We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fish Meal You Would Find Hard To Beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tolcarne Inn

Tolcarne Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local pub-look at Website
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Fish Meal You Would Find Hard To Beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were greeted as if we were one of the family as we walked through the door. There was an extremely friendly atmosphere emanating throughout the 'Inn' the quality of the food (all freshly produced from local supplies) was of the highest quality. It really was an outstanding experience, starter,main course and desert were just stunning. We'll done to The owner/chef Ben and his wonderfully staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    104
    42
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Group of friends had dinner at the Tolcarne recently. Not 1 complaint between all of us! A busy night (we booked well in advance), quick and very friendly service. Most of us had fish dishes but those having steak really rated and enjoyed it. Had heard some mixed reviews - from very small portions, limited menu to best meal I've ever had. I don't agree with the very small portions - they were just enough/right. Not all of us managed 3 courses :-) the menu is limited as it's local in season fish, meat and produce. Superb quality food, interesting combinations and choice. Try them out, you won't be disappointed, would def recommend a meal there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CornwallKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice meal for babies.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pretentious is an understatement. The quality and choice was excellent but the quantity and price was absurd. £65 for food and two ciders and we left very hungry. Not to be recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank 627RogerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hathersage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was on my way to Scilly, but held up as it was foggy. I had to spend a night in Penzance, which was not what I wanted. I had vague memories of a little pub in Newlyn from a family holiday 30 years ago.

What a great place. Good beer, brilliant fish menu and a friendly welcome and service. It was busy, even on a Tuesday night in October, but they fitted me in.

If you don't like fresh fish, want ex-deep frozen (and nearly extinct) cod and haddock in batter with chips for £3.50 or like piped music then probably not for you.

Almost worth missing a night in Scilly for.

John le corney

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hathersage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top notch fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Tolcarne Inn, tucked just inside the harbour wall in atmospheric Newlyn, is a gem of a place. Looking like little more than a cosy pub from the unprepossessing exterior, it is in fact a wonderful fish restaurant too. The chef is Ben Tunnicliffe, who has previously won a Michelin star at The Abbey in Penzance, and won plaudits at the high-end Scarlet hotel in Mawgan Porth, but this venture is more down-to-earth and informal, and all the better for it.

The menu is limited - four or five choices for each course - and, barring a steak main, exclusively fish, but the cooking is absolutely top-notch and the prices more than reasonable. The fish is all fresh from the (extremely) local markets, and the dishes inventive and delicious.

The service is efficient and unobtrusive - no buzzing around to top your glasses up every few minutes here - and the atmosphere is relaxed and informal. Indeed as the evening wore on and the diners thinned out, a few people popped in for a drink - a reminder that it is a pub after all. If only there were more dining pubs of this quality in Cornwall...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrentMackerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tolcarne Inn also viewed

 

Been to Tolcarne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing