We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to go on a weekend...”
Review of Tilal Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A place to go on a weekend...”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had booked four rooms at Tilal Liwa on October 25-26 for me and my family to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Dealing with the hotel was never tricky, all my inquiries (communicated by email) from the time I asked about the rooms availability till the finalization of the reservations had been very promptly and professionally handled by Tilal Liwa, I wish to thank Selimkhan for that.

We got a call from the hotel (Selim) a couple of days before our arrival informing the possibility of getting the rooms later than the check in time - @2pm (they had accomodated big groups the night before our visit) and to compensate, they offered us to have late checkouts. I appreciate the hotel effort as this could had been a major disappointment if we only found it out on the day of our visit.

We had the rooms which have direct access to the pool. The rooms are well laid out, clean, have comfortable bed, acceptable furnishings and a mini fridge. The rooms and the facilities are generally good for a 4-star hotel, though it could have been better if they will put some lighting inside the cupboards and could be more generous in providing the room amenities and toiletries.

Tilal Liwa is 2 hours’ drive from Abu Dhabi City, but I can say that the long drive is indeed all worth it. In fact it is a good place to spend the weekend with the family and hibernate from the city. Having said that, Tilal Liwa is catered for adults and kids alike.

We had fun swimming in their nice infinity pool, had marvelous quad bike experience in the sand dunes, my elder kids did enjoy flying kite and my little one had a good time at their Kid’s Corner.

We had breakfast and dinner at their main restaurant, I could say that the food choices and quality are satisfactory. And during the dinner, the hotel arranged a complimentary birthday cake for my husband.

Well, as for me, I am now missing the hammock and the sun beds right in front of the rooms we stayed in at Tilal Liwa.

Room Tip: The rooms that have access to the swimming pool is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Tilal Liwa Hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback.

It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We're delighted to read that you have enjoyed the birthday attention we have prepared for your husband. Thank you so much for your kind attention and compliments for our staff. I shall extend your regards to Mr. Selimkhan from Sales Dept.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    426
    139
    50
    23
See reviews for
484
390
19
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had booked and used TILAL LIWA voucher from Cobone for two days. Another friend of us had booked direct with the hotel and got the same deal for less price and better rooms (Pool View with terrace) with cake,drinks, Breakfast & Dinner Buffet. No valet parking was available. Fruit basket in the room had cheap fruits (1Banana,1Orange & 1Apple).They provided kids drawing/play kit also for them and not for us, even its of less value. Even we booked as a group of 3 we were given rooms in different directions with lengthy access to the pool and other areas.
The bath towels were old and worn out, the rooms were smelling odd and we checked if its the cigarette ? as we asked for Non smoking rooms. The breakfast was average with cooked food tasteless (except the fresh salads/ cheese). grilled seafood was the worst which was from their theme night during Eid.
Will never recommend or go back again.

Room Tip: ask for the room with pool view and garden access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent stay in Tilal Liwa Hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback.

Please accept my apologize for the less than positive experience which you mentioned in your feedback. Kindly allow me to explain that Tilal Liwa Hotel offers several offers on social platforms- such as Groupon and Cobone- with add value packages to give our guests the chance to book and enjoy Tilal Liwa Hotel at an affordable place. I have checked the offer which you have booked through Cobone and confirmed that all package elements were received as per the offer.

Since the hotel was fully booked during the Eid holidays, we couldn't apply 3 rooms beside each other. Unfortunately the request came only on the day of arrival and the hotel was already fully booked. We always recommend to communicate the special wishes with our reservation team in advance in order to fulfill all our guest's request.

Apologize if you didn't enjoy our BBQ night which was well recognized by the majority of our guests for the variety of food and the live entertainment with music and Belly dancer.

Kindly be informed that Tilal Liwa Hotel is offering several activities for all our guests Adults and Juniors. The kids club corner with drawings, face painting playing toys and movie time are offered free of charges for all our junior guests. For adults we have a lot of activities such as; Quad Biking, Camel riding, Sand Boarding, Giant Chess, Cycling, Camel farm visits, Arabian high tea and live entertainment. I apologize if you didn't enjoy our wide range of activities.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Tilal Liwa to spend a little time somewhere different. The hotel is stylish and beautifully furnished. The bar is peaceful and relaxing. Some lovely walks into the desert at sunrise and sunset and a memorable invitation from a camel owner to watch his camels training at the nearby camel race track! Drove out further into Rub' al Khali and took some amazing photos. The only downside was at meals parents allowing their children to run riot screaming around the restaurant using it as some kind of play area which was annoying when trying to enjoy a meal in the evening. Not very relaxing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alliwilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you so much for your recent stay in Tilal Liwa Hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback.

It is our pleasure to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us and the you liked the hotel interior, design and exterior. It is also a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our wide range of selection of food and beverages.

Please allow me to apologize for the less than positive experience with the children. During the Eid holidays a lot of families with children come to visit the hotel. We always try to fill their times with lots of activities in the kids club( movie times, painting, drawings, cycling....etc) in order to keep them busy and quite from other kids, still some noises might come out of them. We apologize for this and looking forward for welcoming you soon again to proof the tranquility of Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A great escape where you feel surrounded by calm and luxury. This hotel is a desert gem, you can relax and totally recharge or you can indulge in the many activities on offer. Desert safaris, sand boarding, camel rides, you name it, you can do it!
I stayed here on business and it is the ideal location to relax after a hectic day.
Ideal for business, families and the romantic getaway.
The staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much bother for them.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for the time taken to share your feedback.

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us, that you've enjoyed our activities and the hotel interior and exterior. It is our pleasure to read your kind note regarding the friendliness of our staff. Your opinion is of great value for us. As it shows us the right directions and helps us improve our services where needed.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in your Tilal Liwa Hotel!

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I and my family really did enjoy my stay, because it is really a calm environment where you can stay away from annoying city life style, the swiiming pool is so nice the rooms are clean but what I liked the most the freindly behavior of the staff they are so freindly, the food is nice but I recommend to include your menu more Arabic and local food.

Thank you for the good service

Nader Alayli

Room Tip: choose room that has desert view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nader A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you so much for your last stay in Tilal Liwa Hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback.

I'm so delighted to read that you and your family have enjoyed our hotels, the interior and exterior design, the hotel activities and food. Regarding your kind note of adding more Arabic food, we try to provide an international buffet that suits Arab, Indian, European and vegetarian wishes to meet up with our guest's expectations.

Once again thank you so much for your visit and looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here last August 2013 during Eid holiday. We booked for 3 rooms supposedly with desert view, but we were surprised that our rooms were upgraded with pool view and direct access to the garden. The rooms were very nice and clean, especially the bathrooms. Although we were not able to do other activities such as camel riding (the camel was not there on the second day of our stay) or dune bashing (it was still hot), we had a great time. The food was also good. Definitely worth the price and i can recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms with direct access to the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nerilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me to thank you so much for your recent stay in Tilal Liwa Hotel and for the time taken to share your feedback.

It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Apologize if the camel was not available on the 2nd day. Now our camels and activities are complete to serve our guests.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booking was done thru daily deals website. initially had some delay in confirming my booking. When I landed int he hotel, they upgrade my room from Tilal to AL Sahab room. the room size is same but with a view and direct access to the swimming pool. The staff were very courteous, friendly. all the extra activities(dune bashing, quad biking, camel drive, farm visit) which part of the package was booked without any problem and in all the cases they accommodated my requests. During my 2 days stay, the staff were quick enough to recognize us. The restaurant staffs were good as well. The hotel has lots of kids activities, the kid will enjoy their stay.

My only suggestion to have more kids, international channels. have more Asian+arabic menu in the restaurants.

I recommend this hotel strongly.

Room Tip: I prefer the swimming pool view compared to desert view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferveez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your last visit to Tilal Liwa Hotel and for sharing your feedback of your last stay.

We're very delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us and liked our interior design, food and beverages, activities and desert.

Please be informed that we've signed the new channels offer and waiting for the server to come from abroad. We expect to install the new server with the new TV channels before the end of October.

Once again thank you so much for your visit and looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tilal Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilal Liwa Hotel

Property: Tilal Liwa Hotel
Address: Madinat Zayed - Al Gharbia, Madinat Zayed 112723, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Madinat Zayed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilal Liwa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilal Liwa Hotel is a 4 star hotel. A stunningly secluded Desert Hideaway perched at the edge of the majestic Rub Al Khali desert, with breathtaking views of some of the highest dunes in the world. Immerse yourself in an authentically Arabian “Oasis of Hospitality,” where tantalizing restaurants, an infinity outdoor pool, and a full range of luxury amenities offer lush accompaniment to the surrounding desert beauty. Whether you are embarking on an exhilarating Desert Safari, discovering the raditional sights of Al Gharbiya – Camel farm, dates plantation, Heritage Fortress, or simply escaping to solitude for a few days,our captivating four-star UAE hotel resort guarantees an unforgettable Arabian hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tilal Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilal Liwa Hotel Madinat Zayed, Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing