We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and a lovely evening”
Review of The Smugglers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Smugglers
Ranked #2 of 5 Newlyn B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious food and a lovely evening”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

A friend and I had a delightful dinner here on our last evening in Cornwall. The set menu didn't offer a huge variety of choice, but what we had was extremely good, accompanied by an excellent bottle of wine. The atmosphere was perfect for a relaxed evening, and the hazelnut icecream served with the dessert was phenomenally good. A great overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Beautiful location with outstanding views over the harbour to St.Michael's Mount.We were welcomed by Barbara and shown to our room called "Harvey". The room was well furnished and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and included an invigorating hot powerful shower as well as toiletries and ample soft towels.Breakfast was great (we had the full english) it certainly set you up for the day! The bus stops right outside so getting around even without a car is easy and reasonably priced.When we return to the Newlyn area we will definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank allen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We arrived early before check in and on arrival we were welcomed by a lovely lady called Barbara, who told us it was no problem our room was ready and advised us to the nearest car park (100 Yards approx) so this is not an issue as you can drop luggage and then park. We stayed in the room called the Langley which was clean well presented and very comfortable. Also had a raised outdoor seating area. Barbara advised us exactly what we could do in the area, nothing was too much trouble for her and she even did us a packed breakfast for out last morning as we were up early and had to leave before the lovely breakfast was available. Thank you Barbara for our stay, hope to see you again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph-Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My partner and I stayed here after a weeks holiday in the Scilly Isles.
We were made very welcome by Barbara and shown to our room which was only the lower
floor. It was called Forbes- It was a wonderful room with everything you could need for a
stay . My partner loved the garden area to the back . We were given lots of helpful information about the area for where to eat at night etc. Breakfast was amazing too much choice for me. But very welcome as we had long drive back to the midlands later that day.
Stunning views of the harbour whilst eating your breakfast . Thank you so much

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyr1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I have recently returned home after a 2 week stay at the Smugglers. We couldn't have found a better place. The hosts Barbara and Stephen were 2 lovely people, and they were always willing to give advice about the area etc. We stayed in the Langley room which was situated at the rear of the main building up a small flight of steps. The room was spacious with plenty of room to store clothes etc. Breakfasts were lovely, and you can order almost anything you please. And the views from the breakfast table were breathtaking. We were looking at Newlyn Fishing Harbour, which is literally yards away from our window. So I'm being quite honest when I say that staying at The Smugglers turned our holday from being a good one into a special one, which we'll never forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baggie142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay. The room was very spacious there was also a garden area to this room with sun loungers.The room was called Forbes .We ate in the restaurant for dinner .The fish was beautifully cooked and presented.A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYEMDEE1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We spent a long weekend here in May and this is the perfect place to stay in Cornwall. Only a half hour walk to Mousehole one way or to Penzance the other. Our room was stunning showing that a lot of care and attention had been taken in choosing the decor. This artistic/contemporary flare runs through the whole premises. Breakfast was also first class with plenty of fresh, organic choices to choose from with a great selection of delicious tropical fruit. As for the car park problem! After reading reviews, we took our bus passes and left the car in the car park for the £6.60 for 24 hrs. All the car parks in Cornwall are expensive and we found the bus services in that area are excellent. Next year we are thinking of returning by train and leaving the car at home!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinnaWinkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlyn
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
796 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
457 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Guest House
1.2 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 82 in Penzance
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smugglers

Property: The Smugglers
Address: 12-14 Fore Street, Newlyn, Penzance TR18 5JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Newlyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Smugglers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smugglers Newlyn, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing