We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!”

Bodega Catena Zapata
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$285.00*
and up
Catena Zapata Wine Tour from Mendoza
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Agrelo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family winery with over 100 years of experience growing Malbec in Mendoza. From father to son, brother to sister, we have passed on the tradition of tending vines and winemaking Our mission is to make profound and unforgettable wines that reflect the special character of each vine within the family's historic vineyards.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We really undestood why Catena's reputation is one of the best wineries of South America.

The place is beautiful, the staff very kind and helpful, the guided tour is an education and final tasting is a real lesson about wine, all of them, excellent.

They don't offer lunch but the visit is a must and should be booked in advance.

Don't miss!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    200
    60
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wines - fantastic ones -”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great wine yard - fantasic wines, great tour - lovely Architecture like an aztek temple - great wine tasting - it costed abit but it was definetly worth it

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrLifeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a disappointing experience in Catena. We missed our tour because we got lost trying to find the winery. When we got there we were completely ignored.
The tasting of 1 wine was expensive(80 pesos) compared to other high end wineries. They just poured the wine and did not even explained anything about it. Not worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive compared with others”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The wines were excellent, the tour was very informative, and the sommelier very knowledgeable. However the tour and tastings seemed very expensive in comparison with other wineries which didn't charge when we bought their wine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ameelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dissapointed compared to Mendel & Achaval Ferrer.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent the morning at Mendel and Achaval Ferrer followed by lunch at Ruca Malen where we had great service, fun and a yummy lunch/wines. At Mendel the lady who gave us the tour was fabulous and didn't charge for 2 wine tastings as we bought some bottles and olive oil. At Achaval Ferrer they didn't charge us at all as we bought 2 bottles, again very friendly service. However at Catena Zapata they were preparing for the US wine buyers visit the following day and it felt more of an office environment were everything was very sterile and impersonable. The girl who gave us the tour got a few things wrong and we didn't find her to be very knowledgeable. Our driver knew more about the wines then she did. We bought 1 bottle but still had to pay for 4 expensive tastings especially considering we tasted the bottom range vs. the top ranges at Mendel and Achaval! For the cost of the tastings we could and should have did we know in time have bought 4 top of the range bottles instead. Very dissapointing indeed as it is a beautiful winery.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SJperth_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Catena Zapata also viewed

 

Been to Bodega Catena Zapata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing