We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice welcome and charming view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Newlyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Harbour View is a very nice BB and Joy made everything she could to make us feel great.
The room was clean and comfortable -we had an amazing view from the bow window, nice details such as shortbreads and milk for the tea in the room.
Very good service for the breakfast, a lot of choice from full english to a large range of cereals and fruits.
Joy was very helpful, she gave us advice of the places to go and gave us a good hand to help us find a dental clinic on easter!

Harbour View is highly recommended, thank you very much for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuzSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy C, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to submit such a glowing review. I too really enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back to visit some time. I hope you got your tooth sorted once and for all. Kind regards Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Harbour View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We arrived early evening and was offered a choice of rooms, which were all clean and comfortable.We stayed for 2 nights and Joy and her partner did everything possible to ensure we were comfortable. Myself and two Sisters had the top floor flat which consisted of a Double bedroom and two single rooms and a good sized Bathroom. We certainly got Value for our Money. We stayed in Newlyn for our Brothers Funeral so did not have the opportunity to see the sights.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Don't waste your money. Uncomfortable beds, not exactly clean - in fact it was quite grotty. Would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy C, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Your review was written at a time when the Guest House was closed, so I cannot trace when it was you stayed with us. I am sorry you did not like the accommodation. We did have one problem double mattress before we closed for the Season, but that has now been replaced.
I would like to have the opportunity to discuss with you what you found dirty or unnacceptable.
I personally oversea all aspects of cleanliness and welcome any comment as to what may need improvement. Generally speaking the reviews are very good - will try harder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We arrived quite late in the evening after tavelling for 9 hours and saw the 'vacancies' sign in the window. Rang the bells, Joy came to greet us and it was no trouble at all for her to put us up for 2 nights. There were only 2 of us but because we wanted a double room Joy gave us the whole top floor which had a double room, a single and a lounge room. We made ourselves at home and had 2 good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. Joy made us feel very welcome and Harbour View was a good introduction to our first ever B&B experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellsie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

ok sorry to say first impression not good, greeted with l will take the money now, dirty room not been cleaned, someones socks left in room, hair in the bed, grit on floor, if l could have found some were else to say l would have at short notice, l would have paid more to have had a much better time, kettle in kitchen well it was disgusting l would not cook eat in there glad to leave that alone.no noise after 11 it says well some one should have told the owners that they are very noisy them selves after eleven at night, and the smell of smoking well that was not good, l have not a good thing to say about this place, if you are thinking of using it on your own head be it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank babsandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycollinson, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

We have come back from a short break at the end of the Season in Ireland to find your review to greet us. It’s the attitude of people like you that are causing the tourism industry locally to die. Newlyn has lost five guest houses in the last 3 years (it’s too hard a living) – do a search on B & B Newlyn and you will see probably me (Harbour View Guest House), The Smugglers and The Paramount Hotel only. You were given a beautiful en-suite double room directly overlooking the harbour with a huge bay window for £50-£55 total per night including an all-you-can-eat breakfast. It was in our own home (which is next door to the Guest House). The other places will probably cost you about £80 a night with no direct views. My helper went back to College on 3rd September and so I have had to do 9 rooms (for mainly 1 or 2 nighters) for 12 days on my own – it nearly killed me. We are closed now until next Easter or Whitsun holiday (if we open at all). So you wouldn’t be able to stay here anyway until then. It is better if guests wih your sort of attitudes stay away from Guesthouses like us and allow those who really want to have a good holiday in Newlyn the chance to in local traditional accommodation without upsetting the owners. I am writing this on behalf of all the other exhausted B&B owners locally: If we don’t get appreciated for the incredibly hard work that we do with practically no freedom for 6 months per year, then I am afraid that it may not be long before there will be nowhere left to stay in Newlyn. Strong words, but they need to be said!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

A nice and loveley place in Cornwall and a nice and loveley B&B in Newlyn. What a great view on the harbour. We stayed there for three days in Harbour View and we felt well all the time. Cleanness and kindness seems to be natural there. To prepare your breakfast yourself was unusal at first, but was finally a great pleasure. The only drawback was, that there was no free parking place for cars nearby, so we had to take a parking ticket for three days. But it wasn't so bad because the costs were tolerable. Harbour View is highly recommended, thank you much for the wonderful time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hub-Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycollinson, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review of our Guest House.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here - this effort on your part does such a lot to promote our business. I hope we may see you again one day. Kind regards - Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I'm really happy I decided to book my 3 nights stay in Cornwall in this B&B. Excellent value, especially for this price - better than other, more expensive 'hotels' that I stayed in on the coast. Rooms bright and clean, and so was the dining area. Lack of parking is not a problem, you can easily find a slot just couple of minutes away from the place. If I come back to Cornwall I'd definately stay here again! Worth recommending!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasia_pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycollinson, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Dear Kasia
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
Your glowing comments were much appreciated and I am so pleased that your time at Harbour View Guest House was happy and comfortable. It helps our business a great deal when satisfied guests report back as you did.
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlyn
0.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
480 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
814 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 82 in Penzance
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#10 of 82 in Penzance
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Guest House

Address: 22 Fore Street | Penzance, Newlyn, Penzance TR18 5JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Newlyn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newlyn
Price Range: $87 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlyn harbourside Guest House has stunning views from all front double rooms across the harbour and Mounts Bay - situated between Penzance and Mousehole in SW Cornwall - 10 miles from St Ives and Lands End. There is a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with free tea/coffee, and free wifi. We are the only B&B in Newlyn which has direct 180 degree views across the bay, and we are the cheapest. Free Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the harbour. All rooms refurbished this year. We have 3 double rooms, overlooking the harbour, with CH, wifi, digital tv, tea/coffee tray, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, toiletries and private or ensuite facilities. Suite 3, sleeping 4, has a double bedded ensuite room overlooking the harbour, a sunny rear twin room, and adjoining that a private bathroom. It can also be booked as a triple or a twin. Suite 3a (the front double ensuite) can also be booked as a double or single occupancy. Suite 3b (the rear twin) can be booked as a twin or single occupancy. There are plenty of pubs serving food (the nearest being 4 doors' away) and 3 restaurants. Our local village is 300 yards down the hill with a variety of shops, a fish and chip shop serving freshly caught fish, and a cinema. We are on the coastpath, cycle route 3, a main bus route and have coastal walking in both directions. Buses can be caught in the village to Land's End, Sennen Cove, Porthcurno beach and The Minack Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbour View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Guest House Newlyn, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing