We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour experience on the Party Bus!”

Twin Island Excursions
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.19*
and up
St Maarten Shore Excursion: Maho Beach and Lucas Bay Sightseeing
Ranked #31 of 124 Tours in Sint Maarten
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We cater to all your island tour and transfer needs be it by mini van, bus, coach, SUV or private sedan. All services can be customized to suit your requirements.
Cherokee Village
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent tour experience on the Party Bus!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I booked a tour with Twin Islands Excursions for our port stop in St. Maarten on January 28, 2013. The tour was "Sightseeing, Shopping and Sand". We were met by the friendliest tour guide! Jose (pronounced Joe-Say) met us with a hug and a huge smile. After the rest of the tourists joined us, Jose told us that his bus is called "The Party Bus" and thus began our excellent tour experience! As we drove through the Dutch side of the island over to the French side (St. Martin), Jose told many interesting stories about the history of the island, pointed out many beautiful and interesting sights and had lots of stories about some of the people on the island.
When we reached Marigot the shopping portion of our tour began. The most important part of that stop was the shop that allows anyone to make a free 2 minute call to anywhere. It was very nice to be able to speak with our son/business partner since we thought we would only be able to correspond by email. When I asked the clerk about making a call and told him that Jose recommended his shop, his response was "The Party bus?" It appears that many people on the island know and like Jose!
After the shopping portion of the tour, Jose asked how many people on the bus wanted to go to the beach and how many wanted to continue shopping. My husband and I were the only ones that wanted to go to the beach. Jose asked us if it would be OK to leave us at the beach for an hour and a half to two hours while he took the rest of the group back to the shopping area on the Dutch side. We thought that was a great idea!
He took us to Orient Beach and introduced us to some of his friends at one of the bars on the beach where you can also rent chairs/umbrella. Two chairs and an umbrella right where the sand met the water were ours for $7.00 with free drinks! Orient Beach was gorgeous! We had a wonderful time there and are looking at places to rent for a week next year!
About 90 minutes later Jose came and picked us up. Since we were now the only people on the bus we had Jose the tour guide all to ourselves. During the drive over earlier during the day, he pointed out all the iguanas in the top of the trees and bushes. My husband asked if we could stop to see one up close. Jose then took us to a construction site for a future wildlife refuge. My husband calls it "the iguana farm" now because there were lots of them there and you can walk right up to them. Very exciting!
We had a wonderful time on St. Martin/St. Maarten thanks in large part to Jose and "The Party Bus"!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank peabody78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    27
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific tour”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were fortunate, through referral from Liberty Inn, to find a comfortable, pleasant tour around St. Maarten. Our guide, Oliver was fun and most informative. Would recommend this company any time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank esormot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evergreen, colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service for Island Fun”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our group of eight was fortunate to hook up with Nel on our first day in St. Maarten. He filled all of our transportation needs, as well as coached us on attractions, restaurants, etc. He was always cheerful and fun, and we came to rely on his prompt service. Call Twin Island Excursions to find Nel...he'll take good care of you!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank annienjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Boardwalk/Airport custom trip!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I booked with Twin Island Excursions as transportation not as an actual tour. We had a cruise on the RCCL “Allure of the Seas” arriving in St. Maarten on January 24, 2013. We arranged for transportation from the ship to the Boardwalk/Beach area. This is a 5 minute ride. We stayed their two hours then went to the Princess Juliana Airport at the Sunset Beach Bar. This is a special airport where the planes fly over a small stretch of beach, a small two lane road and then the airport fence and runway. The planes fly right over you when they land. When they take off and you can get next to the fence or on the beach and feel the jet blast. See you tube for more about the airport.

We shopped and had fun for two hours at the Boardwalk area. Oliver then picked us up at the same meeting place and then we went to the airport and arrived in about 30 minutes. Oliver was a great driver and explained about the Island while going to and from the airport. After spending three hours at the airport beach area, Oliver then took us back to the ship in about 30 minutes, all at a reasonable price. They did an excellent job with the van transportation. They advised us when traffic may be bad on the Island and how much time to allow to get back to the ship on time. Whatever custom island adventure you have in mind, I am sure that they can make it happen. Email or call them, they were very helpful in advance of our trip. Twin Island did an exceptional job from start to finish. I can’t recommend these guys enough!

TIME
Keep in mind when booking with Twin Island that they go by local time. This is one hour ahead of ship or Eastern Standard Time (I think most ships stay on Eastern Time). So booking a 9:30am time for departure from the port means 8:30am ship time! Check with them to make sure about booking times.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeSalaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very good excursion to discover St-Martin, ask for Oliver he is very kind and answered all of our questions! Thanks!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin Island Excursions also viewed

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Twin Island Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing