We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  
Ways to Experience Ruaha National Park
More Info
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
291
49
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
291
49
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park animal sightings walking safari game drives lesser kudu wild dogs safari experience experienced guide hour drive big game off the beaten track three days loved every minute an amazing experience horizon impala tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 352 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2017

I really lovely National Park much bigger than Serengeti but nowhere near as busy. One can have great viewings with no other vehicles around. Airstrip inside park so easy access to lodges

Date of experience: February 2017
3  Thank WingedPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 8, 2016

I went here as part of a work visit and after two days I honestly say that Ruaha NP is one of the most under-rated National Parks in Tanzania. If you make it this far south/west from Dar please do not ignore this great park (the largest National Park in Tanzania)

I can highly recommend Warthog Adventures as a safari provider (based in Iringa and also run tours from River Valley Campsite)

10/10 from me

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank mortsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 31, 2016

This was the best national park I have been in throughout Africa for lions on one day we saw 16 including 6 cubs and 31 over 5 trips into the park, there are Elephants everywhere as well as good sightings of Leopards and many other mamals and birds, but you need to go deep into the park on day safaris to make the best of this park, but it is 5 star.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank wob58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

Ruaha is the second largest park in Africa, and has only 8 lodges (so fewer than 200 people a day at max booking). In October the environment is extremely dry (no rain had fallen since May) and so wildlife was abundant around the few water holes in a mostly dry river. Saw all the big game including a leopard, and so many birds.

Date of experience: October 2016
3  Thank RonG401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2016

We stayed at Flycatchers camp which is just on the river. We spent 5 nights here and enjoyed the entire time we spent here, but you could get away with 4 nights. Ernest was our guide and he tried really hard (and succeeded) in showing us as many of the animals as possible! We saw SOOOO much. Again, I was blown away by just how much life there is around there. The river banks and the plains close by to the river were filled with all sorts of animals (and soooo many elephants)! One day we saw 16 lions - 9 of them tracked a herd of buffalo for a couple of kilometres down the river and eventually made a kill. Many of the animals had babies too :-)
There were more tourists than I expected there - the park is getting more and more popular, but we still got plenty of time searching for creatures without having other people around. It was good to have a guide - they radio each other to let others know if there is something interesting to see, whereas if you drive yourself you have to be quite informed or just very lucky to find some of the rarer creatures such as leopards or african wild dogs.

Flycatchers camp was great. It's billed as a medium-range tented camp but for us it was complete luxury. The tent was HUGE and very comfortable with fully functioning bathroom at the back. It was so exciting to wake early in the morning and watch all the animals (mainly impala and baboons) wander around the camp. On a couple of nights we heard lions roaring at the baboons in a tree only about 40m away, and on other nights the elephants were making a snack of a nearby acacia tree. For some reason humans inside a tent are not viewed as a threat or as a snack so if you stay inside you are safe! It was a bit hard to get used to not being able to walk around much, but when you hear about leopards eating impala in a tree not 100m away from camp, it becomes less of big deal!

The service at Flycatchers was impeccable and faultless. I would happily stay here again!

Date of experience: October 2016
7  Thank 13bluedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews