We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch desert challenge was again great!!!”
Review of Tilal Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Den Haag
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dutch desert challenge was again great!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This is our 11th visit to tilal and the hotel just keeps amazing us with the services and the facilities. For the 3rd year in a raw we attend the Dutch desert challenge with 175 man and 88 cars. The staff was great and helpful. The Management keeps surprising us with this time some traditional Dutch welcome in the rooms. We had lots of fun and left to the desert.

Tilal team keep up the good work and will definitely come back in March.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Schakelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your recent stay with the group in our hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're very delighted to receive feedback from our regular guests- as we use those comments to improve our services where needed.

It is a pleasure to read that you and the group have enjoyed the stay with us and our services. I hope that all had great time in the desert.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    432
    139
    51
    23
See reviews for
491
394
19
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Spent 2 nights in this hotel with family. Rooms are nice and big enough for a family of 4. Received a cot and an extra bed free of charge and even an adjacent room for a friend connected with a door. The view from the Tilal Room was into the desert, shame that somebody parked a car every day in front of our glass wall blocking the view.
Breakfast had a big variety. The hotel has a nice heated pool and as it was low season we had enough sun chairs available. The courtyard has 2-3 slides for children but I missed proper amenities to entertain the kids. My friend tried the camel ride which is offered to you just outside of the hotel area in the desert and it was fine, although very short.
Had dinner both nights in the hotel as there was no other option around, the food is OK but not wow. I’ve found the buffet price quite high knowing what an outback of the country this place is.
Would I return? Most probably not. Too far from Dubai and no special experience offered. The tours they offered were available above 6 years only, so what do you do here if you have kids? They need to do something about this group of tourists as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel and for sharing your feedback with us.

We're delighted to receive your feedback and comments. Also would like to thank you so much for the positive feedback.

Apologize if our kids activities didn't meet up with your expectations. We have recently added 2 playgrounds in the front of the hotel, Kids cycles, kids sand boarding, some games in the Courtyard in addition to kids corner during the weekends with face painting and 2 clowns to amuse the children. We shall look into the option of adding more kids activities in order to satisfy all guests.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The hotel location is quiet and peaceful. It is surrounded by desert, so you can have walk in the desert or go dune bashing if you love the dunes.
Facilities and activities in the hotel are good - they have a swimming pool, steam, sauna, gym.
A must visit place if you stay here is Moreeb dune, which around 60 kms. / 1 hour drive from the hotel. You do not need a 4WD and they have built tar road till the dune area.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing inside of the property are good. The hotel should improve landscaping for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the team of Tilal Liwa Hotel, please allow me to thank you very much for your recent visit and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us and liked our activities. Also it is nice to read that you liked Mureeb dune, a small tip; you should also visit Liwa Desert Challenge every year end of December over there. I think you will love the adventures and races organized over there.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our romantic getaway here. The food was OK, nothing spectacular though. The mozzarella cheese sticks with salad was the highlight! They have a live singer performing in the lobby in the afternoons, they may need to consider lowering the volume.....so people can hear the reception staff during check-in. The pool is lovely and the hotel has a nice relaxing vibe.

Room Tip: The superior rooms with doors leading directly out to the pool are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hmmmg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel and for the feedback.

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel location.

We're looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed in Tilal Liwa for a week with my family. Absolutely stunning place, amazing location, away from the city and right in the middle of a desert. Across the million dollar street, you, cross the camel pathway to reach this deserted palacial hotel.

Courteous staff and cozy rooms, very very private. Beautiful swimming pool facing the desert. Camel rides, children play area, exquisite food, combination of arabic, indian and continental.

Will surely visit again.,,,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank manican09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you very much for your recent stay to our hotel.

I'm very delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us, the food and the beverages and the hotel activities. Also it is nice to read that the kids have enjoyed their times with us.

We're honored to read that you are planning to repeat your visit to us and looking forward to welcome you in person.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Recently took my parents for an overnight stay as they are here on vacation. It was our third visit and once again we were not disappointed. Beautiful location, staff very attentive, great food and just a nice quiet getaway.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to welcome our regular guests every time.

We're delighted to read that you and the parents have enjoyed your stay with us, the food and the activities.

We look forward to welcome you for the 4th time soon in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Last weekend was my 2nd stay in this hotel. I recommended this hotel to my friends, and we came as a group of 10 families. Overall, the hotel was nice and clean, and we enjoyed our gathering.

The group check in was chaotic (it is a group check in, but yet the front desk is only dedicating one person for the whole group....it felt forever, especially that most of our group came with toddlers..so you can imagine!). Some of us could not check in until 3 pm that day (with no single apology from the front desk). Although the arrangement has been made weeks in advance, 1 room was not ready at required check in time and of course, it had impacted all of our group activities and we had to change plan accordingly, and swap the next morning activity to afternoon etc. The hotel management take it lightly, but for us, group of 10 families are not always easy to change plan in the last minute.

It is very unfortunate that when we checked out, we found out that one of our group member who did not able to join us has also been charged. Actually, his reservation has been made as a separate arrangement. In his confirmation email, "due to high occupancy", he got a handicap room and being charged differently as well (higher price than our group rate). It is very unfortunate that he was sick, and could not join. All the group member think that he had cancelled the reservation on his own, since it was a separate arrangement. What is the proof? different room type, different price, different confirmation email. But yet, the hotel has charged us with same price.

To add more surprise the management charge for room no 9023 (I have the receipt clearly stated that), the room 9023 is not even exist. The front desk was not nice at all when I please asked her to change the receipt to a real room number, although she insisted saying that "it was a busy weekend, full occupancy, and room could have been given to other" (with very rude face)..

It is strange that she said such statement, while imposing us to pay. How difficult is it to make a receipt without faking the room number? perhaps it was too difficult :) but it make us think that perhaps the hotel had given the "real room" to somebody else anyway, but yet they want to double charge because it is part of cancellation policy, so the only way is to charge with "inexist room number".

Well, at the end because I dont want to ruin the good vibe and group's excitement, I did pay for 1 night of inexist room number 9023.

Lesson learnt: Their management and front desk could have been more polite and accomodative. Overall, we know this sort of cancellation policy, but you are in hospitality business! What we expect is to treat us positively. Now, I will be thinking twice to bring more friends and recommend this hotel for group gathering activities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for you recent visit with your group of friends and for the time given to share your feedback.

We're delighted that you've enjoyed your time with us and that you liked our activities.

Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenient during the check in and check out. I assure you that the whole front desk are attentive and very helpful to our guests. We always take the extra mile to support when needed.

Regarding the check in, it was communicated to all our guests the day before that due to high occupancy, the check in might be delayed by 20-30 minutes and in return we've offered the rooms till 4:00 PM on the check out day.

As per the records, the group has requested to reschedule the activities till the 2nd day and the front desk has approved the request, after confirming with the company.

Kindly be informed that we publish from time to time added value packages at a very sharp rates on social platforms such as Cobone and Groupon in order to give more guests the chance to enjoy the service and ambiance of our hotel. Based on the terms and conditions of these sites, booked vouchers are non refundable and unchangeable. So it is not up to the hotel to change or amend the vouchers, as the charges apply once the voucher is activated in the 3rd party system.

I hope that the above has clarified the confusion and we're looking forward to welcome you and the group in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
TIlal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tilal Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilal Liwa Hotel

Property: Tilal Liwa Hotel
Address: Madinat Zayed - Al Gharbia, Madinat Zayed 112723, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Madinat Zayed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilal Liwa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilal Liwa Hotel is a 4 star hotel. A stunningly secluded Desert Hideaway perched at the edge of the majestic Rub Al Khali desert, with breathtaking views of some of the highest dunes in the world. Immerse yourself in an authentically Arabian “Oasis of Hospitality,” where tantalizing restaurants, an infinity outdoor pool, and a full range of luxury amenities offer lush accompaniment to the surrounding desert beauty. Whether you are embarking on an exhilarating Desert Safari, discovering the raditional sights of Al Gharbiya – Camel farm, dates plantation, Heritage Fortress, or simply escaping to solitude for a few days,our captivating four-star UAE hotel resort guarantees an unforgettable Arabian hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tilal Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilal Liwa Hotel Madinat Zayed, Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing