We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Location”
Review of Tilal Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The biggest problem with this hotel is its location. Its surroundings are completely unattractive. There are beautiful rolling dunes some 50 kilometers further away towards Liwa, but this hotel sits on flat nondescript land close to the highway and a power station. The scenery is utterly unremarkable.

The hotel's architecture is a mess. None of the rooms that face the desert have balconies. The parking lot and staff barracks have been situated in full view of many of the rooms. The hotel doesn't provide direct access to the desert at all - one has take a detour through some game room & bar - to get onto the sand. And the restaurant has no view of the desert - but instead only of the pool through a few windows. Mostly it looks out onto the empty lobby. These total failures are only surprising to people who have not stayed at other Danat hotels - such as their beach hotel without beach access, or their Liwa hotel in a horseshoe shape that reflects every noise is continuously off its walls.

The rooms in this hotel were decent. They were rather small but clean. Problematic are the connecting doors with gaps beneath them. We heard our 'neighbors' throughout the night.

The staff in the hotel were friendly and efficient.

There is only one restaurant - and no options within dozens of kilometers - but the food was good and reasonably priced. The wine is another story though: 800 AED for a bottle of Chablis is enough to ruin someone's dinner. The cheapest option on the menu was a bottom of the barrel Blue Nun wine for 250 AED! This is a $3.95 bottle of wine selling for $70 !

A hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review and taken the time to fill in your feedback of your last stay with us.

Your opinion is of great value to us. We are always very interested to see our guest's feedback and ideas in order to use them to improve our service levels and even try to exceed our guest's expectations.

I'm sorry to read that you didn't like our location and interior design, in contrast with all other guest's reviews. The hotel is located in the heart of Al Rubaa Al Khali desert and is surrounded by the beauty of Liwa dunes. There are several camel farms nearby, dates farms and camel race track adding more to the hotel atmosphere. The hotel itself is built and designed to suit and match the concept of a desert gateway escape with lots of details from the Arabian hospitality which gets lots of positive feedback from our guests.

Kindly be informed that the rooms overlooking the dunes are not equipped by balconies and windows as per the country rules and based on health and safety reasons as those will not be monitored and not allowed to open windows or doors in un-monitored and open area's as per the Civil defense instructions.

Tilal Liwa is located in the heart of the desert and there are several access points to the desert. The access through the Al Liwan Bar has been made for our guest's convenience and to keep control on who is entering the hotel from the back side.

We're very delighted to read that you've enjoyed the rooms and the food. Kindly be informed that the beverage prices are monitored by the Tourism Authorities and are within the limit set for the 4 stars categories. In fact our prices are most reasonable comparing to other desert hotels in the UAE.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon in Tilal Liwa Hotel

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Positive: only 3.5 hours from Dubai. Lovely hotel. Very calm and quiet. Excellent rooms. Free wifi. Great breakfast.
Negatives. Pool was cold. No inflatables to buy in the shop. Kids club only open on weekends.
Overall: great break. Would come back with different guests

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chapter41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to fill in your feedback about your last visit to Tilal Liwa Hotel.

It was our honor having you as our valued guest. We're very delighted to read that you've enjoyed the stay, the hotel and facilities, the atmosphere, the facilities and food provided in our hotel. We save no efforts in presenting the hotel at its best shape. Your opinion is of great value to us as we are always looking to improve our services and stands.

We're most welcome to visit us anytime with your family and friends. Looking forward for welcoming you in person soon in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I bought a Groupon coupon for this hotel, advertised for Valentine's day, but when I tried to book, they told me if fully booked?!? Why do you offer things that you can't honour? I am still trying to get options but, no answer from the hotel. Even writing to hotel group management doesn't help; again no answer. So, be aware if you want to do future booking with this hotel.

Stayed: February 2013
4  Thank Busy_Dubai_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for giving your feedback via tripadvisor.
Kindly be informed that we run very attractive offers on several websites to give our guests the chance to enjoy the hospitality of Arabia and the luxury desert gateway escape of Tilal Liwa Hotel.

As stated on those last minutes deals, they are subject to availability. We have allocated certain number of rooms for those offers(kindly check the terms and conditions mentioned on your voucher).

Kindly be informed that our "All U need is love @ Tilal Liwa Hotel" was not only limited to the Valentine day and is valid till end of April.

Please accept my appology for being fully booked the last couple of weekends and feel free to contact me anytime to assist you in utilizing the voucher. Please mail to info.tilal@danathotels.com or call 028946111

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Location was superb close to Saudi border. Good for people who want to enjoy desert. Nicely designed and decorated. Spacious room with comfortable bed and pillows. Very clean and tidy.
Food was very average. Staff was helpful. Good if you get a deal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid_Nadeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

On behalf of Tilal Liwa Hotel family, please allow me to thank you for the time taken to fill in your feedback from your last visit. Your opinion is of great value to us as it helps us improve the level of service where needed and exceeds our guest's expectations.

We're delighted to read that you've enjoyed our hotel, the design, the facilities and that our staff were of great help for you. We hope that you've enjoyed your stay and looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Bought a stay under one of the promotions on a website.

Decent facility with decent rooms and a nice pool. Pool did not seem that crowded as I saw on some of the other reviews.

Things that will receive a thumbs up:

1. Room cleanliness

2. Pool cleanliness

3. Room setup (talking about the romantic theme here) - very nicely done bubble bath and other flower decor related to it.

Things that need improvements:

1. Staff needs to be more professional in their conduct. On being asked something very basic (like exits to corridors) questions, some of them had this to say "Sorry I am new here. You can ask someone else". Others on realizing we were from India started explaining things in Hindi (the Indian local language), which I feel is not a good display of professionalism.

2. Service was too slow for the dinner. We eventually got fed up and went back to our room after waiting for an hour for the dinner to arrive. This seems even funnier because I received a call one day in advance asking me what we would like to have for dinner (there were options between four set menus). Funnily enough, we were being asked the same thing when we were checking in. When we mentioned that we'll be having dinner between 2030 and 2130, the staff said "No Sir, you'll have to give us a specific time". In all as a result of all this, the expectations were quite high.
The food was average.

In all an average option for a getaway away from the cities.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abhinab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

On behalf of Tilal Liwa Hotel family, we thank you very much for your time given to fill in your feedback regarding our hotel. Your opinion is of great value to us as it helps us testing our values and services and do the needed improvements where needed.

We’re delighted to hear that you liked our hotel, location and interior design. Also it is great to read that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities provided.

Please accept my apology for the inconvenient for speaking to you in your language. My colleagues think it is easier for our guests to approach them in their own language. Still we keep mentioning that the official hotel languages are Arabic and English. We’ve instructed the concerned Head of Departments to instruct our colleagues accordingly.

Regarding the special menu’s offered along with some promotions, we try to identify the convinced timing for our guests to make sure all is set and ready for them. We allow 40 minutes between courses to give our guests the chance to enjoy their dinner and evening with their loved ones. Based on guest’s demand, the time between each course can be adjusted.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we’re looking forward for welcoming you soon in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

While this hotel is very nice and a nice surprise in the middle of the desert, there is something very odd about the management of the minibar in the rooms. Firstly my fridge was closed with a cable-tie that had to be broken to get into the fridge to cool our water for the next day. Then it became obvious that the fridge was not turned on and the switch to turn it on could not be found. Thirdly, on checking out, I was asked if I had taken anything from the minibar that I needed to pay for. I stated that I had not. When 2 minutes down the road I received a phone call accusing me of not paying for a black label whiskey. I stated again that I had not taken anything. What proof could I give? We drove back to the hotel and again told the staff that the item was not taken by me. Count the items in the minibar as you arrive and as you leave.
Further to this, they allow smoking inside. Keep this in mind if you are from a country where smoking is not allowed in bars and restaurants.
Also, room doors were banging in our corridor until 1am and started again at 6.30am, making it hard to get a full night's sleep. You could also clearly hear what was going on in the adjoining room through the connecting door.
Lastly, the restaurant staff are in need of some training. Little things like bringing a menu to everyone on the table, asking if you want to order drinks, and knowing how a fried icecream should be prepared and served for example.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shardie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. We appreciate very much the time taking in filling in the survey. Your opinion is very important to us, as we can use those feedback to improve our services provided to our guests.

Kindly be informed that it is a standard to keep the Minibar sealed for our guests, so that they know that the Minibar has been checked and is ready for usage (expiry items, cleaning.....etc). Please accept our apology for the confusing regarding your consumption from the Minibar, our employees have immediately removed the charges from your bill.

Regarding smoking in the bar, please be informed that as per the policy and procedures- of Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority- smoking inside is allowed as long as the space is open and not closed, which is the case in our Bar.

Please accept our sincere apology for the noise beside you. The Hotel was fully booked during that weekend and there were a lot of families with children. As a hotel management, we are looking for some effective solutions for dumping the noise by placing floor carpets in the corridors and hope the noise will be reduced.

Once again, thank you very much for your time and effort in filling in the survey, we're looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went for so called ''Romantic Weekend Escape'' and that was our 2nd time to go there.
Although the waether was not so great (like we've been in some other country....windy, sandy, cold), we had really nice time. The welcome drinks, fruit basket, botle of champaigne, buffet dinner & breakfast plus 20 % on F&B, bubble bath......all inclusive for a very, very affordable price!
Rooms are spaceous, clean with a quite big balconies with a pool wiev (desert view available as well), service is very efficient, staff very friendly and polite, the only problem is the constant presence of annoying flies, there just everywhere!!! And the Spa could be slightly bigger and better equiped, although the gym is fine,
Overall, very nice experience!

Room Tip: 1st floor with a pool view, if you go with your kids than you go for the ground floor with a direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sir, Madame,

Kindly allow me to sincerely thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest.

We're delight to read that you've enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel services and activities. Also it is our pleasure to welcome you for the second visit! Tilal Liwa hotel employees and management save no efforts to provide our guests with exceptional services and we like very much to see those recognized by our valued guests.

Regarding your note about the Spa, kindly be informed that we're about to make some shifting in order to create more space for massage & beauty treatment rooms.

We appreciate the time taken in filling in the survey and looking forward for welcoming you soon at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tilal Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilal Liwa Hotel

Address: Madinat Zayed - Al Gharbia, Madinat Zayed 112723, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Madinat Zayed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Price Range: $84 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilal Liwa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilal Liwa Hotel is a 4 star hotel. A stunningly secluded Desert Hideaway perched at the edge of the majestic Rub Al Khali desert, with breathtaking views of some of the highest dunes in the world. Immerse yourself in an authentically Arabian “Oasis of Hospitality,” where tantalizing restaurants, an infinity outdoor pool, and a full range of luxury amenities offer lush accompaniment to the surrounding desert beauty. Whether you are embarking on an exhilarating Desert Safari, discovering the raditional sights of Al Gharbiya – Camel farm, dates plantation, Heritage Fortress, or simply escaping to solitude for a few days,our captivating four-star UAE hotel resort guarantees an unforgettable Arabian hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tilal Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilal Liwa Hotel Madinat Zayed, Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing