We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”
Review of Jelberts

Jelberts
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Takeout
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Delicious icecream at ridiculously bargain prices. Try yours topped with clotted cream and go the whole hog. We did!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crowcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    26
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Having heard good reports about the ice cream, I was a bit disappointed with the one flavour they had on offer. I'm not sure what all the hype is about. There are certainly better ice cream sellers locally!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnnyscuffleboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An institution”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Well I have to admit I have been visiting for over 50 years, I can't say that much has changed in the shop, although I think that the wooden cash tray may have been replaced, don't think the sweet jars have changed though! So it is basic, yes there is only one flavour, yes it's served out of a tub, no it doesn't open all year but and this is why you should go it's simply the best ice cream. Simples.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpw262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

After Jelberts, any other vanilla is just "plain".
Stroll from Penzance and find your reward waiting

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PitneyClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“As good as TipTop”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you're in penaznce or anywhere near Newlyn you've got to try this ice cream. My brother in law remembered it from when he was a kid living there and told us it was the best and it was great made on site

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jelberts also viewed

 

Been to Jelberts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing