We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great food, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Inn Cerne Abbas
Ranked #1 of 2 Cerne Abbas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place, great food, great service”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a one night stay recently. We experienced a warm welcome. Our room was lovely. We had lunch and dinner at the New Inn and both were delicious. The service is friendly and efficient. The whole place is beautifully renovated/decorated. Our stay was wonderfully relaxed. I have already recommended the New Inn to friends, and would definitely come back myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 251Zag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    48
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
142
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

What a delightful place with lovely attentive staff and management. I was very pleased with quality and quality of food choices and menu, could not fault the service, timing of foods, and the soup was to die for. We were a biggish party and everyone was impressed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlbaChiara67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Have read the most recent review and the owner's response. Unfortunately we had a similar experience on an evening last week. We have visited on a lunch time and enjoyed the experience, so we went for my wife's birthday. The pub has been nicely refurbished, and the staff are good.

We too were disappointed with the severely limited menu. To make it worse, the fish pie was not available, neither was the sirloin steak. We were told we could have the same dish, with fillet steak . That left five courses to choose from ( no veggie option which our friend would have preferred).

Two so us enjoyed the meal, two of us didn't, the soup was bland and both the steak and pork belly could have done with a sauce or gravy, both dishes were very dry. The pork belly was served with mashed potato. What we weren't told was that the steak dish would cost £3 more with fillet steak. Not happy with that.

We felt it was expensive for what we got. We went out again the following evening and had a better meal for £40 less, including wine which we did not have at the New Inn, and same number of courses.

This may be off peak, but the reduced menu needs a rethink.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Maccers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our first visit to the New Inn left us impressed nice pub and enjoyable food so we booked a table for a Monday lunch to celebrate my wife's birthday.

Apparently they only offer a limited menu Mondays as they expect to be quiet, wish they had informed us when making the booking.

Bread basket is a nice touch but would have enjoyed it more before receiving the starters.

We like to be excited with the choice on the menu but were left struggling to find anything light or different for a lunch time we generally order a variety of starters to share.

The food this time around left us underwhelmed not impressed as we were on our first visit.

We love the pub and service is good but would love to see some excitement injected into the menu.

I know this review goes against the majority of other reviews but we are all different and this is to share our reflections with the owners as much as with readers of Tripadvisor.

We would certainly like to return perhaps not in the near future or for a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawyersd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jgwlee, Owner at New Inn Cerne Abbas, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your experience. After a very busy Valentines weekend coupled with the bad storms, there was very little decent produce available at the various markets from our suppliers. As a result we ran a limited menu rather than compromise on inferior ingredients. That said, there is no excuse for a lack lustre experience and for this I apologise. We strive to provide excellence in all that we do, which I feel is reflected in the experiences of the vast majority of our guests. I hope you will forgive us on this occasion and maybe you will give us another chance?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A lovely characterful yet modernised inn. The rooms were tasteful, clean and comfy. We ate in the bar at night and the food was a really high standard. I'd definitely recommend a visit to this gorgeous little village and inn.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sw311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay - the accommodation was very comfortable and we were made very welcome. It was great to stay somewhere willing to get you a meal after their usual food serving times - a relief after a long drive. I would definitely stay again and almost want to keep this as a secret find, but have to sing their praises. Well worth a stay in a lovely part of the country. Hope to stay there again soon.

Big positive for me - staying somewhere so nice that welcomed us and our doggie too - much appreciated.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Two years since my last visit when it was good, but tonight was outstanding. I cannot recall better pub food.... Pheasant 'confit' as a starter and the largest crispiest and tastiest pork belly I have ever experienced. Rooms have also been renovated. I was shown a suite which was tastefully decorated. Jeremy was attentive and a great host. I look forward to returning in two years time!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GalaxyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerne Abbas
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
George Albert Hotel
George Albert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Evershot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
14.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Cerne Abbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Cerne Abbas

Property: New Inn Cerne Abbas
Address: 14 Long Street, Cerne Abbas DT2 7JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Cerne Abbas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cerne Abbas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Inn Cerne Abbas 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored former 16th century coaching that now offers 12 beautifully appointed rooms and award winning food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your New Inn Cerne Abbas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Cerne Abbas Hotel Cerne Abbas
New Inn Cerne Abbas Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing