We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best fish pie ever”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Photo on http://www.flickr.com/photos/sy_chris_pz/5213953303/ Postcode: TR18 5JP
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best fish pie ever”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This pub is family friendly and cosy with great views. The food is lovely. My husband and I had the fish pie which was the best fish pie ever. My son's had lasagne and chips which they also raved about. Once you've eaten your not rushed out, we stayed and played cards. The landlord came over to chat and adjusted the light so we could see better. We will go back next time were in newlyn.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suedanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    43
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Was't bettered”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

by any of the other food establishments this holiday. Excellent food & staff - first course slow arriving due to barney in the kitchen, more than compensated for by the profuse apologies accompanied by unsolicited extra large deserts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Packets”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

First visit we had the burgers and on our second visit it was the fish packets, which were excellent and reasonably priced. Limited real ale selection though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aberh0nddu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best view in Cornwall and lovely food”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We sat by the window and looked out over the harbour with St Michaels mount in the background. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our family feel welcome. The food was extremely good value with fresh fish from the local fishermen and the puddings were delicious too.It has a real traditional, local feel to it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank scitzchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loosdrecht
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The adres on tripadvisor was wrong. After a long walk and asking directions we finally arrived.

A warm welcome and superbe food

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maup-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing