We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant”
Review of St Johns House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lecarrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Johns House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Lecarrow B&B and Inns
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Liz and Richard have a wonderful house, in a spectacular and historic location, and are so welcoming. They very graciously accommodated our Miniature Schnauzer with their dog Yoda, and provided a lovely afternoon tea for us and our friends (who weren't staying there).

They're very helpful with advice and local knowledge, and their recommended walk from the house around neighbouring Rindoon Castle was lovely, especially as the wildflowers were in full bloom.

The rooms are extremely comfortable. Two have great views over Lough Ree (we had one of them), and the other is huge with a fabulous bathroom. Breakfast was brilliant - my wife is still talking about it, and she's something of a breakfast connoisseur.

I can't recommend St Johns House strongly enough. This is THE place to stay if you're near Athlone or Roscommon.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for such a generous review. We enjoyed meeting you and Spencer can come again any time. Richard is still mortified about asking if he was a mongrel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Amazing location, wonderful room, friendly welcome and attention throughout our stay from Liz & Richard, this was a perfect weekend away, and only 75 mins from Dublin!

We walked the wonderfully photogenic Rindoon peninsula on Saturday afternoon (see photos at ) and then relaxed with tea and cake in the conservatory looking out onto the magnificent Lough Ree view which the house overlooks. Dinner that evening - elk - was cooked to perfection and served in the period dining room where an open fire warmed us before drinks in the lounge rounded off a perfect day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeHoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This historic country home just couldn't be faulted. The fire was lit especially for us upon arrival. A lovely place to dine just up the raod. Breakfast was the best with home produced eggs, apple juice and a beautiful raspberry and red gooseberry compot - EXCELLENT!!! Then the outstanding walk to the Lough passing the ancient ruins of the church and castle - what more could we want? Just a longer time to stay - next time!
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticladyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2010

St John's House is set in a beautiful location on the shores of Lough Ree. We took a walk along the shore before breakfast visiting a medieval castle and church along the way. Cows grazed in the meadow, swans bobbed on the lake and two donkeys came to greet us. I was a magical start to day and just what was needed to whet our appetite for a delicious Irish breakfast prepared with local produce. Our hosts, Liz and Richard were a delight, very friendly and fully dedicated to making guests welcome in their beautiful home. Richard is a fountain of knowledge: be prepared for a good chat about the history of the location, preferably over a steaming pot of tea.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

A great B&B in a lovely location with great views across the lake. We were very well looked after by Liz and Richard in their lovely home, firstly we were greated with tea in the garden and homemade biscuits, where even the donkeys came to say hello! In the evening we had a lovely dinner of elk steaks, fresh vegetables and homemade icecream, which was delicious.The rooms all have very well appointed bathrooms with good showers and are charmingly decorated with comfy beds and cotton bedlinen.
The breakfast was great, homemade fruit compote with muesli and yogurt, full Irish breakfast and home baked bread and muffins. All the family enjoyed their stay and we would certainly come again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carraetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

If you are in this area and your looking for a relaxing place to stay, then you will not be disappointed. Its the ultimate in relaxation unspoiled, untainted just peace and quite and beautifull scenery. I stayed in Roscommon and Athlone - and I strongly believe you will not find better than this. A beautifull place to stay with lovely walks and the most fantastic vews and delightfull hosts.

A rare gem.

M

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

St John's house is situated in the most beautiful surroundings, with a lake only a few metres from the house and endless walks available around stunning scenery mixed in with lots of historic sites.

Liz and Richard were great hosts and provided us with endless mouth watering dishes. Came home feeling thoroughly relaxed and recharged. Would strongly recommend a visit.

Local attractions include the local pub for its great tasting guiness and the sheep racing!..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank juanitacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Johns House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns House B&B

Property: St Johns House B&B
Address: St Johns House, Lecarrow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Lecarrow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lecarrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in a Georgian House on the shore of Lough Ree in the centre of Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Johns House B&B Lecarrow, Ireland - County Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing