We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, well appointed retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Cockatoo Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Black Cockatoo Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Quiet, well appointed retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in one cottage among others but we would not know anyone else was around as they all were set in private surrounds. The cottage was well appointed with good appliances and heating that was very efficient - and needed! The cottage has picture windows that look out on open fields leading to views of Wilsons Promontory in the distance. The drive to Tidal River provides great views and access to the many walking tracks that mark the Prom. We only stayed one night but it was a most pleasant time.

Room Tip: Cottage One was our one and is recommended. The rates were very reasonable and we contacted them thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had such a lovely stay at the Studio. We stayed for 2 nights and even if it was short it was still a very relaxing time. The view from the veranda was beautiful, overlooking the sea. The cottage was clean, comfortable, and huge for 2 people, the kitchen was fully equipped, there is also a BBQ on the veranda. The cottage/studio is located only a few minutes away from the National Park. It is a great place to stay!!! Highly recommended, we will definitely come back again soon.

Sandesh, the owner is a very nice person, very welcoming and nice to talk to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here for one night in February 2011 with two other walkers preparatory to some long distance walking on the Prom.

We stayed in 'the house' rather than the newer cottages and found it perfectly adequate for that purpose. It is a 60's style bungalow with three bedrooms. It was described in terms of being suitable for hikers etc and that was entirely fair. I have noted other comments in trip advisor to the effect that the property is dirty - we didn't find it so. It is a perfectly good base camp and had the advantage that we could rent it for a single night ratrher than a minimum of two or three nights.

The property was perfectly adequately stocked in terms of pots and pans etc if you wanted to cook a meal there.

The newer cottages look very pleasant from the outside but I cannot provide informative comment on those.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at one of these cabins. The views are spectacular! Sitting on the veranda sipping wine was fantastic. We had a lovely relaxing stay. Very clean, nicely presented and friendly managers.

And the location is just perfect for day trips into the Prom.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_to_the_prom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

We stayed in the House during November, the location is fantastic - 3KM from Wilsons Prom, however the standard of cleanliness was very poor - dirty and musty throughout. The house is seriously run down and in need of updating. The actual cottages looked nice, but the house is not worthy of a 5* RACV rating.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james_lace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spike032, Manager at Black Cockatoo Cottages, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
We have rectified the problems with the original family home .It is now being offered as very cheap accomodation for larger groups,backpackers and the not so fussy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanakie
13.2 mi away
Prom Country Lodge
Prom Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Foster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prom Gate Gate Getaway
Prom Gate Gate Getaway
#6 of 11 in Yanakie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.7 mi away
Promhills Cabins
Promhills Cabins
#1 of 11 in Yanakie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Buln Buln  Cabins
Buln Buln Cabins
#3 of 11 in Yanakie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
12.8 mi away
Wilsons Promontory Motel
13.3 mi away
Fish Creek Hotel
Fish Creek Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fish Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Cockatoo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Cockatoo Cottages

Property: Black Cockatoo Cottages
Address: 60 Foley Rd, Yanakie, Victoria 3960, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Yanakie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Yanakie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Black Cockatoo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing