We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ed & mandy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cadgwith Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cadgwith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“ed & mandy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

lovely walks, very welcoming, very friendly locals, stayed at the pub for two nights very cosy two roaring fires food lovely staff and owners couldn't do enough for us 10 out of 10.
cadgwith singers on the friday night were fantastic the even signing happy birthday for my very embarrassed wife lol. will definitely return in the summer.

Room Tip: room 8 has lovely views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    82
    21
    21
    8
See reviews for
73
195
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Walked down each evening of our weekend break for a drink and a meal, very welcoming, friendly couple run this pub, very good food, lovely fish, of course.
The fishing boats pull in and out outside the front door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyteleafe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Tucked up in a corner of the bar with the fire roaring, a drink, good food and my book and I was at peace. This is a delightful little village with a huge lively heart. The locals are good for a chat and entertainment, folk evening was such good fun and you feel like part of the village.
The room was clean, cosy and quiet. It had everything you would need and if you don't have an ensuite, the bathroom ia just across the hall.
What makes this place is the staff, owners Helen and Garry are there to welcome you and show you around. They are so lovely, they always made time to chat but are not intrusive which made it perfect. The boys in the kitchen and the housekeeping are really friendly and always had a smile on their faces.
I am certainly going back and I would recommend the Inn to anyone who wants a good break away from home, a beautiful view and comfortable, friendly surroudings.

Room Tip: The majority have great views and room 5 which doesn't is so cosy it doesn't really matter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Sitting on the Southwest Coastal Footpath and nestling within a small but active fishing village this inn is well worth a visit. Not only can one enjoy the unique atmosphere of this lovely village but the food served is great. We walked along the coast from Church Cove and by good judgement we arrived just after 12:00 an ideal time for a lunch break. Both of us had an excellent Brocolli and Stilton soup and as we were walking just a dessert of homemade sticky toffee pudding. Even after this "lite lunch" our steps back were a little slower than when we came! Over lunch we had a chat with the owner who took over the pub last August and I feel he will be a real asset to the community by protecting the interests of the locals but making visitors feel very welcome - not an easy task. Our dog also was made welcome with drinks and nibbles!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abha, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

In the heart of the Lizard fishing community you will come across Cadgwith Cove Inn... The only drinking establishment in the village offers well priced fare and decent real ales to boot. Accomdation for a B&B is reasonably priced if you hunt for special offers... rooms are in the process of being re-done and look forward to a return visit. The sea view rooms offer stunning views out to see... I stayed in room 8 which was en suite

Room Tip: room 8 ensuite has stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamindrfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks.
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Have recently returned from a week's cottage break in Cadgwith. Although we were not staying at the Cadgwith Cove Inn we made a point of visiting every evening for a drink before dinner, sometimes returning later for a drink after dinner as well!

We found the hosts Garry and Helen to be most welcoming and friendly. I am sure they will make a huge success of the pub whilst still retaining its traditional decor and charm.

We ate dinner in the pub twice. On our first visit I started with the crab cakes with mixed leaves, sweet chilli and lime mayo. With two crab cakes this was a fairly big portion for a starter but they were very good. My husband had the lobster and tempura crab - absolutely delicious. Please make tempura crab a regular on the menu!

We both followed with fish, chips and mushy peas. Lovely crisp batter on the fish, just as it should be. The chips however, were a bit anaemic - could have done with being cooked a bit longer. Also, I would have liked the option of a simple tomato salad or some coleslaw perhaps to go with the fish. We shared a side order of samphire - delicious.

On our next dinner visit we both had the prawn tian - tempura prawns with red onion salsa, cucumber, tomato and sweet chilli sauce. Slightly disappointing. Only three tempura prawns and no prawns in the tian, which seemed to be just cucumber bound together with concentrated tomato puree. Our main courses of megrim sole with new potatoes and samphire were faultless though.

So to sum up - a little tweeking to some of the dishes and everything would be perfect. And I would love to see homemade chilli dipping sauce on the menu rather than the bottled variety - only takes five minutes to make. Chef take note!

We love this pub. It really is the hub of the village. The Cadgwith Singers on a Friday and the Folk Singing on a Tuesday add to its unique charm. Look forward to re-visiting in May.

Well done Garry and Helen. p.s. don't forget the dessert wine!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairylightqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We were stopping at a cottage in Cadgwith and of course had to try the pub. The landlord was extremely welcoming and pleasant, several nights wete spent chewing the fat with him over a Stoggs or two. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there but it looked good. They only recently took the pub over and will be resolving the issues they have found. Lovely place in a spectacular Cornish cove. We will return

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BrixhamSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadgwith
4.1 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in Lizard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadgwith Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadgwith Cove Inn

Property: Cadgwith Cove Inn
Address: Cadgwith | Cadgwith, Cadgwith TR12 7JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Cadgwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cadgwith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cadgwith Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 Year old Public House and Restaurant within a stones throw of the beach in stunning Cadgwith. We have a cosy bar area which is open all day serving local ales, lagers, ciders, soft drinks, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. We also serve breakfast to non residents from 8.30Am - 9.30Am. We serve food from midday until 9pm. We have 7 bedrooms, 3 with ensuite bathrooms and 4 with a shared shower room and shared bathroom. These can be booked on a bed and breakfast basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cadgwith Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadgwith Cove Hotel Cadgwith
Cadgwith Cove Inn Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing