We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be one of the most beautiful houses I have been to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Higher Melcombe Manor
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Must be one of the most beautiful houses I have been to”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My mother had a wonderful stay. She compared it with six stars hotels. The service was absolutely amazing. Lorel is one of the friendliest person I have come across -- also very caring with great humour. We would actually make a trip half way across the world, as we live in Thailand, to stay at Melcombe Manor! Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SunTansri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clapham, London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent two nights with Lorel and Alfie (the lurcher) at this charming and cosy hideaway in the rolling rural landscape of Dorset. Much more than a country B+B, this is indeed a special place to stay. The welcome is warm and one feels like a valued friend invited down for the weekend. We loved the attentuion to detail in the decor, the furniture and accessories ... and also the little thoughtful touches like the blazing log fire that greeted our arrival, the cut flowers in our bedroom, and the lit scented candle in our bathroom. The house stands in its own secluded valley with no other building in sight. The breakfasts are lovely ... and we really enjoyed the dinner that Lorel prepared for us one evening ... highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Garden Room on the second floor is lovely and new and has an en suite and access to a nice TV lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoothguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is probably the most beautiful house I have ever been in. Lorel and her wonderful dog Alfie welcome you as if one of the family and nothing is too much trouble for her. We were free to wander the lovely gardens and sit outside on the terrace in the sunshine. The bedrooms were absolutely stunning especially the paneled room which is like something out of Pevsner. I can heartily recommend this house and cannot wait to get back to it again myself.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for the paneled room. It's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camprovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midhurst
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I had a three night stay here recently and could not have wished for a more charming location, the Manor House is beautifully appointed and furnished, Lorel the hostess is charming and chatty, Alfie the dog is lovely too! Nothing bad to say from me and that's a first. I will make sure I visit again!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden is nice with lovely views in all bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonybroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Higher Melcombe Manor is awesome. It's got to be on your bucket list of B&B's to spend a weekend away in. Lorel, Micheal and Alfie are the best hosts. The place is full of history and coozy bedrooms abound. You'll never wonder wonder far from the the large fireplace.
The walk to Dorsett Gap is perfect for a weekend afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southerners
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

From the moment you turn up the private road to Higher Melcombe Manor, you know that you are in for something special, and you are not disappointed. There is a very warm and friendly welcome from both Lorel at the front door, and Alfie, the lercher, at the front gate, making it feel like home from home very quickly. We had a very welcome cup of tea and biscuit, in front of a lovely wood fire, in the sitting room, and were instantly relaxed. We had a lovely en suite on the top floor, which had a second bedroom, sitting room and kitchen facility, all to ourselves. We slept very well, on a very comfortable bed, and in the morning enjoyed a cooked breakfast, that was just right. Our only problem was that we did not stay longer!!

Room Tip: If you want two rooms together, woth a sitting room, then ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Within five minutes of arriving we were slumped in armchairs, in front of the fire, enjoying a nice cup of tea. Lorel is an amusing and engaging host, she has the rare gift of making her guests feel completely at home very quickly. Archie the dog is lovely too.
The room was very comfortable and the small kitchen and sitting room made us feel like we had a small suite. It is really good value. I'm so tired of paying a fortune for country house or so called boutique hotels, where one leaves feeling completely 'ripped off'
Ultimately there is nothing mean about this place, there are always more towels, there is always more tea/coffee. There are plenty of places to sit and relax or walk. I didn't want to leave. It would make a stunning location for a wedding and I can only presume that Lorel would ensure the day was memorable. Thankyou and sorry I stole the soap. Hope we visit again soon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Higher Melcombe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Melcombe Manor

Property: Higher Melcombe Manor
Address: Melcombe Bingham DT2 7PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Melcombe Bingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Melcombe Bingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Higher Melcombe Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing