We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy to recommend excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Inn Cerne Abbas
Ranked #1 of 2 Cerne Abbas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy to recommend excellent restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a lunch and a dinner here over the Easter weekend and both were excellent. The menu was varied and ambitious (I had hare!) and the wine list unusual and very reasonably priced - nothing over £30 if I remember rightly. We were 3 generations of a family and all were very happy. Next time we'll stay overnight in one of the rooms which looked beautiful from the courtyard. There's really not much in this very rural and pretty part of Dorset so we felt The New Inn was a real find.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    48
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
142
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just wanted to say what a lovely meal and time we had at the New Inn last night ......little did we know it was their first night re-opening after a torrid time due to a determined under ground spring!! We were visiting the area, staying in Piddlehinton and had read the rave reviews on line and at the cottage where we were staying. It was well worth venturing out on the cold wet night for a warm welcome and exceptional food. The belly of pork was perfection ( if not a little too much, but our dogs didn't complain when they got their doggie bag on our return) with yummy mash and the lemon sole was melt in the mouth cooked wonderfully. We shared a Creme brûlée which was gorgeous along with some wonderful homemade crumbly orange shortbread biscuits and a raspberry smudge which complemented it all superbly! The service was friendly and very attentive. Very happy to recommend a visit to all. Thanks guys x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladydazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited the New Inn earlier in 2012 and decided there and then that we wanted to return so booked immediately for a New Year stay. We stayed in the Cerne suite which was perfect for an extended stay. The room was exceptionally clean and all the facilities were everything we could have wanted. The ability of our host, Jeremy, to treat all of his guests as if they are V.I.Ps is one of the outstanding features of this lovely establishment, he made us feel very welcome again and is the epitome of hospitality.
The food is of the highest quality and we enjoyed eating in the restaurant very much.
Perfectly located for visiting some of the most beautiful places to visit in the country, we can only give the New Inn the highest recommendation, we hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are recently renovated to a very high standard, but the suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A great place to stay (we were there 3 nights) - clean, cosy and friendly, and with excellent food and massive beds. If I could ask for just a small change or two - don't cram in the guests to a small area of the bar for breakfast when you're full so that you bang your elbows on the table next to you (there is plenty of space and we should have been allowed to be more comfortable), and give your guests a chance to eat their cereal before plonking down their cooked breakfast in front of them. Overall though, recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The warm welcome from all concerned and a pint of Palmers apiece was the perfect prelude one of the best Sunday roasts anywhere. It's the little things that count - a bottle of cold water on the table, good linen, warm home made bread and hot plates.

The Portland crab souffle starter was light, tasted deliciously of the sea and came with a well seasoned salad. The generous sirloin of beef was tender, pink and perfect with a nice selection of fresh vegetables, crispy roasties and big Yorkshires with extra gravy on demand. The rasperry pyramid jelly desert with chantilly cream and intense coulis was exquisite.

The staff were attentive and play a big part in the overall enjoyment of eating at The New Inn. Always great to eat here be it weekend or mid week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went two nights running as we were staying locally and we could not have been more impressed with the service and friendly atmosphere. The delightful girls serving behind the bar were Australian and a local girl - all could not have worked harder at ensuring our evening was a success! On coming in on the second night, the young lady even remembered what wine we had! We definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys quality food at good prices. The owner went out of his way to chat about local food specialities and in recommending various dishes on the menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here at the weeked for my birthday and had such a lovely time, our standard room (Wey) was in the original 16th century building, complete with rickety floors and old stone windows - it managed to blend character with luxury perfectly! The room itself was big with a massive comfy bed and shower room, and an assortment of teas, coffee, fresh milk and homemade biscuits on arrival. Jeremy and all the staff were genuinely warm and welcoming, and the food in the restaurant superb. We both had the pork belly after seeing other diners have it on our first night - I don't think I've ever been served such a big piece in a restaurant before! Our meal was on the pricey side, but with 2 nice bottles of wine as well as the food we were expecting it. All in all a fabulous stay, in a lovely part of the world, we hope to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilykf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerne Abbas
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
6.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
George Albert Hotel
George Albert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Evershot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
14.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Cerne Abbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Cerne Abbas

Property: New Inn Cerne Abbas
Address: 14 Long Street, Cerne Abbas DT2 7JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Cerne Abbas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cerne Abbas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Inn Cerne Abbas 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored former 16th century coaching that now offers 12 beautifully appointed rooms and award winning food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your New Inn Cerne Abbas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Cerne Abbas Hotel Cerne Abbas
New Inn Cerne Abbas Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing