We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cot

View to the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to the sea
Woodburning stove Cadgwith Cove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
19 reviews
View to the sea
Woodburning stove
Cadgwith Cove
The dining area
double bedroom with view over the cove
bespoke oak kitchen with granite worktop
Twin bedroom
sea views from the garden
bathroom with shower enclosure & roll top bath
View from garden
Cadgwith
Monty Halls - 'The Fisherman's Apprentice'
Fishing boats in the Cove
Kennack Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cadgwith, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verysmall...
Nordley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The cottage has been well converted & equipped, I think it was suffering at the end of a busy season when we stayed there as I felt it needed a deep clean. Generally it was fine but there had been quite a few cobwebs missed and a spider had hatched a clutch of tiny babies so attention to detail wasn't quite there with the cleaning. I certainly wouldn't put any of my clothes in the washing machine or tumble dryer! On the other hand it was well furnished and a lovely cream tea left for our arrival which was very nice. The mattress in the main bedroom is either cheap or in need of replacing as its not very well padded! On the whole a very pleasant stay and the few grumbles we have can very easily be put right with a little money and some elbow grease and when they are corrected this would easily be a five star place to stay. A pretty, cosy warm cottage in a beautiful village by the sea.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location & the cream tea!
Liked least: The mattress & the cobwebs!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, the cottages are all deep cleaned in winter; following your comment about the bed we asked our letting agent to check that the quality was still satisfactory.

Apart from your welcome feedback, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan M
Sydenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, beautiful village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed here for 2 consecutive years - and will certainly be back. The cottage has been renovated to an amazing standard - every mod con (the bathrooms are fantastic) but still protecting the history of the building. Cream tea left for your arrival. fresh crab from the shop on the beach, friendly pub, chat to the fishermen(who starred in the BBC programme 'The Fisherman's Apprentice'). So much to do and see and there can't be a better base than The Cot - we love it!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: historic cottage with all mod cons
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments, we'll be delighted to welcome you back again next year,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2011
Thank you for leaving such lovely comments. We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2011
We look forward to seeing you again, thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tuffs02
Longfield, Kent, UK
1 review
“The perfect stay in the perfect cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

We chose The Cot in idyllic, peaceful Cadgwith for a romantic Valentine's break and it is one of the best decisions we have ever made - quite simply, we fell in love with this wonderful cottage, and so will you.

We felt truly snug and comfortable here, especially just relaxing on the sofa in the glow of the log fire, and every time we returned to the Cot from a walk, or a trip to the local pub, it felt like we were coming "home" the second we passed through the door.

The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need for a holiday, and the very friendly and helpful owners, Fiona and Simon, have made excellent use of the space whilst retaining all of the cottage's unique charm. The bathroom is a joy with its free standing roll top bath, and the showers, both in the bathroom and the ensuite, are superb. The bedrooms are more than spacious enough for a period cottage, and the double bed was just sooooo comfortable and gave a great night's sleep.

The main bedroom even has a hidden room that the owners have made into a feature and which provides a little piece of history that only adds to the ambience and feel of the Cot - when you look at that space, you can just imagine some poor soul trying to hide in there from the roving press gangs of centuries ago!

The cottage is situated in the heart of the jewel that is Cadgwith and is literally yards from the beach where you can watch the fishermen putting out to sea or bringing home the catch. You're also only yards from glorious walks along the cliffs and the stunning coastal scenery that this part of Cornwall provides in bucketloads.

It's a pleasant ten minute stroll or so along a leafy lane to Ruan Minor and its well-stocked village store, or just a 20 minute drive to Helston if you want more shops and supermarkets.

If you want a peaceful, relaxing stay in a beautiful, charming cottage, go to The Cot - trust me, you will NOT be disappointed (but please leave a week or two free for us!)

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2011
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in The Cot and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$91
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing