We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, and very overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucky Stables

Lucky Stables
Ranked #52 of 121 Tours in Sint Maarten
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK, and very overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I have now done similar horseback trail rides in five different places, including in St. Maarten at Lucky Stables. These are pretty standard affairs - slow-moving horses that stick to the trail. Nice and relaxing, great views, all around fun. The ride at Lucky Stables was definitely the worst experience we've had. It wasn't bad, but it also wasn't good. The trail ride was very short and did not cover much distance. We spent more time than I would have liked just sitting there while our tour guide took our pictures. The views were nice, but they weren't anything better than we had at our hotel or on various other parts of the island. At the end, we got to ride the horses into the ocean, which actually was very unique and enjoyable. The price was definitely way too high - we paid $65 per person for an hour long ride. That's much higher than we paid in Aruba or the Dominican Republic, and in each of those trips we got to see a lot of unique scenery that wasn't really available anywhere else on those islands. If you are hellbent on riding horses, this isn't a bad little excursion, but you can spend $65 better elsewhere on St. Maarten.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    32
    10
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was the highlight of my vacation. A wonderful trail ride and opportunity to walk on the beach and in the water with the horses. My guide Jay was fabulous!! He was very personable and reassuring. After we crested the hills in the mountain overlooking the ocean, he talked to me about the local food and things to do. He sensed I was a bit nervous and did his best to make me feel at ease. I will definitely come back and hopefully ride with Jay again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great ride and great guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We booked this horseback ride separate from our cruise ship and it was the same ride at a cheaper rate! we had a party of 7, and also had another 6 that came along to play in the water, snorkel, eat at the food stand, and sit on the beach while we were riding. there were goats, a mini horse, ducks, and horses just wandering around for you to pet and enjoy. our guide, Steve was great, and very patient! lol. Its not fancy, but they care for the animals and that is what counts.There are facilities to shower and change in also, a bit rustic, but they do the job! would highly recommend this facility!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ksilva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Horseback ride of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The people were so kind, caring and down to earth. The horses were very well mannered and well cared for. The scenery...breathtaking.

Wear gymshoes and pants/capris. We put on a bathing suit underneath and brought shorts to change after. Get there a half hour early. The ride is an hour and a half. Plan a half hour after for buying their $20 DVD of all the pics, changing, etc.

You get a free alcoholic, or non alcoholic drink before the ride, and a bottled water during the ride. At the end of an incredible, peaceful, informative ride, you enter the Carribean water on the back of your horse for a swim to cool them down. Riding on their backs while they swam was worth the entire cost. Surreal!

We came in off the Oasis Cruise Ship, and I was a worried mom that we would miss the boat not taking one of their excursions. Have no fear. We had time to shop after.

Visit their website for location, etc. It truly was an experience of a lifetime!
http://www.luckystables.shoreadventures.net/

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank travelingkym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Stables also viewed

Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Pointe Blanche, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Lucky Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing