We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”
Review of Rauda Husid

Rauda Husid
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Eyrarbakki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $87
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy wonderful food in a historic building in the quaint seaside town of Eyrarbakki. A 45-minute scenic drive from Reykjavik, less than 15 minutes from Selfoss, and your gateway to the south coast. So stop by for a bowl of hearty soup on your way out or a feast fit for royalty on your way back to your accommodation after a day of sightseeing. The historical and relaxing atmosphere at Rauda Husid welcomes you to enjoy excellent food, such as delicious lobster/langoustine and fish direct from the fishermen, Icelandic lamb and other dishes along with good wine and personal service.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Arrived at this restaurant quite late following a planned excursion. Wonderful. Started with rich lobster soup that didn't go stingy on the lobster meat, followed by a hefty plate of langoustine and finished off with waffles and ice cream. Peaceful, quiet restaurant with friendly, helpful, welcoming staff- service was excellent.
Really pleased we came here :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust-Dormouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    93
    27
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Had a great dinner after driving along the south coast. We had the 3 course meal the night we came. Lobster soup that had huge pieces of lobster. The best we have ever had. Catch of the day was chosen for the main and that was halibut and salmon cooked to perfection and a large portion of it. For the dessert Belgian waffle topped with ice cream. It was superb. Baldor our waiter was wonderful and pleasant. It was somewhat pricey but most in Iceland are. It was worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 93mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went in there to celebrate, it was lovely food, but the service from the young girl was average.
She was a student and had no interested in finding if our meals were ok, or if we needed anything extra. She could not even upsale us another drink.

The chefs prepared the lamb in a very artistic way. Great food. Value for money, need to work on the service. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malini E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good service”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A nice little restaurant, a little out of the way in Eyrarbakki but well worth the drive off the coast road from Selfoss to Reykjavik.

Excellent produce cooked superbly and well presented. Menu is a little limited but there is something for most. We had catch of the day and a pasta dish then the ice cream and chocolate fondant. Delicious all round and the wine list is extensive plus fairly good value for alcohol in Iceland.

The service was good and we arrived at 5pm opening without a reservation to be welcomed and served by the young man running all of the front of house.

Worth a visit if you're out that way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A magnificent night - amazing three course meal”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had the most amazing three course meal, lovely lobster soup, blue shells and magnificent and delightful desert. This night was the most romantic and beautiful experience. The northern lights waited for us out site the restaurant. Thanks and we look forward to come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isafold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rauda Husid also viewed

Stokkseyri, South Region
Eyrarbakki, South Region
 
Selfoss, South Region
 

Been to Rauda Husid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing