We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food,good service,good pub!!”
Review of Cadgwith Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cadgwith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“good food,good service,good pub!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not having been to Cadgwith for a number of years decided while visiting friends in the area to give it a go and are really glad we did, it's unusual these days to find a pub that serves really good food and yet is still a pub (as opposed to a pub pretending to be a restaurant!) The food was fantastic, the service was friendly and with a smile and what a stunning location! Would certainly recommend to others and will be going back soon, especially as it was so family friendly even having some games and paper/pencils in the back room for the kids.....what a good idea!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    84
    21
    21
    8
See reviews for
73
199
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Cadgwith is a special little place, and this inn is a big part of that special feeling. The folk night was inclusive, though led by the locals- an amazing night!

Our room looked out onto the sea (we could hear the sea all of the time, it was so close and so wild!) which was so wonderful. Our room was well equipped with the shared bathroom across the hall- no queues experienced for a shower which was great! Comfy bed, good heater, sink etc in the room and a quiet night's sleep even though it is on top of the pub. We ate in the pub and had breakfast each day too- would just like to see some more vegetarian options available if possible.

The new owners have big plans for this lovely place, so I'm quite excited to come back and see their improvements in a year's time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigglypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We've holidayed a number of times over the years in Cadgwith so when we needed a bed in the area for a night we knew where to stay. The Cove Inn is set in the quintessential Cornish fishing village. The location is perfect. This time we were fortunate to experience the local weather as it is for most of the year - cold, wet and windy.

The Cove Inn is a B&B and not a hotel or gastropub - yet. It's a good old fashioned pub and in that respect it's perfect if not a little small and very cold inside. The best feature about this place is by far the staff. The landlord will no doubt make a difference here. The staff too are very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are not good though. We paid a bit more for a sea view (which is lovely) and an en-suite (which is not great). The room clearly hasn't had any attention since the 1970s and is a complete replica of a room my Grandma's house when I was a small boy. There are clearly plans to renovate but I would suggest that all potential paying gusts wait until they have.

The food is okay. The crab linguine tastes good but there was little evidence of the local crabmeat that was promised (except the shell in my wife's portion) and the garlic bread was soggy. The panne cote was excellent though. At £42 pounds for two with two drinks it wasn't cheap and whilst it filled us up it could easily have been improved.

Overall, perfect location, good staff but in desperate need of dragging into the 21st Century. The new owners have a difficult job on their hands; how to marry the traditional charm of an old Cornish fishing village with 21st Century standards of food and accommodation without turning it into a Jamie Oliver theme park. The good news is that I reckon they can do it; but, it might be worth waiting until they have......

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spjwstaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great boozer with wonderful locals and a friendly atmosphere. The folk night is a night not to be missed if staying in Cadgwith! However, our review really needs to mention the B&B part which was the main purpose of our visit.........
We stayed midweek and were warmley welcomed by the owner. The rooms were very disappointing and were desperately in need of refurbishment. Even though this was explained in the literature in the room, this information would have been more useful upon booking. The point is, is the room wasn't worth the rate as we felt we paid top wack to be uncomfortable for two days. We ate on the first evening and the food was good and fresh and the young staff were attentive and friendly, but again not value for money. Also, the breakfast experience would put us off from returning; poor choice of cereals & juices, presentation and table setting-poor and on the second morning we were battling for a setting and cutlery, there were quite a few items either not offered or not available from the basic breakfast menu. The lady who served was unfriendly and frankly unwelcoming and upon checking out if Gary or Helen would have been around we would have brought this to their attention. Our experience was one of mixed emotions. The new owners are passionate and very hard working and I enjoyed speaking to them. However, this is a bed and breakfast to which is lucky it has the stunning location it has because as a B & B it is poor and we left feeling as though we have not received value money especially after discovering prices for some of the very quaint cottages in the village available to rent! Good luck Gary & Helen and we only hoped that we could have written a more positive review.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

came in out of the cold wind take shelter and found a roaring fire and very friendly staff, had the bar snacks (any 3 for £3.90) freshly cooked home made food just the job!!! they were so good we ordered another portion to share!! will return on our next visit without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashyBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From walking through the door we were welcomed to a roaring open fire and owners and staff that couldnt do enough for us from the word go.
Shown to our rooms,which were warm and more than adequate to our needs (with free wifi)and asked if we would like to reserve a table for tea.
Had an evening meal from a menu that would suit all tastes including vegetarians,freshly cooked on site to order and of a very good standard ,hence why we ate there the following 2 nights.
Had a night of folk singing from the locals which was a pleasant new experience .
Good selection of ales,lagers and ciders.
Lots of old original photos and features in this very old building and village .
Locals very friendly and happy to talk.
Hope it all works well for the owners who are also very nice hands on people.
Regards jamie & jake

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandKels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

lovely walks, very welcoming, very friendly locals, stayed at the pub for two nights very cosy two roaring fires food lovely staff and owners couldn't do enough for us 10 out of 10.
cadgwith singers on the friday night were fantastic the even signing happy birthday for my very embarrassed wife lol. will definitely return in the summer.

Room Tip: room 8 has lovely views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadgwith
4.1 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.8 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in Lizard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadgwith Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadgwith Cove Inn

Property: Cadgwith Cove Inn
Address: Cadgwith | Cadgwith, Cadgwith TR12 7JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Cadgwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cadgwith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cadgwith Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old Public House and Restaurant within a stones throw of the beach in stunning Cadgwith. We have a cosy bar area which is open all day serving local ales, lagers, ciders, soft drinks, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. We also serve breakfast to non residents from 8.30Am - 9.30Am. We serve food from midday until 9pm. We have 7 bedrooms, 3 with ensuite bathrooms and 4 with a shared shower room and shared bathroom. These can be booked on a bed and breakfast basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cadgwith Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadgwith Cove Hotel Cadgwith
Cadgwith Cove Inn Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing