We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
Barn Cottage and garden from the rear showing seating and play area by woods; Private and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn Cottage and garden from the rear showing seating and play area by woods; Private and quiet
Dining Area Open Plan Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Barn Cottage and garden from the rear showing seating and play area by woods; Private and quiet
Dining Area
Open Plan Kitchen
Lounge Area with Wood Burning Stove
Lounge with Wood Burner
Dining Room to Lounge
Second Wood Burner
Double Bedroom Upstairs
Twin Bedroom Downstairs
Twin Bedroom Upstairs
Family Bathroom with bath and shower downstairs
Shower and toilet downstairs 1
Kynance Cove - 1 mile away
Outdoor Seating Area
Cadgwith Cove - 1 mile away
Entrance to Mount Carlees Farm
Organic Vegetable Garden
Dexter Cattle - Oak
Maran Cockerel
Nearby - Trebah Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cadgwith, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mike A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here for Christmas and had a very relaxing time. The owners are very friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble. We had family visit while we stayed and that was no problem either. The cottage is in very good condition, clean and faciltated the 6 of us very nicely. It has 2 woodburners, which make it very cosy. Cadgwith is just a short distance away and is a stunning village as are all the other places in this part of Cornwall. If you are looking for a friendly place that is peicefull and in one of the best areas in Cornwall then this would be a good choice. Regarding the privacy mentioned in a previous review, this is not really the case in my view, it seems like it but after looking into it the bathroom is not visible from the owners house unless they are tree climbers. All in all a great place in a fantastic area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2016
Hello All and Happy New Year to you all. We hope this hello from us finds everyone well and looking forward to the year ahead. I never did thank you for your review - much appreciated and we hope to welcome you all again in the future!
Warm, regards
Sandra&Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaGLan...
Lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant conversion but with some reservations”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Spacious and homely barn with handy hall for removing wet outdoor gear and drying the dog! The Barn not only sleeps six, it also comfortably seats six in the dining room and lounge (not all places do).

There is no central heating but with two multi fuel stoves and plenty of electric heaters, we were nice and warm. The exception was the bathroom in the morning as it was only heated by the back boiler, as far as we could understand, so we dragged a heater in there.

It was great to have use of a field to exercise the dog first and last thing.

There were a few disappointments, the biggest for me was to discover all the lounge and both the main bedroom windows looked onto a corrugated tin building and tarpaulin about ten feet from the cottage. The large curtainless windows would deter me from staying here when the nights are short, and I was uncomfortable with the lack of a blind in the bathroom. I also found it odd that towels are not provided - not an issue for two of us but for a family to have to take its own "house towels" as well as beach towels, that probably means an extra suitcase.

The house was rather dimly lit in some rooms, the lounge could do with a reading light and the main bedroom would benefit from a second bedside light.

A word of warning - there is a Yale lock on an internal door! So if you are as tired and unobservant on the first evening as I was, and have a husband as security conscious as mine, it is quite possible to lock yourself out of the main part of the house!

We felt very welcome and cared for by the owners and the other lovely couple who lives on the farm. I would recommend The Barn to friends but with cautionary notes as advised above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amount of space and multi fuel stoves
Liked least: The outlook from lounge and main bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2016
Dear Fiona
A long time since you stayed with us I know but I realised that I had never replied to you so apologies for that and hope this finds you well. I appreciate your helpful suggestions as well as the nice things that you said about us. We do actually offer towels at a charge of £3 per person to cover laundry. We never put a blind on the sky facing velux in the bathroom because no one could see in unless they climbed a tree! It may well be that the angle of the window and total privacy could not be appreciated and we went for blinds rather than curtains in the cottage as a whole because they are a lot easier to fit into the deep stone wall window recesses. There are lots of windows to the property that look out onto lawns, flower beds, trees as well as the dutch barn and storage shed which is the least attractive we know. We have since painted all that side of the building and added flower pots etc and also made another garden area to the end of the cottage with a bay tree and flower bed around. We also lost one big old tree in a storm which actually has given lots more light in the sitting room. The middle door has a lock on it so that the property can be split for privacy if needed but no-one has ever locked themselves out before and of course it would have to be when we were away and our neighbours took out the door frame to get you back in! We put that one down to experience and of course could have let you in had we been there. Any way we are always listening, learning and love adding to and improving things every year. Warm regards to you both
Sandra & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great base to explore the Lizard”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Barn Cottage is spacious and airy yet with the wood burners going it also seems cosy! It's a lovely conversion, decorated and finished to a high specification, and is ideal for family accommodation. The Cottage is on the farm and we made friends with the noisy but very friendly dogs, the hens and the cats. It's a rural location so is very quiet and is also very good for listening to the dawn chorus, birdwatching etc..
It's well placed for exploring all parts of the Lizard, whether on foot or by car, and is only a short drive from St Ives, Penzance and Falmouth if you need a more sizeable town.The Nobles are very friendly owners who live on site, so it's easy to replenish the log supply for the burners, sort out any problems, get advice on pubs/restaurants etc. We'd very much like to return in the near future.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2014
Hello and thanks for your review, we always appreciate feedback and we agree the wood burners do make such a difference which is why we added a second one to the dining area. We are delighted that you would like to return and look forward to welcoming you back. We have just bought some outdoor dining furniture and hope you'll like the new additions. Warm wishes Sandra and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrano
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming peaceful rural cottage, spotlessly clean”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We visited this cottage with our grown up sons in August and weren't disappointed.
It is in a fantastic location, very peaceful and rural on an organic farm but just a minutes drive from Kynance Cove, which we think is the most spectacular beach in Cornwall. We enjoyed barbeques in our private garden area, looking at the amazing starry night skies ( no light pollution) , ate out at the pub in Cadgwith which comes highly recommended, where we also bought locally caught fish to cook back at the cottage.
The owners were happy for us to wander over their farmland, and we collected eggs from their chickens and enjoyed freshly picked veg from the garden. Appreciated being able to walk straight from the front door of the cottage along quiet lanes and in the woods, great for the dogs.
We felt relaxed and at home from the moment we arrived, the cottage is so roomy, we didn't feel at all crammed in, but had loads of space for all our beach gear, coats etc.
We thought the cottage was charming, spotlessly clean with beautiful features like the stained glass window in the bathroom. The huge dining table was fantastic for meals and board games in the evening.
Our hosts were very welcoming and invited us in to their workshops to see jewelllery making and painting - I might book a course next visit!
We found everything in the cottage we needed, well equipped kitchen , comfortable beds and wood burning stove.
Would thoroughly recomend a stay at Barn Cottage, we will definately be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to Kynance
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2014
We are delighted that you all had such a great holiday and appreciate your enjoyment of Barn Cottage and the facilities, thank you for your review,look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as cosy as we had hoped for”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

The cottage is clean,but really is a barn, and very rustic. The sitting room is dark, especially on dull days, the curaining in the bedrooms does not cut out light and between the 2 main bedrooms is a large glass panel with no curtaining which makes it difficult want to sleep at different times.There is a uncurtained glass door as you come out of the shower and as the house looks directly into the owners house this isuncomfortable. Their dogs run loose during theday,which may be ab issue for some.The bedrooms in particular are stark with stone walls and wooden floors,they feel cold and uninviting,again especially so when the sun is not shining. The kitchen was not at all well equipped,especially if you took 6,there were limited bowls,mugs and even cutlery and limited pans if you self cater. We are country folk and have stayed in lots of cottages in Cornwall and this is not one that we would ever go back to, it lacks cosiness,light and privacy all of which we rate highly.If these things do not matter to you,you may love it's rustic nature.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we always listen to guests comments and invite suggestions for ways that we can make your stay more enjoyable. We always ask guests during their stay to let us know if there is anything that they would like or need while they are here. It's a little difficult 6 months after your stay and a pity as I am sure we would have been able to help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan 'feel' of the place
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review - so glad you enjoyed yourselves, and certainly was a pleasure having you to stay. Look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful unique cottage and its very welcoming owners :)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comprehensive and positive review, glad you had such a great break! We have now added a third sofa which is soft and ideal for comfy evenings, and have purchased a new airer. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing