We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleep in a stable like jesus”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iringa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Farm House
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Iringa
Certificate of Excellence
joancollins69
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“sleep in a stable like jesus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

despite the shared ablutions the farm house was a lovely stay. the owner greeted us and suggested some walks around the grounds which we did seeing a small lake and a huge herd of local cattle with the jackaroo giving us a friendly chat. the room was in a converted stable and was lovely and clean with fresh flowers and wonderful soft sheets-doona. The showers and loo were clean and the hot water heated by a near by oven. the resteraunt-bar was cosy and the meal not to bad, as a veggo it was a little limited and not as exciting as the others, the soup divine however. post meal you take hot chocolate and a brownie in another hut that was worth the trek! a nice little place to stay for one night more than that...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joancollins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
assago
Level Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

A piece of England countryside in the heart of TANZANIA. a pleasant stay with a delicious dinner with candle light. You could not wish more. A nice stroll can be made along the shore of the lake. Spotless rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco63Assago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We arrived at sunset and left at 4am the next morning so we couldnt enjoy everything fully. We were welcomed at the office with the warmest of smiles and the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Normally they do not have room service and guests are advised to have dinner in the Restaurant but they brought our dinner to our room on trays. food was excellent and we had chocholate cake for dessert which every traveller has to try out!! The room was very clean and neat with fresh flowers!!! They cater for all walks of life and have camping facilities, luxury chalets, stable rooms etc. Our room did not have ensuite bathroom and we used the campers ablution blocks which are very clean and have hot showers. You have to incorporate this little gem into your travel plans

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our trip to Ruaha National Park. It was absolutely wonderful. Our cottage was beautifully built from local materials and had a thatched roof. The smell of the dry grass thatch was wonderful. The cottage was very clean and the vases were even filled with fresh flowers. Nice touch! We really loved the log fire in our room as the nights are cold in June. The cottages are set in amongst the trees and have a real bush feel. The meals were superb and the service from the friendly and attentive staff was outstanding. Each cottage has its own hot water boiler out the back and the fire is lit each morning and evening. The managers welcomed us when we arrived and came to say hello at dinner and again at breakfast. Made us feel sort of special. Thanks Melinda and Jason! We really appreciated it. Would love to come back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMDWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at Kisolanza twice in the past three months. In january we camped and found the campsite really nice with great toilets, hot showers and good washing up facilities. The campsite itself is spacious, although the plots could be set a bit further apart. The bandas to pitch tents under are fantastic in the rainy season, not a drop of water got through! The cottages around the campsite look really nice too. Overall I would say this is the nicest campsite I have seen in Tanzania.

The food at the restaurant was delicious. We had our New Year's Eve dinner here and everything was cooked to perfection. They were also very helpful in catering for special meals and always remembered to ask about dietary requirements.

In March we stayed in one of the self catering cottages on the main farm. It was perfect for a couple with two children. The veranda is an especially nice place to sit in the afternoon and it is fun to really be part of farm life.

The walks around the farm are leisurely and pleasant. Overall this is a perfect place to come and relax for 4-5 days or to simply spend the night.

Room Tip: They have accommodation to suit all budgets, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TZnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Old Farm House, Kisolanza Farm is situated just off the main Mbeya / Iringa Road, 60km south of Iringa, placing it right in the middle of the country, midway between Mbeya and Dar es Salaam / Zambian & Malawi borders.

This old colonial farmstead offers it all, luxury chalets, stable rooms, wooden cabins and camping sites, the service is outstanding an the food the best I've yet had anywhere in Tanzania.
Having done a very long drive from Sumbawanga, we found this oasis that truly knocked our socks off and were very loath to have to leave the next morning but with flights to catch, had no choice, this would certainly rate as one of my very best experiences in Tanzania and definately on my to do list on any subsequent visit.

Room Tip: The farm cottages are awesome, well worth spoiling yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iringa
0.0 mi away
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
32.1 mi away
The Alizeti Hostel
The Alizeti Hostel
#4 of 20 in Iringa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zakinn
Zakinn
#3 of 9 in Iringa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mufindi Farm Lodge
Mufindi Farm Lodge
#3 of 20 in Iringa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
31.8 mi away
Isimila Hotel
Isimila Hotel
#4 of 9 in Iringa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farm House

Property: The Old Farm House
Address: Kisolanza Farm, Iringa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Iringa Region > Iringa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Iringa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Farm House specializes in accommodation from bush camping (1 site for Overland Trucks and a separate site for Private Vehicles) to luxury, with a variety of cozy and clean accommodation in between.Kisolanza is a working farm with cattle, sheep, vegetables, tobacco and flowers. You are free to explore the farm. Place an order for beef, lamb, eggs and fresh vegetables for your onward journey.The Ghaui Family has lived in East Africa for over a hundred years, and are happy to share their knowledge of the area with you.Our Restaurant incorporates the ruins of an old mud building and is famous for it's authentic atmosphere and for the menu of fresh farm produce and garden herbs. The Old Farm House, Kisolanza, is the perfect gateway to your stay in the Southern Highlands of Tanzania. We are a days drive from Dar Es Salaam, the borders of Zambia and Malawi, Arusha and about 3 hours from Ruaha National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing