We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in ages.”
Review of Tolcarne Inn

Tolcarne Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Local pub-look at Website
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best meal in ages.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ate dinner here on New Years Eve and had a wonderful evening.
We were made to feel welcome by staff (and patrons) from the moment we arrived, they even provided a blanket for our dog!. This menu was amazing, 3 fish courses, an amazing sweet and a cheese souflé with apple salad that you'd quite happily eat every day for the rest of your life. And all decent price too. Not one fault. Lovely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    111
    44
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
weston super mare
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“strange!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

we were reccomended this pub by locals in penzane if we wanted a really good lunch, but the atmosphere here was really strange. its ok if you llike fish, all fish, evverything fish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
and i suppose we should have thought of that being on the back of newlyn fish market, but not a little bit of meat in sight!!!

they really should have something, albeit a pate, or pie or something for those who dont like fish, quite a few walked out, as we did after a drink, because the variety just was not there!!
and the prices were quite high for cheapy fish like gurnard, and pollack!!

would we go again, no,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank motherchef76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner there on New Year's Eve. The set menu (all fish, very fresh, great vegetables) was brilliant. Each of the five courses was a delight in itself and the combination was spot on. Wine list interesting and reasonably priced. We tried a local (i.e. Cornish) white wine that was absolutely perfect with the meal. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had a good conversation with Ben afterwards. Can't wait to go back on a normal day for a pint and fish and chips.

Helpful?
Thank Tamburlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A great fish lunch”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for lunch on a quiet Tuesday and had a choice of about 4 mains. Catch of the day was pollack but as my 91 year old mother in law does not like this fish the waitress suggested the chef could fry her a piece of cod which was greatly appreciated. I had the pollock and my wife a cod dish but all 3 dishes were excellent. We each had a different pudding and again all were superb. Not a cheap lunch but reasonable for the quality and quantity. It was our second visit in 2 years and we will go again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fishy delight”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Finally got in to the Tolcarne Inn for dinner (very booked up in holiday season) we wern't disappointed at all. Lovely fresh fish (should be of course in Newlyn) but with great sauces and blends. service excellent and the locals are friendly.
My only minor criticism would be if you wanted to eat meat rather than fish as the choice was limited.
We will return at the first opportunity.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank storrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tolcarne Inn also viewed

 

Been to Tolcarne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing