We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of The Meadery

The Meadery
Ranked #10 of 13 Restaurants in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've been here more times than I care to remember and it's always good. Love it. The standard of food has never dropped and the service is always friendly

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kernow999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    50
    20
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food great staff”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The food at the meadery was plentiful not expensive, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the staff made us welcome. we would highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kylewestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have been visiting the Waterside Meadery for years. You can always be sure of a warm welcome, good food, good value and a unique eating experience. The Meadery has a great atmosphere and is normally always busy. We usually ring ahead and book a table because we have seen people being turned away. The portions are large so we don't always have a starter but on this visit we shared deep fried mushrooms with garlic dip. Chicken in the Rough (deep fried chicken with a seasoned crispy skin) is a firm favourite and you can request to have it with both chips and salad. Others in our party had scampi which is equally delicious. The restaurant is very relaxed and informal and you are issued with finger bowls so you can eat with your fingers. Pudding consists of classics like Banana Split, Peach Melba, Apple Crumble and ice creams. On this occasion I had Rocky Toffee which is a toffee and meringue sundae. Be warned - the puddings usually come with huge dollops of clotted cream!!! Can't mention the Meadery without the mead. The mead wine is delicious and is very easy to drink - take care! Don't visit Penzance without visiting the Waterside Meadery!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdeSmith1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and fun!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food is great here, and if you want an evening out where you feel relaxed, eat good food and have a giggle definitely go here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrew_xlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Coach Tour”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Meadery is unique in that it is an old converted Chapel that use to make camouflage nets during the 2WW. As a coach party we were very well looked after the service was excellent and the food was very good with the added touch that you ate with your fingers (you can ask for a knife and fork if you wish). It has great friendly atmosphere and is well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JOGLEWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meadery also viewed

 

Been to The Meadery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing