We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average”
Review of Hotel Western Gatz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Western Gatz
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Theni
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed in June for 3 hours. Early morning check in and after shower check out.
It is just average hotel at Rs. 1500.-. Nothing much to write about and one may consider other hotels in Theni.
Being a hotel in small town, I felt, it lacks value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
7
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were on our way to Munnar when we stayed here for the night. Checkin was slow as there was a marriage party in one of their banquet halls. Room which was alloted to us was not getting cool, after repeated follow ups , maintenance man came, did some work and said it wil start to show effect after half an hour. Still after an hour when there was no cooling effect we asked for change in room. They did obliged us, but even there the effect of AC was nowhere to be seen. After some futile attempts of maintenance staff, there was some cooling but not effective to beat the summer heat.
Room service was prompt and food was okie, nothing much to write home about. Breakfast was limited but was okie in taste.

Room Tip: ask for a room which gets proper cooling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We came across this hotel while travelling from Kodaikanal to Munnar and as it was past 9 in the evening, we decided to stay here and postpone the uphill journey to the morning. The rooms are decent but service is definitely not upto the mark. Food is another let-down with very limited choices for breakfast. All-in-all, in the middle of a small town, this is an ok place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rathi_Saurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The rooms look good but poor maintenance. The ac doesn't work and they don't work on the complaints. It serves just as a rest room for people to refresh themselves. It's better to avoid disappointment. Thumbs down

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pralaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The room was just ok clean. (We did not feel like using their towels)

The restaurant served just ok food.. nothing to brag about..

We stopped in Theni as our transit halt (Bangalore to Allepey) and found this place to be just ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pallavi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We all expect people in hotel and hospitality to be a bit more courteous and accommodating. If you expect the same from this place, you will be deeply dissapointed.

After my decent experience on my first visit, i did not think twice about booking this place. However, i felt that this time, the place felt totally different.

To begin with, the hotel staff was rude and asked for more money, though i had made the full payment to online booking site. In addition, they kept charging for every small and irrelevant thing like a road side shady place.

Definitely do not recommend the place anymore!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I regularly stay here on my business visits, because this is the better option. The best I like is the Roof Top, where you can get a good view of the town. Spending some time beside the swimming pool is quite relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block are much better and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Theni
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
15.1 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 78 in Kodaikanal
664 reviews
15.1 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
14.1 mi away
Holiday Home
Holiday Home
#15 of 78 in Kodaikanal
195 reviews
15.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#22 of 78 in Kodaikanal
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Western Gatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Western Gatz

Property: Hotel Western Gatz
Address: 7 8 - A, NRT Main Road, Theni 625531, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Theni District > Theni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Theni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Western Gatz 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Western Gatz is a three star hotel with five star facilities and it has the ambiance of a home away from home. It satisfies all categories of clients, whether they are business people traveling for commercial purposes, nature lovers studying the variegated flora and fauna of the Western Ghats, leisure travelers enjoying the liberation from their daily grind and adventure tourists seeking surprises in the hilly terrain around. With all the creature comforts in place, a team of dedicated and experienced personnel, the latest communication facilities made accessible, combined with elegant architecture and charming decor, Hotel Western Gatz is the coziest place around to get pampered and spoiled. Well-appointed and spacious suites and rooms, conference hall with all modern equipment, enchanting banquet hall, restaurants with mount-watering delicacies, well-stocked bar with a touch of class and all other facilities and amenities await the visitor in an overall traditional cultural flavour, even when catering to all the needs of the modern man. The hotel gets its name from the Western Ghats, which runs along the western coast of south India and is a hotspot of bio-diversity with hundreds of most endangered species of flora and fauna forming unique eco-systems. It is situated in the heart of Theni town, on the plains of Tamil Nadu state, surrounded on three sides by the Western Ghats Mountains and washed by the perennial Mullapperiyar River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Western Gatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing