We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucius with Twin Island Tour was Wonderful!”

Twin Island Excursions
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.19*
and up
St Maarten Shore Excursion: Maho Beach and Lucas Bay Sightseeing
Ranked #32 of 124 Tours in Sint Maarten
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We cater to all your island tour and transfer needs be it by mini van, bus, coach, SUV or private sedan. All services can be customized to suit your requirements.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lucius with Twin Island Tour was Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We docked in St. Maarten on Super Tuesday, March 6, 2012, on a Royal Caribbean cruise. We went on the twin island tour with three adults and two elderly parents, while our teenagers and one parent went out on a snorkel/sail tour. Lucius, our guide, made the tour very informative and enjoyable. He was a very skillful driver on the tricky island roads! He stopped at a lookout/promontory uphill from the power plant which gave us a panoramic view of the south side of the island. He took us to Maho beach where we could touch the underside of the jets approaching the St. Maarten International Airport. Lucius pointed out statues and gave us the back stories. He gave us a real feel for the history and contemporary differences of the "two islands." Lucius pointed us to a wonderful, authentic bakery in St. Martin (Sarafin?) where we had a dellightful lunch of pastry and quiche. He found ideal photo spots and was happy to stop the van so we could take photos. The tour and Lucius were worth our money.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    27
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING TOUR GUIDE”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Lloyd Euwen was our tour guide. He was terrific. Very knowledgeable and well spoken. A scholar and historian about the islands. You could ask him about anything, and you would receive a clear and well thought out answer. He was a safe and attentive driver in a land of crazy drivers. He had a good supply of beverages for us in the van as it was a hot day. Every tour should be this outstanding. Find him under Twin Island Excursions with a website under the same name (run together as one word with a .com at the end.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magnificent tour & review of the 2 Islands”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is the guy to view the Islands with for a great time.

Lloyd is the tour operator and knows both islands very well. I had contacted Lloyd in advance after other reviews. He had the closest tour to what we wanted and made a slight change to his normal tour to accomodate us.

The day was our best on the cruise, we saw all of the highlights of both sides of St Maarten/Sint Martin.

I will use Lloyd each time I go back to St Maarten.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hummer_in_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Excursion and Great value!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

If you are visiting St Maarten and considering a tour of the island, I would highly recommend using Twin Island Excursions. We decided to book an excursion with this company after reading reviews on TripAdvisor.com and we are so happy we did. The level of service provided by this company was unparalleled. Julian always responded to my emails in a timely fashion which made our booking choice a breeze.

We visited the island on Feb 15, 2012, and took the 6-hour “Sightseeing Sand & Planes” excursion (tour of both French and Dutch sides of the island). Our fantastic tour guide was named Lloyd who was born and raised on the island. As such, Lloyd was quite knowledgeable of the history of the island including recent events and explained how each side of the island interacts with its respective country (The Netherlands/France). Throughout the tour Lloyd was extremely polite and had a very good rapport with other tour guides and locals.
Thanks Lloyd for the awesome tour. We would like to come back to St Maarten in the future. This time it will be for more than one day!

Tip: For those of you who love the beach and want to maximize your time at the lovely Orient Beach I would suggest you bring a lunch. The restaurants on the beach are excellent but like any sit down restaurants it does take a chunk of your time. Lloyd was very flexible and we could have stayed longer but we wanted to see the rest of the island.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ironmanpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

After reading the positive reviews here I chose Twin Island Excursions for our island tour in St. Martin and we were glad we did! Lloyd, our driver, was fantastic: personable, accommodating and knowledgeable, with a clean and comfortable vehicle. The tour was one of the best we've had on any island and we'd recommend Twin Island Excursions wholeheartedly. Chilling out at the beach bar on Maho Beach watching the planes land was a highlight of our day and Lloyd offered to drop any of us off at a beach on the way back or take us right back to the ship. Thanks, Lloyd, for a great day in St. Maarten/St. Martin!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewater_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin Island Excursions also viewed

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Twin Island Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing