We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, great location, fabulous owner- just like home!”
Review of Hotel Bjarg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bjarg
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Accommodations feel just like home- we were met at a late check-in by Karvel, the very friendly hotel owner. Our room was very clean and homey w/ a gorgeous view of the beautiful fjord and boats on the water. Karvel was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us some great ideas of ways to spend our time in the beautiful East Fjords. He is a very friendly guy and I feel confident that we parted as friends! My husband and I would most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberley0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Granted the location of the town is a bit of, but the town is small and cozy, the hotel nice and clean. But what really stands out is the owner. Extremely accommodating and helpful, gave a lot of good tips where to go. Will definitely visit again if I'm in the neighbourhood again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lovely location with nice sunset walk, albeit in a pretty dull town. Bjarg offers small rustic terraced self-catering guesthouses which despite their snugness can comfortably fit 2 adults and 2 children. Friendly owner, able to accommodation a walk in reservation even in the off-season period.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Only hotel in town but really basic. 130€ for a tiny room where both single beds were touching both walls, not even enough place for a bedside table. Forniture and decoration of the whole hotel is awful.
The town has no interest at all. Only recommended for a stop over if you have to drive from south to northeast. To avoid the strong noise of the fridge we had to switch it off. Our room had partial view to the fjord.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was the only hotel/guesthouse we stayed in where we felt we had a warm, friendly welcome. Everywhere else was cool efficiency. It was great to finally stay somewhere where the owner seemed to take interest in his guests, and provided information and advice to make their stays more enjoyable.

The rooms were perfectly fine, particularly when you factor in the price and comparative establishments elsewhere in Iceland (everywhere is expensive...) Breakfast was pretty standard, but it was great to have the owner there chatting away to the guests.

Wifi was a little temperamental on the day of our stay, so the host set up a computer in the lounge that people could use - very typical of his determination to make your stay a pleasant one.

There's really not much to do in the town, but if you do need a stopover in the East Fjords, I totally recommend Hotel Bjarg for the warm welcome alone.

Room Tip: There are rooms with private bathrooms and shared bathrooms. There didn't seem to be too many r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had excellent service at Bjarg hotel.
Admittedly, we where the only guest. But the owner seems so nice, he would be pleasant in any case.
The room are a bit small but comfortable.
The hotel offers good, but basic breakfast.
Bathrooms are shared, very close to rooms.
The hotel is located on the Fjord, a bit uphill from the water. The view from the window is slightly obscured, but you still see the water and the mountains on the other side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shesh-Pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel Bjarg is a very nice little hotel in a charming setting on a stream, with good views of the harbor ( and fjord, on a sunny day), Its owner, Karvel, couldn't be much more accommodating (he even offered to let us do our laundry) and helpful ( he recommended an incredible detour to get up close to puffins, which was one of the high points of our trip). Karvel is rightfully proud of Iceland and its products and even gave us two Icelandic beers to take with us to try later on. We felt like old friends by the time we left the next morning!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ninadrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faskrudsfjordur hotels
0.3 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guesthouse Elinar Helgu
Guesthouse Elinar Helgu
#1 of 3 in Faskrudsfjordur
23 reviews
0 mi away
Tunguholt Guesthouse
Tunguholt Guesthouse
#3 of 3 in Faskrudsfjordur
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bjarg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bjarg

Address: Skolavegur 49, Faskrudsfjordur 750, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Faskrudsfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Faskrudsfjordu...
Price Range: $149 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bjarg 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is one of the easternmost settlements of Iceland and Hotel Bjarg is a small but beautiful little Hotel in the Eastern fjords of Iceland. Hotel Bjarg is the ideal choice for your accommodation in Eastern Iceland and luxury at a reasonable price is offered by the hotel. The Hotel is built over running water which seems to have a tranquility effect on those who sleep here. The hotel is constructed with concrete and there is double glass in all the windows to quiet any unwanted exterior noise. Aluminum sheets cover all the outside walls and there is thick insulation within the walls to ward off the cold winter months or a cool summer night. There is central heating through the hotel and also extra heaters are located inside of all rooms if needed. The excellent construction of the facility insures that your stay at the hotel will be warm and safe within this mini fortress. The hotel offers free internet connections to the guests and there is no extra charge for the ocean front view from the bedrooms. There is a big wooden deck out of the banquet room that smokers like to use because there is no smoking allowed inside of the hotel. There is also a large gas grill out there and fish/meat can be barbequed if the weather is good.. The current owner has totally rebuilt the interior and has been operating the hotel for the last 5 years. Hotel Bjarg is one of the few Eastern Coast hotels that are operating on a full year basis to travelers and we are glad to provide you with excellent service that we have learned through the years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bjarg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing