We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food but lacking in atmosphere”
Review of Tolcarne Inn

Tolcarne Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Local pub-look at Website
cornwall
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely food but lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

lunch time visit- no complaints about the food- wonderful. The waitress was not aware of what the dishes consisted of. Rather starchy atmosphere and a shame no outlook.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pastytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    105
    43
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem of place”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We thought twice about posting this review as we don't want it to become so popular we can't get a table! Finally someone has realised that the discerning tourist wants to eat great Cornish Seafood, and what better place than just behind the fish market in Newlyn! So if you want superb fresh local fish, try the Tolcarne Arms in Newlyn. A proper pub, serving good beer with an unfussy front of house....a great find. Please wake up Cornwall and let's have more great local food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank didarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked in as a party of 15, including 3 children for Easter lunch. We were assured there were children options available on booking.
When we arrived not enough places were set out, so our table was cramped. We asked what childrens food was available and were told the only things available were the main courses in half size- many dishes had things which made them unsuitable for 'fussy' children's pallates. There was very little accomodation or compromise for them.
The food itself was very tasty, however, at £14 for a main course we thought it was overpriced for the quality and amount of food on the plate.
I was expecting something special and left very disappointed.
I would probably reccomend the restaurant for couples but would never take my children back there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_Fletcher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, massively over priced small portions!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited the restaurant with friends while staying on holiday enticed by the local fresh fish menu. The food itself was good and well cooked. The problems arose from the extortionate prices compared to portion size. Four of our group ordered starters which were of a normal starter portion size but the actual fish content of the portion which was a very small slither of mackerel! The main was ordered but again although the fish was well cooked it was a very small portion! The fish is really fresh but it would be nice to get a larger portion for the large amount of money paid for the meal! I understand fresh does cost more but a cod steak does not as much as a whole cod! The atmosphere of the restaurant was cramped, the restaurant area being so packed we overheard another table complain of the lack of fish on the plate. The table was not properly laid-no table mat or proper cutlery ie. fish knives and the table itself was wobbly. Overall for the price paid it was a very disappointing experience and the whole group left hungry!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

took my mum here last week. Lovely food, cooked well and presented well. Good use of local produce. Something a bit different and very tasty. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxford_UKRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tolcarne Inn also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Tolcarne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing