We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful find ...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Frampton, Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
L1zz1e201...
Cookham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful find ...”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I spent 3 nights at Rose Barn over Christmas. It was all we could have hoped for and Neil Hawkins made us wonderfully welcome, with provisions in the fridge and wine on the table.

We felt at home straight away and were able to relax in front of the wood burner before sleeping soundly in the very comfortable bed.

We'll definitely be booking again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathi J
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven in quintessential England”
Reviewed December 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this gorgeous getaway a month ago because we loved the description and reviews. However, nothing can prepare you for the beauty of it - so quaint, beautifully and tasetefully decorated with comfort and peace written all over it. The log burner adds to the magic of this pace, which was most welcome on rather bleak Winter evenings. Everything is perfect. The bed should have some kind of warning attached to it as its so comfortable, its actually a challenge to get up and explore the outdoors! However, explore you must as the local location is magical. Would highly recommend to one and all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the log burner
Liked least: loved it all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bgumx
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Place”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We went to stay for 3 nights, by far this has to beat all the cottages and international places we have gone to stay at! Rose Barn Was Truly Amazing!

Also both Neil & His Wife were such amazing and helpful people. We plan to stay again at Rose Barn and we cant wait!!

A True Gem Of A Place!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, favourable Frampton.”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Rose Barn was an absolutely perfect place to stay for us. It far exceeded our expectations as the pictures don't fully show how lovely it is, newly renovated but not too modern it feels beautifully homely and is relaxing as soon as you enter.
The little touches go ever so far; from their bookcase of DVDs and books to make use of during your stay to their welcome pack covering information on local eateries and walks available(this was very helpful for us who did not know the area).
The log burner was fantastic and there was more than enough kindling and wood provided.
Every detail was evidently thought of by the owners to make this wonderful holiday accommodation.
The owners Neil and Daphne were easy to contact and ensured we had everything we needed. At the same time we never felt imposed by them or as if we were in their space.
We could not recommend it high enough, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As soon as you arrive you felt relaxed, every little detail had been thought of by the owners to facilitate for their guests.
Liked least: We honestly could not fault one thing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. Perhaps next time we will meet each other.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47happytr...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy and spotlessly clean”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a find! We had 3 wonderful days at Rose Barn. It was very clean and all the fittings and furnishings were to a very high standard. The kitchen had everything you could want and the whole feel of the place was very cosy and warm. A delightful stay and we hope to return in the Spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Bring some sunshine back in the Spring!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillers
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed for 3 nights and would loved to have stayed longer. The cottage has been renovated this year to a high standard and the owners have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. The log burner was a huge bonus, the L shaped leather sofa and bed are really comfortable and there is a flat screen tv with dvd player & library of dvds and books. You are situated about 6 miles from Dorchester which has plenty of shops and restaurants and further on is Weymouth. Would definitely recommend a trip to Durdle Door and Lulham Cove (about 25 min drive). We would love to visit the cottage again and thank you to Neil and Daphne for being perfect hosts

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beebutler
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic! We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stunning place to stay in a peaceful setting. We arrived in the dark on a chilly Friday evening but once we had found the ke,y and got inside, we were so pleased! Warm and cosy, beautifully decorated and furnished, with everything you need for a happy relaxing stay away. We visited Monkeyworld which is only 30 mins away and Dorchester about 15 mins. Both Fab! In Dorchester there is a COOK shop where we bought a curry tea so we could watch the rugby world cup back at the barn. Sadly we only stayed 2 nights but visited Lyme Regis on the way home, only 45 mins away. The weather was lovely for late September but even in the middle of winter you would be warm as the barn has great radiators and a wood burner. We really wanted to stay forever but instead are planning our next visit to Rose Barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet
Liked least: Bit of a mix up with key but sorted out quickly.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing