.A little bit pricy but the food and pastry is very good.You can meet there a lot of business people and celebrities.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Foodies died and gone to heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

During our stay in St. Martin we had lunch at Bacchus twice and bought wine and cheese from the deli. One word for all of it....divine. Period. The wine we bought was a spectacular St. Emilion for a great price, the cheeses were awesome. So now, let's talk about lunch. OMG - that was all I could say after lunch - both times! The first time we had specials, the duo of asparagus appetizer - wonderful, the tuna "burger" - stunning. This dish was a very generous plump fresh tuna patty (for lack of a better word), beautifully seasoned and seared, on a homemade bun topped with foie gras. Carmelized onions, seasoned and in a shot glass, lettuce, a trio of tomatoes (inlcluding komato noir, I'm guessing on this spelling), pancetta and hand cut fries done in duck fat were on the side. Is this a burger you've ever seen in your life??? We also had chicken stuffed with black truffles with mashed potatoes over truffles, mushrooms and almonds in a sauce so delicious - I can't remember, but believe me, it was fantastic. The second time we had lunch we decided to order off the regular menu. We had the bone marrow appetizer that was marvelous - our preference would have been for the toasts to be a little less browned, but were still delicious. We had duck confit topped with foie gras and beef filet topped with foie gras - both were stupendous. We did not want to have a bottle of wine so the sommelier chose glasses that would complement each dish and her choices were spectacular.

We found Bacchus on TripAdvisor prior to our trip and are so glad we did. It is surprisingly tucked into the industrial area of Hope Estate behind the US Market, but we found it fairly easily. This is the place to come if you want to have food to rival a Michelin star restaurant. We have eaten at a few in the world and the quality here is right up there. This is one of the more pricey restaurants in the Grand Case area, but it is well worth it. OMG, that's all I have to say.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Go6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing