We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love Hilma” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilmas Windsor Castle

Hilmas Windsor Castle
Ranked #120 of 334 Restaurants in Sint Maarten
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I love Hilma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Hilma has a 4 seat trailer-restaurant on airport road. She makes very good food - Johnnycake sandwiches, soup, fried chicken, daily special meals (often fish and salad), etc. - from 9 until about 3. She is a wonderful, sweet person, and has an 'interesting' cast of local and visiting characters every day. A great place to start the day or get some food to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryEls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local food at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

When I travel, I try to experience the local food, culture and people. This little food joint provided me with all the above. The food is all prepared and cooked by Hilma.

You need to get the salt fish with Johnny Cakes and don't forget to add Hilma's homemade hot sauce. It will blow your mind! The fried chicken is also good. I heard from other locals that Hilma's soups are just as great. Hilma makes a different soup every day.

We went there twice during our 1 week vacation for lunch (closes at 3 pm). Hilma is just so nice and you can spend an hour with her just chatting.

This food joint is a modest trailer in busy Simpson's Bay on Airport Road, right beside the RBC bank (about 20 yards from Paradise Car Rental).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
237 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“This place has sou!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The opportunity that most vacationers miss when they come to St. Maarten is to experience true local flavors and history. Johnny Cakes and Salt fish has sustained this the Caribbean for centuries and no person serves them up better than Hilma. I would never miss having her soups. Oxtail, lambs tail, chicken…it doesn’t matter as they are all great. St. Marti is called “The Friendly Island.” Most residents are really not that friendly but Hilma is a gem!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BoilerDaveNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Hilmas is a place you should not miss. Always ask what her soup is, you might think you don't like oxtail soup but one taste of Hilmas & that will change your mind. Johnny cakes with several different choices, my husband liked the salted fish I had the pulled chicken, & her fried chicken, yum! Never ordered anything I haven't totally enjoyed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss the local flavor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Don't miss a chance to go to Hilma's Windsor Castle. It is a great local stop with good food and great people. We are so grateful that our friends introduced us to this delightful person, (Hilma), and her local cuisine. Her food is made fresh daily. I loved the Smoked salmon Johnny Cakes, and my husband enjoyed the Saltfish patty. Many other things we didn't try but we will when we go back.
Order a Dutch coffee!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zeebee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilmas Windsor Castle also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Quartier D'Orleans, Saint-Martin
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Hilmas Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing