We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in St. Martin!”

Hilmas Windsor Castle
Ranked #115 of 337 Restaurants in Sint Maarten
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best food in St. Martin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you miss this place, you've wasted your trip. The outward appearance of this establishment would suggest an abandoned trailer inhabited by vagrants, but assuredly there is a haut-cuisine kitchen tucked away in the rear. Instead of the local Johnny cakes we had the special: curried chicken with rice and lentils, salad with fresh avocado, and crispy fried plantains. For $8 a plate, you can't get a better meal on the island - do not miss Hilma's.

Hilma is awesome, and I wish her many years of continued success.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great Local Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

On my recent trip to St. Maarten I visited Hilmas based on the reviews on tripadvisor. Great experience. Johnny cakes with smoke herring was delicious. What made this place stand for me besides the food was Hilmas. She was so delightful and sweet. Made the experience wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alisha7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great quick food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

we make the windsor castle a stop for lunch evertime we are in st. maarten the food and drinks will not break your bank. the food is island style. it is fresh, tasty, and the conversation with Hilma is second to none. get there before 3pm because that is closing time, breakfast and lunch are both served. th castle is located on the main road in Simpson Bay beside a bank across street from mailbox place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip20Taker15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Sint Maartin Special Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

A repeat visit. We had Johnny Cakes with smoked fish. My wife had smoked herring and I had smoked salmon. Both wonderful. We had a delightful chat with Hilma. Her hours are 8:00 to 3:00 Mon-Sat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ethatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“awesome little spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have seen this place on prior visits and were always skeptical. This time, we decided to try it and this will now be a place we visit on every trip. We had the stewed chicken and it was terrific. Hilma was busy the whole time, but got to all the patrons quickly and even though she was by herself, the meal came out really quick and was hot and fresh. Some of the big establishments might want to take a lesson from a true professional and see how customers are looked after and made to feel very comfortable, even when it's obvious that it is their first time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilmas Windsor Castle also viewed

Quartier D'Orleans, Saint-Martin
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Hilmas Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing