We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday let with beautiful views”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
local views with Citerna on the hill.
View down from Citerna,2 mins away..
field behind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Citerna, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday let with beautiful views”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A very clean, well equipped bungalow with a really nice pool and plenty of outside sitting areas to enjoy the beautiful views. Within walking distance of a small village with amenities. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it and we would be happy to go back.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Hello Angela, Thank you so much for your kind and informative review.
It was a pleasure to have met you and David and we hope you do not leave it too long before you return.
Warm Wishes, Polly and Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I would recommend Il Girasole to any couple for a holiday. Polly and Roger are fantastic hosts and willing to go the extra mile. A week is not long enough! Thank you Polly and Roger.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and the area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2015
Thank you Andrea and Richard for your kind comments. Yes a week goes too fast and we would have loved to have learn more about New Zealand..... please stay longer next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon D
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed for a week in September at the beautiful Il Girasole. What a lovely property! I could happily live here for months and months! Il Girasole is lovely inside and out, it's the perfect place to relax. It's such a nice touch to have your own private pool, comfy sun loungers, fruit and veg from the garden. Indoors is tastefully decorated and cosy. Lots of thoughtful touches, which were very appreciated. Polly and Roger are on hand to help with anything you need, they are very friendly and helpful. Il Girasole is a good location to explore other towns like Assisi, Anghiari, Certina, Cortona and Perugia - all beautiful places and worth making a trip to. Between day trips to pretty towns, lazing by the pool, eating delicious local food, drinking delicious local wine - it was a perfect week. We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the porch at sunset with wine and cheese
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2014
Hi, many thanks for your kind review, and look forward to your return to
"IL GIRASOLE"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloe a
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself and my boyfriend were lucky enough to spend the first week in July at Il Girasole.
Wow! We had the most amazing time from start to finish.
We flew in to Perugia airport where we picked up our hire car and drove the 45 minutes to Il Girasole (easy to find).
The property is gorgeous, decorated and furnished to a very high standard by the owners Polly and Roger. Everything was spotless and lovely touches like the welcome pack containing wine and coffee, and the chocolates on the bedside tables, made it even more special.
The pool and garden are gorgeous and the panoramic views are simply breath-taking. We spent a lot of time just chilling in the garden and floating around in the lovely pool.
The village (Fighille) is a 5 minute walk or 2 minute bike ride away and there are a couple of bars and a well stocked supermarket there.
There are many places to visit nearby; the stunning hilltop village of Citerna, historic Anghiari, Arezzo with its amazing antiques market and pretty Sansepolcro which is only a 10 minute drive away.
Sansepolcro has lots of nice shops and bars and a couple of big supermarkets where you can buy lovely produce.
Polly and Rog are lovely! They are close by to give advice and directions if needed but they would never intrude. Il Girasole is completely private and feels very secluded.
One highlight for us was when a baby tawny owl came at sat by us by the pool!!! Amazing. The Garden is full of wildlife and lovely flowers.
The ONLY negative was that we had to leave!!
Such a lot of hard work has gone in to making Il Girasole as stunning as it is and it really shows.
We had the perfect holiday and will definitely be booking again for next year (and the year after...).
Thank you Polly and Rog! x x x

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2014
Thank you Chloe for those kind words..... Roger and I still talk about the tawny owl that came to visit you that day,amazing. We would love to have you both return and we are so pleased we have managed to make your stay an experience... Warm Wishes, Polly and Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you could want from a holiday rental”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just back after spending a fantastic week in Il Girasole. The house is immaculate, tastefully furnished & has the most fantastic views of the Tuscany landscape. The owners, Polly & Roger, were so friendly and helpful & made us very welcome. A great location to tour from but a great space if you just want to chill out in the gorgeous garden & enjoy the private pool with a choice of seating areas in or out of the shade. We particularly liked the parasoled swing seat to enjoy a glass of wine while taking in the breathtaking views. There is nothing to dislike about this property, the owners are lovely people - it ticks all the boxes and we will certainly come back.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words in your review. We are happy to know you both enjoyed Il Girasole. Your words mean a lot to us. It would be our pleasure to have you to come and stay again.The swing lounger is waiting! Kind Regards, Polly and Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_D_St...
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem, set amongst beautiful Italian countryside”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just returned from a glorious week at Il Girasole. The property is tastefully decorated and well equipped with everything you need for a week, (or two) away. Situated at the end of a lane in a small village, it affords fantastic views over beautiful Tuscan/Umbrian countryside, You have your own, private, good sized swimming pool set in a well maintained garden with plenty of places to sit and relax. The nearby picturesque towns of Citerna, Sansepolchro and Anghiari are all worth a visit, and we even managed a day trip to Florence, (about an hour and a half away by car/train).

Polly and Roger, the owners, got the balance between being around to answer any questions, and allowing us privacy to enjoy our holiday, absolutely right. They couldn't have made us feel any more welcome.

I can whole-heartedly recommend this letting, and we will we be looking to book up again next year

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility and views from the garden
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
many thanks for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you next year. Best regards, Polly e Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything about it
Liked least: Having to leave after two weeks
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing