We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive!”
Review of Tilal Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We purchased a groupon package called "all you need is love" and it provided us with one night stay, breakfast in bed and a romantic dinner. The hotel grounds are beautiful, especially if you want to get away from the city and do something unique. The view of the desert from the pool was amazing. We really liked the size of the place, small enough that you didn't feel like you were at your average resort...it felt special. You could always find a sun chair, but options were limited if you wanted an umbrella. We love the sun, so that was fine with us. Food was only available at the hotel, due to its remote location. Honestly, the food was ok at best, but the service was fantastic.
Would highly recommend staying here for one-to-two nights at a time, anymore and you may get bored and want different food.
We look forward to visiting again, in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caric84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your last visit to our hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback!

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us and liked our signature deal "All U need is Love". Please allow me to thank you for your kind note regarding the friendliness of our employees. I apologize if you couldn't find an umbrella by the pool. We've placed an order to get new more umbrella's for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    426
    139
    50
    23
See reviews for
484
390
19
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a good experience at the Tilal Liwa. The facilities are good and staff helpful. The best part of our trip was the quad biking experience. The guy who manages the quad bikes, showed us how to manage the bikes on the dunes and it was a superb experience. The swimming pool looks over the desert and the setting is beautiful. The only bad experience was the dinner. The waitress was clueless of any questions or suggestions asked of her on the menu. She ultimately had to call the chef to understand what we want. Even after that the food took 45 mins to come, and the pizza was soggy and the overall food taste was much below average. Barring the dinner debacle, we had a good time at tilal liwa and would go there again.

Room Tip: Choose swimming pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your last visit to our hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback!

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind note regarding the friendliness of our employees. Please accept our apologize for the less than positive experience during the dinner. I have raised your note to the concerned Head of Department to take the needed actions for improvement.

I'm glad that you've enjoyed the Quad Bike adventure in Al Rubaa Al Khali Desert and looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
223 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I just came back from our lovely desert vacation at Tilal Liwa resort. It has been for us a perfect stay! The hotel is really nice in each and every detail, the staff truly dedicated, attentive and polite, the location awesome. A mention apart for the food: AMAZING! A huge variety of different sorts of culinary traditions, perfectly mixed and offered: every night a different menu where just the cold buffet is pretty much the same, but with so many different, intriguing options (especially the Arabic taste, of course, is very well represented). A special “thank you” goes to the front office manager, Mr. M. Amin, who made us feeling really valued guests! Looking forward to paying back visit soon and also to trying in the near future the other resorts of the Danat chain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxiDrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback!

We're delighted to read that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to know that you had a great break and enjoyed the food, the facilities, activities and our wide selection of Food and Beverages. Please allow me to thank you so much for your kind note regarding the friendliness of our staff and particularly Mr. Amin. I shall extend your kind note to everyone!

Looking forward to welcome you soon in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The property is truly in the middle of nowhere, and you feel like a king. The location offers an outstanding experience for someone who has never been to a desert.

The staff is friendly. The dining options are limited. One must try quad-biking.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor with pool facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Out_On_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your recent visit and for the positive feedback.

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed the hotel and its location, the Interior and Exterior design which made to reflect the Arabian hospitality.

Thank you for your note regarding the limited choice of restaurants. Currently we're looking into extending the hotel and adding 2 more outlets offering various food experiences to meet our guest's expectations.

Happy to read that you've enjoyed the little adventure on the Quad bike.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

If you get a downstairs room facing the desert, you will not be able to sit outside. Make sure you pay the very expensive cost of a room with a balcony or outside seating area or you will have a dismal view. Reception are not that helpful as they count on there being no other hotels in the area. Not ideal for a holiday. Even for business, grim.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel and for the feedback.

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow me to explain that all the rooms facing the external wing and the open desert are having neither windows nor balconies- based on the Health and Safety orders from the Civil Defense and Ministry of Interiors. Since it is open Area.

Kindly be aware that we have several room types which feature several categories. The surcharge between the different room types, is only 100,- Dhs per room type. In most cases, we offer higher room categories on upgrade basis, based on availability.

Once again, thank you very much for your valuable feedback and looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night on the 21st of February. We had purchased the all you need is Love, deal via Groupon. The stay wasn’t as perfect as we would have loved it to be- however having the additional perks included in the deal saved it for us.

We were called the previous day to inform us about some late check outs the day we were arriving and s that we would have our rooms by 3PM. Having said that since we drove down from Dubai and weren’t sure of the exact drive time there and pitt stops we would make so ended up reaching a good hour and a half early. The staff however, was kind enough to allow us to use the pool facility until we would get our rooms… but come 320 no room still.. 340 same story.. Finally in another 5 minutes they issued the key card to us. But then on arrival to our room the Housekeeping staff were still tidying up.. and then she helped us in.. but then we had a lot of missing items in the rooms,, (Fresh towels.. which were brought in a while later.. toiletries (dental kit) which ofcourse we realized only a while later and had to call for it).. Oh and also no Valet!! Or door man to greet us in…

The view of and from the pool are fantastic, however a touch of maintenance works in the vicinity and also garden area would do it a lot of good. The overall ambience, cleanliness are not absolutely breathtaking but not bad either..

The food is not bad… the Mini bar had nothing in it… room service is fine..
Over all is good for a quite weekend far far away (From Dubai or Abu Dhabi as well for that matter)…but if you have stayed in other properties like Bab Al Shams for that matter this is by far in comparison.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback.

Please allow me to apologize for the little delay in providing the room key, as the previous guest were delayed in checking out from the rooms- which has caused respectively delay in preparing the rooms for the new arrivals. We were very happy to offer late check out on the departure day.

Please allow me to thank you for your valuable note with the Area surrounding the hotel. As you know, the open desert is too big to cover all the Area. We organize several cleaning sessions on weekly basis, also the Municipality does. Still due to the hard wind in the Area, some wastes might be seen here and there. We shall double up our cleaning process in order to ensure keeping the beauty of the desert.

I've communicated your note regarding the valet parking and raise it the Front Desk Manager. Our employee was busy at that time parking a guest car, therefore he was not available for 5 minutes. However, we have communicated clearly to make sure of his presence all the time at the Main Entrance.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife booked the hotel as a surprise, romantic getaway for Valentines Day, and a getaway from busy, bustling Dubai. Although nearly 3-hrs drive along the E11, from Dubai, through Abu Dhabi and onwards towards Saudi Arabia, the journey was worth it. A delightful hotel in the middle of the desert, with rooms on just the ground and first floors, all of which overlooked the manicured gardens and infinity pool.On entry to our room we found we had been left some fresh fruit, heart shaped cake and a bottle of bubbly. We took lunch in the dining room and were serenaded by the resident singing duo. After an afternoon at the pool, we attended a special valentines dinner, again with the ladies presenting some wonderful, live music. Later in the evening a belly dancer entertained the guest. We had intended to go quad biking in the desert the following morning but the whole of the area was covered in a dense fog, which reduced visability significantly, certainly nothing the hotel could do, so we headed back to Dubai....but of course, we have an excuse to revisit and try the quads bikes in better weather

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms all open directly onto the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Kindly allow me to thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel during the Valentine's weekend and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed the hotel during your short break and enjoyed our services, our garden, infinity pool with its magnificent desert view. Also glad to read that you enjoyed our Valentine's evening party with the live music and Entertainment.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in our hotel and promise to keep the Quad bikes in great conditions waiting for your arrival.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tilal Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilal Liwa Hotel

Property: Tilal Liwa Hotel
Address: Madinat Zayed - Al Gharbia, Madinat Zayed 112723, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Madinat Zayed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilal Liwa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilal Liwa Hotel is a 4 star hotel. A stunningly secluded Desert Hideaway perched at the edge of the majestic Rub Al Khali desert, with breathtaking views of some of the highest dunes in the world. Immerse yourself in an authentically Arabian “Oasis of Hospitality,” where tantalizing restaurants, an infinity outdoor pool, and a full range of luxury amenities offer lush accompaniment to the surrounding desert beauty. Whether you are embarking on an exhilarating Desert Safari, discovering the raditional sights of Al Gharbiya – Camel farm, dates plantation, Heritage Fortress, or simply escaping to solitude for a few days,our captivating four-star UAE hotel resort guarantees an unforgettable Arabian hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tilal Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilal Liwa Hotel Madinat Zayed, Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing